We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Beautiful Hotel - one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Estherea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Estherea to your Saves list
Hotel Estherea
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Centrum)   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel - one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Booked last minute trip to Amsterdam and went over on the Ferry from Newcastle. Hotel was wonderful and made the trip. It was a short walk - 10 minutes if that - from the Central Station. We booked a triple room and a twin room and they were both beautiful. The Hotel is a beautiful hotel, feels very boutique. Breakfast was 18 euros each but only paid for people over 12, so 2 of the kids ate free which was great value. It was immaculate and the staff were fantastic, very friendly and helpful. Amsterdam was lovely - we were only there for 24 hours - did coach and horse ride from Dam Sq which was a great way to see the City, went on the canal bikes which were a great way to do the Canals, nicer than the proper tours. Our Lord in the Attic was good - Hidden church in the attic. We climbed the Westerkerk Tower which was a great view of Amsterdam. Hard Rock Cafe was fab. Didn't get to see Anne Frank Museum as hadn't booked - queues are long - book in advance on line if you want to go.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CarolineSunderland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,370 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,305
    852
    147
    37
    29
See reviews for
575
1,853
106
198
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
new york city
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

I can't say enough about this hotel. I was in Amsterdam the week before and stayed in another hotel for twice the price and had no where near the experience I had at Hotel Estherea. From the quaint but easy walk along the Singel Canal to the hotel to the warm greeting when crossing the threshold into the hotel lobby and it's elegant oppulence I was sold. I was given room 510 which overlooked the canal from the fifth floor and had a high ceiling and a larger than normal updated bathroom with a soaking tub. The room was in the gable of the hotel hence the high ceiling. The view of the canal and bridge was also spectacular. Nothing in Amsterdam seemed like it was more than a 10 or 15 minute walk from there. Free coffee and hot drinks were offered in the beautiful lobby with it's huge fish tank and coy pond in the courtyard. Free wired internet on two computers were also offered, or for a 10 euro fee you could have wireless in your room (join the friends of the Estherea before hand via internet and your internet could be free). Susie at the front desk was AMAZING! Matter of fact, the entire staff was amazing. This will be my new home away from home in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maxrod4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Fantastic hotel - the staff were friendly, there was a very nice reading room, and free tea/coffee available. The room was large - we were upgraded to a superior room. The only thing is that we requested a twin room ... but the beds were right next to each other! (no gap at all). So I moved my bed to the other end of the room. Don't think that would've worked if the room was smaller.

The bathroom was very nice with a spa and a rain shower.

The bar was small but good - nice selection of drinks.

The location was fantastic - right on a canal - but the GPS/Google maps reference given on the website appeared to be wrong. I followed the directions on the GPS and it took me to another part of the street entirely!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mookiejay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

I've stayed at this hotel for 4 nights as I came for a conference and combined work with pleasure - had really enjoyable and relaxing experience thanks to the perfect location near the Dam Square at a quiet canal and, especially, thanks to the highly-professional, hospitable and helpful staff. The breakfast was exceptionally lavish and the price of 16 is not high at all. I loved the Dutch handpainted blue crockery.
To make it a really 5 stars level boutique hotel it aims to be, the rooms have to be noise-isolated since for someone more sensitive than me to noise it may be hard to get a good sleep, especially in rooms that have a conjuncting door. It would feel better if the conjuncting doors between the conjuncting rooms could be locked somehow. I liked the slippers but if there was also a bathrobe it would be just perfect.
l'd definately come again with my family for an unforgettable vacation!

Room Tip: The largest rooms are those with jaccuzi and it makes the stay really pampering. If the charming rom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lenchik_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We spent 2 nights here about 10 days ago.
Our room was available straight away when we arrived which was great and it looked over the canal. The staff were vey courteous and helpful though unfortunately this did not last.
Tea, coffee and cake were complimentary of an afternoon and evening which was a quality touch and rare in most hotels. We found the common areas really comfortable and homely. These ares were great after dinner, reading or just relaxing as the rooms are quite small.
Upon asking staff on our second day at reception for information about various things to do and see, restaurants etc. they really were not that helpful or interested which was a shame. I will say though that there was one young guy who took our bags and he was delightful and informative.
There is so much to do and see in Amsterdam and walking around is the best way to see all. The food and restaurants are great and to us, very reasonably priced. We went out for breakfast each morning and it was 1/4 price of the hotel. It was unfortunate that it rained alot as we would have done so much more.

Room Tip: Rooms are very small though a canal room is definitely best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank diesy8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Stayed at this lovely hotel for four nights in July. The staff are amazing, friendly, helpful, polite etc. The public rooms are beautifully decorated and the lounge looks out over the canal. Free coffee, tea, espresso are available all day. We arrived very early from NYC and were given a room right away. This is a pleasure after an eight hour plane ride. The room was also beautifully decorated and had a jacuzzi tub. The bathroom is very spacious and EVERYTHING , EVERYWHERE is immaculate. The location is perfect, near good restaurants and walking distance to most things, tram stop is close also. Dam square just a few blocks. My only complaints were the room is small even by European standards and if your room faces the street, as mine did, it can be VERY noisy all through the night. I would definitely stay here again, just get a room that does not face the street.
I would also like to mention that I told the front desk staff that I requested extra towels and didn't get them ( no big deal) but they were sent up and later a delicious box of candy and apology note was sent. I was very impressed by this gesture. It shows real pride in their establishment and service.

Room Tip: Don't face the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deeg324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

we arrived at this hotel quite late on in the evening via taxi from amsterdam airport. when we got to our room the room was bigger than normal had a very nice ensuite bathroom. The hotel is in a very good location on singular canal. We had breakfast at the hotel which was very nice, and in the evening after dinner and we'd go back to the hotel where the bar would still be open. Also if you have a sweet tooth (like i do) there were complimentary sweets in the hall way to the breakfast area and bar area. The hotel lobby area is decorated with several chandeleirs and has a lovely library. The staff were very helpful and polite. When walking around amsterdam you need to look out for cars, trams, bikes and of course other pedastrians as this is a very busy city. I advise anyone going to visit one of the many museums, espacially the Van Gogh museum, this is a very light and open space museum which has many of his works on display.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,241 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 483 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,227 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel V Nesplein
Hotel V Nesplein
#13 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 838 reviews
Centrum
Crowne Plaza Amsterdam City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Estherea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Estherea

Property: Hotel Estherea
Address: Singel 303-309, 1012 WJ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#9 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#10 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Estherea 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Hotel Estherea is housed in a row of historic buildings on the major canal. Behind the 17th century façade, guests find a warm welcome in comfortable surroundings. With its woolen carpets, crystal chandeliers and sumptuous furniture, the hotel is an oasis of tranquility in the middle of the bustling city.The Estherea first opened its doors in the 1940s. this family business is currently run by the third generation. Although the hotel’s comforts and facilities have been brought up to date over the past sixty years, the concept of personal service and attention remains unchanged. All 92 rooms have been recently renovated and are all accessible by elevator. Each room has its own unique character: a wonderful place to unwind a day of exploring the city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Estherea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Estherea Hotel Amsterdam
Hotel Estherea Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing