We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Perfect place for a romantic few days in Amsterdam” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Estherea
Ranked #14 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect place for a romantic few days in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We can add out voices to the chorus of accolades for this charming, elegant, funkily-posh establishment, a little jewel box packed with pushiness, flowers and goodies at every turn:, elegance run wild. Very red downstairs. Our room on the 2nd floor, one of the two smallest in the hotel, had a full canal view, a good-sized, overstuffed (but comfortable) bed, a corner table, small desk and no room for much else, including our suitcases, which we had to line up in front of the bed against the wall, leaving just enough room to squeeze by. Here too, however, the furnishings were elegant and luxurious; the flowers I ordered were gorgeous. No need to order champagne, as I did in a fit of romantic impulsiveness, because it comes (free) with the breakfast buffet. We thought the 12 euro breakfast deal was well worth signing up for (it’s normally 18 euros), because the food was good and covered every conceivable breakfast taste. The bathroom was well-appointed, modern, scrupulously clean, and compact in the way of European hotels. The air conditioning was effective and regulated by a thermostat in the room. The single elevator for the front of the hotel was fast and always seemed to come when called. The staff was cheery, personable, and responsive. The location is ideal, right on the “border” between the fashionable, upscale Western canal district and the frumpy, atmospheric “old town”, a 20-30 minute scenic walk along the canals to the major museums, 10 minutes to the Ann Frank House. Our small room was not cheap, but we both felt that it was a good value. In fact, we totally loved our 3-night stay and have absolutely nothing negative to report. All four of our thumbs up. We plan to stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get one in the front of the hotel, overlooking the Singel canal; room 207 is the smallest (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mellowcellist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,430 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,348
    865
    149
    39
    29
See reviews for
592
1,886
107
200
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (623)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We wanted a decent hotel in the centre of Amsterdam, and this place worked out brilliantly. The staff were friendly, the reception and general areas nicely done, and the rooms really well put together. Its located really close to the areas you want to do the tourist thing with, and they were helpful when we needed a guiding hand. Have to say the bed was also a talking point, so darn comfortable i almost struggled to catch my flight the next morning! Only had breakfast in the hotel, but again, exactly what we wanted and delivered well by the staff

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love_dining01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
281 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Four star hotel that is on the verge of being five ! The location on the Singel is perfect. A quiet street only a short (5 min.) stroll to the Damtrack, flower market, Rembrant Square (restaurants), and canal cruises.
Old polished wood makes this hotel a charm to be in where it is easy to visualize travellers of yesteryear dressed in their finery. (Sad today that most folks wear jeans for cocktails) The bar is a delight but be aware a "martini" means white vermouth, not an american style gin or vodka martini. Best to order vodka with ice.
Our room, small suite (#210) overlooking the canal was one of the most romantic rooms we have been in. Superb housekeeping, comfortable bed with nice linens. You can sit for hours gazing out the window (that opens) overlooking the canal traffic.
Breakfast is typical european with scrambled eggs and bacon for foreigners from North America. Free cappicinno night and day (automated serve your self) and pastries in the afternoon when you come back from a day of touring.
I would suggest five stars if they had robes in the rooms.
Would I return to this hotel = absolutely, and rebook #210.

Room Tip: Spend the extra Euros and book a canal view room. It is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ed3339
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Nice and "old fashion" hotel in a quite, but very central located in a canal street.
Friendly and attentive staff.

walking distance to all turist attractions downtown Amsterdam.

Breakfast was a bit pricy, but had a wide selction.

Comfortable and good quality bed in superior room

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OsloMikkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

The hotel made our trip to Amsterdam. the hotel lobby was decorated with a soothing, elegant vibe. The staff were so very helpful with our room situation. My wife likes clean and this hotel was very tidy and clean. Kids loved the hot chocolate maker in the lobby. Location is away from all the hustle
, but close tonAnne Frank and Damnsquare.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank 203TomK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Hotel Estherea is just great. Ideal location near all the action but tucked away on quiet canal street. Our local friends could even easily find parking! Near 9 streets boutique shops and restaurants. It's out of the "seedy" element. A fairly small property, a little quirky, but upscale. Room was large, huge dormer window, big bathroom. Staff (front desk, bellman) were really top notch, helpful, pleasant. Can see this place as a good choice for vacation or business. Would not hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: They offer triple rooms with large roll aways for kids, very unusual for Europe!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeslieHP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 550 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,291 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing