We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 days visit”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #84 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed June 25, 2014

We have stayed 3 days in this confortable hotel. It is very well located, near most important attractions, museums and tours. Very good breakfast, unfortunately not included. only problems with lights in the room. I recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosanecarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,168)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 2,169 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2014

This was my second visit to this hotel. The hotel is a short walk of about ten minutes from central station, but there is also a tram stop right outside the hotel should you wish to take a tram from the station. This tram stop outside the hotel also makes exploring the city very easy and you can buy your tram tickets from the hotel reception (these are official at no extra cost).
Upon arrival we were greeted by avert friendly lady called Helen who could not do enough to help us.
We were provided room 403 overlooking the street behind the hotel. The room was comfortable and mostly clean (a couple of forgivable bits we picked up ourselves). The room, as in most Amsterdam hotels is very small but well laid out. Comfy double bed (although a little too soft for me), wardrobe with safe, usual table, chairs and flat screen. Tea/coffee facilities found in the desk drawer. No fridge unfortunately. Air con worked really well. The bathroom is odd in that it is frosted glass walls in the middle. Above and below is clear glass. The shower was very good.
I cannot comment on the food as we didn't eat here, however if I recall, breakfast is €15,00 each and I think if you paid up front upon check-in, it was reduced to €12,50 per person, per day.
This was my second visit and I would consider staying here a third time.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Great location on the edge of the famous Red Light District, a five minute walk from the train station with a tram stop out front. The lobby was nice but a bottle a Febreeze could do a world of good for first impressions. There was a persistent acrid smell every time we passed through. The room was good - small, of course, typical of most Amsterdam hotels. The en suite looks like a modern addition. The fact that it has all glass walls adds to the impression that it is in the middle of the bedroom. Yes, there is a frosted band to give the glass a hint of privacy, but a not enough for my liking. Points for style though. Modern finishes and colours help. The bed was luxuriously soft, almost to a fault. We arrived on a very warm day and almost cooked before we figured out the AC thermostat with its 20 buttons. But once we did, very comfortable. And the staff were always helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K_Q_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Professional staff. Nice design-ish rooms. Maybe a little bit pricey for the overall quality service, but we enjoyed our family city break. They have tickets for public transports and attractions. Free wifi, free printer and free luggage deposit after check out.

Room Tip: Don't go for the corner rooms as they are smaller compared to ordinary ones. Also ask for rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marco L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

Myself and a friend were coming into Amsterdam for 1 night after working close. As the company was not going to pay for an extra night in another hotel we just decided to get a good deal. A good deal is what we got. Upon arriving the interior of the lobby was spacious with the staff friendly. Check in was quick and painless.

The room was basic, but we didn't expect anything else. It was small yet tidy but the beds were comfy. If you are sharing the room and are looking for a little bit of space, I'd either ask the reception if there is a bigger room or look elsewhere. The beds were close but it didn't mind us. The bathroom is fairly new with the shower decent.

If you are looking for a bed in Central Amsterdam that is quiet and tidy, this is the place. If you are looking for a large room and the added services of a hotel, skip this....but pay more.

Room Tip: The street is quiet so don't have to worry about staying away from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ben G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014

Stayed here this weekend...21st june. Great location for everywhere and even though on main road it was quiet at night. Beds were mega comfy and the room had blackout blinds. Had a great nights sleep. Spotlessly clean and trendy. Lovely staff. Free wifi . Would definitely recommend, the location was spot on and five minute walk from cental station.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank julie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

First review i ever bothered to write but it would be unfair not to!!

Easy to find and 5 mins from central station, 1 sreet away from the damrak (main street) and on a tram line with trams every few minutes if you want to go further afield.

5 minutes (if that!) from the red light district and main shops/bars/ coffer shops and restaurants.

For the price this is unbeatable. if you look at the other similar priced 'hotels'they are more like b and b's. ive been to Amsterdam 4 or 5 times on tje cheap and this was by fsr the best.

The hotel Is similar to a really good premier inn (clean,bright,friendly) safe in the room at no cost but also need key card to get into the lifts and into the hotel at night so very secure.

staff on the front desk where great and very keen to help (amd sort out any trips/tickets).

Also recommend thr pizza cruise, about two hours with free drinks (heiniken and red white or rose wine) and a top quality pizza and ben and jerrys!! leaves at about 7pm so you get to see the town by night, we did it froday night to round off our trip and it was great.l (well worth the £30).

oh and dont get ripped off for drinks look around for good bars (louis bar just off damrak is a class little pub and louis is a great host.

dont waste your money anywhere else! westcord city centre is the one!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#119 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,226 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 372 in Amsterdam
959 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#63 of 372 in Amsterdam
674 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#93 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $155 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in our breakfast restaurant. If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘Nieuwendijk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing