We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Nice hotel in Amsterdam” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice hotel in Amsterdam”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the room was very nice for this rate and it was clean. Plus the hotel is near the trainstation and in the centrum (dom, Shopping ect.)

The only negativ thing is the breakfast is a little bit expensive.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sape94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Sape94,

Thank you for your review! I am happy to read you have enjoyed your stay. Next time I will give you some insight local knowlegde so you will enjoy your stay even better with us.


Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager
erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    484
    835
    301
    64
    46
See reviews for
169
841
109
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

Perfect central location, professional staff who were extremely helpful. A great plus is the 24 hour reception and the security is second to none.

The room was small, but very well appointed and free wifi.

The breakfasts were fantastic and generous with attentive waiter service if required as the buffet was brilliant.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone coming into Amsterdam via the train as it's within waling distance, so very convenient indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for as big a room as possible because they are a bit cramped, and not near the lift shaft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elizabeth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Elizabeth R,

I have shared your positive feedback with my team last week and am delighted you will recommend this hotel to everyone.

Please inform us when you are visiting us again.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager
erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a long weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. The location, just a five minute walk from Central station and within close proximity of many of the city's attractions, is excellent. Located next to the Jordaan district and close to the beautiful Nine Streets area, it's a great base for exploring. It means to one side you have the Jordaan and canal ring, while to the other you have a short walk to Dam Square and the Red Light District.

The hotel is relatively simple in style but is modern and immaculately clean and well looked after. Rooms are small, but if here for a relatively short time it shouldn't be a problem. Bathrooms are well appointed.

Breakfast has a reasonable selection of continental choices and a couple of hot options, and is a perfectly good way to serve the day. Coffee and fresh orange juices are good. You can get cheaper out and about, but the convenience factor is obviously a bonus.

Staff are friendly and happy to help wherever they can. Overall a good mid-range choice for Amsterdam central.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dicky M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Dicky M,

What a delight to read your extensive review on Tripadvisor. Thank you for your positive comments regarding our breakfast and the rooms.

When you are coming to Amsterdam again, please do not hesitate to contact us!


Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager
erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKeesport, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on July 2, 2014. We had a great visit. The staff was extremely helpful. We are from the United States and were timid because we do not talk Dutch. The staff all talked English and helped us maneuver around during our visit. The room was clean and comfortable. We liked it so much that we made another reservation for Sept. 23, 2014. The best review is when you return to the hotel. We can't wait to visit again. Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Denisemsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Dear Denisemsmith,

It is a great honor to read you will be coming back to visit us! Is there anything we can assist you in prior to your arrival? Help you reserve certain museums, taxi pickup or anything else? Please let me know at lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels,nl, we would be delighted to exceed your expectations again.

Looking forward to welcoming you!!

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

7 minute walk from the station, very friendly and welcoming staff, plenty of info and a lock up if your early. Location was absolutely ideal, breakfast a bit pricey but there are plenty of cafés within 30 seconds walk. Any other hotel in the are was at least 20€ more a night. Room was small but what more do you need than a bed and enough room to get dressed. More than adequate. Shower room was niche but when in amsterdam hey. Loved the hotel and would happily stay again, loved the dam even more, if your thinking about, stop and get booked ;0)

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Dear Craig M,

You could not have made us any more proud! 5 stars and recommendations about everything!

Thank you. We are looking forward to welcoming you again, planning to visit Amsterdam again? Let me know, I will personally make sure your stay is perfect again.

Warm regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Have rated this 5/5, not because it is a 5star hotel, it isn't, but, for the rating, this hotel is truly excellent, with fantastic staff. We could not have asked for more.

Firstly, this hotel is excellently located, close to many of the attractions Amsterdam has to offer. The rooms, though not grand, were clean and well appointed. We were extremely pleased. The staff were helpful and friendly and with a smile.

I would like to extend my gratitude to Lotte, due to her help in the days leading up to the trip, who ensured we had everything we needed. This for me is what true hospitality is. 'No' is never a word that should cross the lips of anyone in this industry and some, like Lotte, know their business! Truly Wonderful. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yianni1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Yianni1066,

Thank you for this amazing review! It has been my pleasure serving you and we can't wait to do it again. Next time you visit, drop me a line and we will help you out with your pre-arrival queries as well.

Warmest regards,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in July 2014 with my husband.
This hotel was very easy to find after getting off the train from the airport, which is just what we wanted. Very close to Dam square and the Jordaan district. Tram stops right outside the hotel, lots of places to eat at reasonable prices.
Hotel staff were exceptionally helpful, good customer service. There was a computer in the reception that you could use free of charge and print off your boarding passes. Left luggage facilities available, again free of charge. Wifi in rooms very fast. Large room safe.
Rooms were very clean, but ours did have a bit of a funny odour about it, maybe had to do with the fact the glass bathroom didn't seem to have any extractor fan in it. However it wasn't enough of a problem to complain about. The double bed was in fact two singles pushed together that had very comfortable memory foam mattresses on them. Unfortunately both of us, on separate occasions, managed to turn over and slip in between the two mattresses when they parted from each other and slipped off the bed frame! Otherwise, like I have said, they were very comfortable.
We ate breakfast on two occasions, lots of choice, well presented, good coffee and on each day two different cooked options.
Just remember that at the end of our stay you will have to pay a city.
We will definitely stay here again and I would happliy recommend it to others.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scarlet062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, August 6, 2014
Dear Scarlet 062,

We are so happy with your five star review! Next time you visit please let me know; we have rooms with Queen size matrasses available as well, so no more slipping.

Thanks to your comment we have installed controlsides in all our TwinBedded bedrooms; in order to prevent slipping in the middle or having moving matrasses ever again.

Warm regards from rainy Holland,

Lotte Dijkmans van Gunst
Assistant Hotel Manager
lotte.dijkmansvangunst@westcordhotels.nl
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#126 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#157 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#99 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Expedia so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing