We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Bathroom design to small for the bigger boy” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #95 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Bathroom design to small for the bigger boy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2009

Lots of good things said by others on here abut this and the other Tulip inns in Amsterdam but one critisism I would have of the two central ones I have stayed in is that the bathroom design does not provide much privacy for you when you are using the toliet from your room partner. Also the width of the toilet cubicle between the wall and a glass screen is minute. I am 98 kilos/16 stone so large but far from enormous - my shoulders hardly fitted in the gap allowed - honestly - and it made using the toilet uncomfortable when seated. The rooms are small overall so this is part of their 'squeezing a lot into a little' design I guess - I would not stay there out of choice again.

I still can't beat the Swissotel on Dam Square - it is just great.

  • Liked — location, price, modern decor
  • Disliked — tiny toilets, crampt bedrooms overall
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Montydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,909 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    562
    911
    320
    69
    47
See reviews for
200
926
118
139
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2008

In Amsterdam most of the hotels are old fashionned but luckily the Tulip inn is modern, with great colors, Starck armchairs and design lights. The bathroom is great , the view from my room was very pleasant (a church and old dutch houses. My only complain will be about the size of the room, too small for 2 persons. But anyway a good deal for the price (89 euros).

  • Liked — the modern look
  • Disliked — the size, too small
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank wonderfulword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2008

Only 5 minutes walk to Dam square and another 5 minutes from central station. The hotel was very clean and changed towels every day. A bit small room but thats all you need.
Would go back to stay there again. The staffed helped us on what we wanted.

  • Liked — Desigh
  • Disliked — space
  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MGreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2008

We stayed here for one night on a flying visit to Amsterdam. The hotel was very conveniently situated - 15 mins maximum walk from Centraal station, which in turn is 10 minutes train journey from Schiphol. Our room was on the small side, but perfectly adequate for a short stay. The bathroom was newly fitted, small but quite impressive, with ample hot water etc. The atmosphere was pleasant, and service at breakfast was friendly. The Dam square area is not the most scenic area of Amsterdam; but 5 minutes' walk away we were in beautiful canal-side roads; and 5 minutes in the other direction we caught a boat trip round the canals. So, not the place for a long stay, but very good for a quick tourist visit.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneBNorfolk_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northumberland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2008

We returned last week from 3 days in this hotel. It was our first stay in Amsterdam. Yes it is very easy to walk from station to hotel in 5 minutes and near to Dam square but the area itself was full of litter and our first impression wasn't good. However when we walked further afield we were happier with the city. It was more like I expected. The hotel was modern with very helpful, pleasant staff and we were able to leave luggage on the last day. Check out wasn't till 12 though. I thought that was good. We had a deluxe room, booked through venere best deal we could find. We only booked 10 days before we left and I really wanted something with character and small but we were too late. The room was fine but a strange layout . The headboard wasn't against the wall, but your feet, especially if tall, touched the wall...no bedside table to put anything. Yes you do need to be very familiar with the person you're with, bathroom wise. we might be near 60 but we had a giggle about this, but we were celebrating 30 years marriage and know each other very well. We were interested to see RLD on first evening, as tourists do. We found the shops etc. but no ladies in windows. It was only when we returned to room which was at the back, because we were told it was quieter, that I realised there was 2 opposite.! We could hear people coming and going all night. ! We liked the convenience of the hotel and the staff but didn't like area and the price of breakfast. We went out 1 morning for breakfast but I was cold because the cafe left the door open. So next day we were back to hotel. For15euro it was dear but plentiful and we didn't eat much in the day so I suppose it wasn't too bad. If we went to Amsterdam again, which we did enjoy the museums and friendly people etc.we would book earlier towards the museum area. It was quieter but still within walkig or easy tram ride to centre.

  • Liked — helpful receptionist
  • Disliked — room layout and cost of breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pollyNorthumberland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Manchester, West Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2008

A modern hotel with elevator. Unique interior design in rooms, with floors and walls carpeted. Fairly spacious rooms, comfortable bed and linens, wall mounted plasma tv, small balcony. Bathrooms very nice, spacious, and modern. I don't recommend this hotel (or at least the level of accommodations we had there) for anyone not staying there with a spouse, significant other, or very close friend/family member - for the walls between the bathroom and rest of guestroom are made of glass, with only a narrow band of frosting for minimal privacy. Very convenient, central location. However, if booking a room during Queen's Day (Apr 30) festivities AND you want some peace/quiet, book in advance for a room that is not streetside. We got streetside and didn't care, we were so tired we slept well anyway despite the noise - but some people are more particular so I pass this advise along.

  • Liked — Elevator, spacious room with large private bathroom, modern decor, comfortable bed
  • Disliked — Private in-room bathroom has only glass walls separating guestroom space from bathroom thus the severe lack of privacy
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank denisetexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2008

The hotel was very clean and in good condition and at a very reasonable price. The location was great, a short walk from Centraal Station and within walking distance of pretty much anything you'd like to see in the city centre. We had a great experience. As people have mentioned, the rooms were on the smaller side, but that would only be an issue for people if they were planning to spend their whole trip in their hotel room. We found the rooms comfortable and clean. Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank TB15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#103 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,103 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#76 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 816 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#66 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 934 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#120 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#90 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing