We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location ”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #83 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

The thing I loved about this hotel is the location. It was literally 5 minutes away from everything which was great, plus the trams stopped just outside the door. We were able to walk from Centraal Station to the hotel in a few minutes.
The staff were lovely and helpful, especially at the desk, helping to look after our bags when we went out on our last day. The wifi was a good feature too, strong signal all over the hotel.
The TV had BBC1 and 2 which is a nice touch.
The only thing was the attention to detail. When we arrived there was litter down the hallway to our room which was not a great start. We were also only given 1 coffee sachet and no milk at all.
The next morning, the maid was knocking at the door every 15 minutes wanting to clean the room and trying to hurry us out which we found annoying and rude.
Not a bad stay at all and the great location makes up for the small irritations, but would probably shop around before staying here again.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank KatM93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,209)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

842 - 848 of 2,209 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2014

I stayed from sat 12th July for 4 ngts and would like to say a big thankyou to the reception staff. My room was 304 on the 3rd floor and it was perfect, the room was gorgeous and the bed was great, clean towels and bedding everyday and the wifi was a strong signal. I must say I will definitely miss the shower, best shower ive ever had. All in all a great friendly hotel with some lovely ladies at reception. Will definitely be re booking here.
Many Thanks.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kyleliviamelia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

We needed a basic hotel for 1 night -- before boarding a Cruise leaving from the docks next to Central Station. The WestCord City Centre Hotel was perfect. We walked the roughly 10 city blocks from Central Station, which the train from the airport took us. We each had only 1 carry-on piece of luggage, and walked to the hotel in less than half an hour.
The hotel is nicely redone, very clean, and has all the basics -- including a very friendly reception staff. The only trouble we had was deciding on which of a half dozen nice restaurants we would go to for dinner, all within a 5 - 10 minute walk from the hotel.
The next morning, after a good night's sleep, we walked back to the city center and the Cruise boat dock. This time we stopped off for a late breakfast along the way, eating outside at a lovely cafe.
Typical for Amsterdam, the room was not large (many would say it was small-ish), but it had everything we needed and a nice updated bathroom and shower.
We will stay here again!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the main street -- but the windows are tight, and it WAS QUIET.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

A good clean hotel very near to the train station and 5 mins from Dam Square. When we arrived we got a taxi from the airport to the hotel but on recommendation from the reception staff, when we returned we caught the train for a quarter of the price. Train was very easy to catch.
Rooms spotlessly clean but small. We were upgraded because it was my birthday, and on returning to the room after a days sightseeing was pleased to find a handwritten birthday card, a bottle of fizz and some chocolates. How lovely.
Only other small thing to mention, is that the entrance to the hotel is opened with a security card given when checking in. Its a swipe card, easy to use. One evening, when we returned quite late, as we opened the door to get in, a man, who can only be described as shifty, appeared from nowhere and before we knew it, had followed us in. We still don't know how it happened -maybe he had done it before. Anyway, as luck would have it, a member of reception was walking past, saw him, and dealt with him. He was made to leave immediately. This was our last night and we had not had any trouble on our previous nights but is probably something to watch out for.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank chadling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2014

- Great location!
- Front desk was helpful and lent me an adaptor to charge my phone for the night, free of charge.
However:
- Room was really small: Bed was against the desk on one end and bed on the other end. We were only there for a night so it was OK but wouldn't have recommended this size of room for an extended stay.
- Also one thing that we disliked was a weird (bad) smell in the lobby area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katharyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2014

First the good:
We got a very good deal through eBookers. A Deluxe room overlooking the street Nieuwezijds Voorburgwalstraat. Email sent with enquiries was replied to very quickly and with relevant responses. Perfect location - I always want to stay on this street when I visit Amsterdam.
Receptionist on arival was Eline, she was wonderful!!!!!!!. Friendly, informative, helpful, efficient, a delight and genuine. She even called us in our room to check that everything was ok.
Aircon in the room worked very well and the window actually opened too :-) But all public spaces were stuffy and humid and horrible in the July heat.
The room was tiny and strangely designed with the headboard in the middle of the room and the twin 'beds' held in place by annoying restraining bars down the sides. Claustrophobic. The mattresses were far too soft.
Showeroom was tiny, but actual shower was a good size with a powerful shower. The toilet was in a tiny space - if you are bigger than 3XL, you would not fit into it.
WIFI was inconsistent at best. Slow and sporadic, we had to use our own network.

Room Tip: The non Deluxe rooms must be miniscule! It's worth paying the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Sandrobear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2014

We booked this hotel as it was near to the station in Amsterdam and we liked the look of the photo's however we didn't check with trip advisor.
It is literally 5 mins walk from the station and Dam Sq making it suitable for exploring. The whole hotel has been refurbished to a very good standard and has everything you could want for a 3 star level.
The room has a soft bed, table & chair with phone, tea & coffee making facilities, a safe, hair dryer and with a very good shower and bathroom setup. There is an added benefit of air con.
I wouldn't say this was a luxurious hotel but comfortable and very clean.
We only had the breakfast once however there was everything you could possibly want and it was a buffet style so you can fill up for the day...
It has free wifi and a tram stop just outside just to make your stay even better and easier.
The outstanding feature for me at this hotel was the service particularly from the reception staff. We arrived early at 1100 and as they had a room ready allowed us to check in. They loaned us a couple of brollies as it was raining and were very helpful with answering questions in detail to assist our stay. Nothing was too much trouble and they have the right balance between professionalism, friendliness & helpfulness. We only stayed one night but I already looking for booking a return for my next available time off.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th floor all said delux however if you want a really quiet room as for one at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mailman003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#117 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#54 of 375 in Amsterdam
995 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#169 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,588 reviews
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 375 in Amsterdam
5,339 reviews
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $112 - $306 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in our breakfast restaurant. If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘Nieuwendijk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing