We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Clean, fashionable, central hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam to your Saves list
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn) (Centrum)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #108 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, fashionable, central hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

The hotel is in an excellent location and within walking distance of many attractions. The staff in the hotel were beyond helpful and did everything in their power to make our trip as enjoyable as possible. The rooms are fashionable, well maintained and very clean. Perfect for couples or friends. We had an amazing holiday which was topped of by this lovely hotel!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sian8803
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,727 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    482
    835
    300
    64
    46
See reviews for
168
840
109
118
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (241)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Location of this hotel is amazing!! 5 min walk from Dam Sq & right outside you can get a tram to anywhere. Also central station 10 min walk away if needed too, It was so handy.
Also as some of the reviews say yes, the rooms are small but going on a city break we don't spend time a lot in the room only obv to sleep & for that it was ideal it was comfortable, clean & being on the 4th floor we had no trouble with noise from outside. Would definitely be back here.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank BelfastBabe89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

As the title says I have stayed here 3 times now but I will definitely try another hotel next time as I really am quite fed up with the small rooms - I know European rooms are small but this is no good if there is more than one person. Having said that the room is clean and modern - nice hotel and friendly staff

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s2sap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed there for 2 nights in November 2013 during our weekend in Amsterdam.

The location is excellent, a short walk from the Central Station, Dam Square and the city center.

We stayed for 2 nights and the first one was terrible : we were given a double room but with 2 very small single beds put next to each other so not comfortable at all, on the street side so very noisy and the room was very weirdly arranged, with the bed facing the wall, which left very little space to move around.

But then things went better when we changed room on the 2nd night and this time, we were facing the back of the hotel, much quieter and with a nice and comfy double bed.

So I'm not sure I would stay there again, simply because the service wasn't good and staff were not very considerate but I think you'd be satisfied if you are looking for a centrally located hotel and a room where you won't find too much time because you'll be busy exploring Amsterdam ;-)

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiYns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I stayed here in spetember for three nights, it was me and my two best friends!
the hotel is in a awesome location, literally righty across the road is an array of resturants, bars, shops etc. you literally only have to walk two seconds and you are in the light district. though I must say there are red light rooms in the alley at the side of the hotel, this isn't a problem as I didn't even know until I went down the alley to put out my cigarette. it isn't too close to the clubs, we had to get those little bike taxis to all the clubs which costed about £20, which isn't too bad with three of you!
it is literally two minuites away from the central station which takes you straight to and from the airport!!
we had a triple room, which consisted of a double bed and a single bed, I wont lie the rooms are small, especially for three people, but they were very well decorated and very modern!
the beds are some of the comfiest beds ive ever slept in, with comfy pillows and warm duvets! the windows are large so the rooms are extremely bright! to get into the hotel at night you need to use you card, you also need to use this to get to the stairs and to the lift, this makes you feel very safe, as it shows not everyone can just walk in to the hotel!! the only thing I found very odd is.. the nathroom is totally see through glass half of it, with a small line of frosted glass, bearing mind you can still see everthing. now me and my two best friends.. I am a girl they are guys.. I didn't mind because I knew they would never look at me, but still for a family room.. imagine if it was a mom, dad and son/daughter. could be VERY awkward. we found it funny but just bear in mind, you may wanna call and check you don't have this room if you ever book here, if you feel this would be a problem! :) also another thing, we was on the third floor, and the window was about floor length, so at least 11 foot! probably a lot more!! the window totally opened, from top to bottom and the only thing in front was a flimsy wooden guard! not very safe so if you are taking children then please be careful!! this wasn't a problem for us as we are 18,18 and 21!:D

when in Amsterdam I would recommend the sex museum, its hilarious! you can also pay like one euro and go to a live sex show, only lasts like two mins but that's all you need for laugh!!:) ... we went to smokeys, and the clubs around there, plus the gay bars and some other small clubs round the other side of the town! :) they were all cool! we did the ice bar experience which was cool, for about two mins, but worth the £20 to say you did it! we also did a Amsterdam cruise, lasted about an hour or so and was pretty cool. my favourite food there was wok to walk, not a major fan of noodles, but they were amazing and I could eat them everyday!

I cannot wait to return to Amsterdam and will definitely come back to this hotel when I do. definitely worth the money by far! expensive place to visit but so cool you have to do it!! :D

Room Tip: we had 3rd floor and could hardly hear any traffic noise! :D
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank megan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Great location but if you want a good breakfast, a room without smell of smoke and being able to use the toilet without your roommate watching take your business elsewhere.

The staff is great and very polite.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank j f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

I have just returned from 3 nights in Amsterdam with my partner, our first visit. Firstly the location of the hotel is perfect, 5 minute walk from Central Station, Dam Square and close to everything you would want to do in Amsterdam. Right in the city centre but still quiet enough to get a good nights sleep. Rooms are modern, clean and comfortable, if maybe a bit small but we had no issue with this as we didn't go to spend all day in the hotel. Nice touch on the service, we got a complimentary bottle of wine and some fruit delivered to our room as it was my birthday. Would highly recommend this hotel and we will return.

Room Tip: Our room was on the 3rd floor at the back and was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Artchick24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#102 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#59 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 725 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#126 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 700 reviews
Centrum
Singel Hotel
Singel Hotel
#157 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 817 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#99 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#83 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing