We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good location for transport-utiltiarian” 3 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #102 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Good location for transport-utiltiarian”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Good jumping off point close to the Central Railway Station, tramlines to everywhere, museums etc - Rooms on the small side. We asked to move to a twin bed room for more space- unable to have place to open 2 suitcases and being able to move around the room normally. Beds were very very comfortable.
Bathrooms were great in general- however the glass walls with partially frosted screens with cutouts completely unnerved the 2 male teenagers who had to share a room - they refused to shower without one facing the wall.
Lotte on Reception was outstanding in trying to satisfy our concerns at all times & accommodate us promptly & professionally !
It has all the amenities, internet, printer, restaurant - though this is not open for meals apart from breakfast.

Room Tip: Try to book the 3 bed room if youre a couple to get the extra space! You can then open yr cases on t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CORSAIR700
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    862
    308
    66
    46
See reviews for
179
872
112
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

Traveling across Europe means a comfortable bed goes a long way! It was very refreshing. The hotel is within walking distance of the centraal train station, which was awesome since we had quite a bit of luggage. Also, it was within walking distance to many things, including dam square, the red light district, great shopping, coffee shops, and Anne Frank house. The staff were all very nice and helpful and greeted us each time we walked through the lobby. Breakfast was offered for a price, however, we declined that. I would recommend this hotel!

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Chels1914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here twice. Once in may and once in September 2013. I am due to stay again in April. I Can't fault the hotel. 5 mins to central station and no more than 10mins from all the main touristy bits. The room was cleaned daily. The reception is welcoming. On both occasions I was able to get into my room 6 hours before due. I would strongly recommend it.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We arrived in Amsterdam on chrismtas eve and quickly found the hotel it's literally 5 minutes from centraal station. The hotel infact is about 5-10 minutes from all major locations, dam square, centraal station, red light district, Madame Tussaud's, boat tours etc.

The hotel lobby is gorgeous and we were greetedby lovely staff, beware however you must have a credit card for them to hold €50 pp, if not they will hold this in cash until you check out - an assurance against the room and anything you may take for room service. You also pay city tax - a couple of euros each day pp which you pay when checking out too. Other than this there were no complications. The rooms are tiny but very comfortable, we were facing the street with gorgeous city views and all you need. I would warn those who are conservative to perhaps choose wisely as the toilets in our room were surrounded by glass walls and door ! A bit unusual but I was with my partner of 3 years so no big deal ! The bed was amazingly comfy & I can't stress enough how convenient the location is - amazing !! The rooms were also cleaned daily and to perfection, can't fault this place.

Room Tip: Ask for the newer refurbished rooms facing the street view !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chelley_Pops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

My wife and I visited in Aug of last year for a quick break to Amsterdam. The hotel was a short walk from the train station and the room was clean and comfy. As it was located right in the city centre it was very convenient for us to pop out for our tours and walk around town. Staff were friendly enough so we will definitely return again if we have the chance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
131 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

After a long tiring Trans Atlantic flight, this hotel was a great option. We were kindly offered an early check-in. The room was clean and tidy with a very cosy feel. It's also Eco-friendly and a small space but the hotel has made good use of the size. We had tea and coffee in the room, which was on the 4th floor with a city view. The linens are soft and comfortable and the comforter/blanket keeps you warm and toasty on a cold winter night! Soon after we entered the room, reception and housekeeping both called in to find out if we liked our room. I found that to be a very thoughtful gesture!

The staff are all exceptionally friendly and helpful. They booked our tickets to the Van Gogh Museum, sold tickets for the transit system and suggested that a 72 hour pass was our best option and they were absolutely right. When I was trying to figure out our tram stop, Helen at the front desk came around from the desk & stepped outside with us in the cold and pointed out to the tram stop and took the time to explain the direction and that it was important to check out at the destination, which was very helpful. They also made dinner reservations for us at Kantjil & De Tijger and Haejse Claes during our stay.

I would definitely recommend this hotel. It offers clean and comfortable rooms, friendly service and excellent value for money.

Room Tip: We had a room on the higher floor facing the city/tram line and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank STho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LotteDijkmans, Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Dear STho,

You could not have made us happier but with the topic of your review, thank you SO much! We have shared your comments with the team of Front Desk and Housekeeping. You made their day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the hotel and I would definitely recommend it for people wishing to stay in Amsterdam for a long weekend. The location is perfect and is close to everything (Cafes/Restaurants/Museums/Shops/Markets). The price is also really good and affordable. The greatest part of my stay was the staff and their friendliness and hospitality.

The beds and rooms were also very clean and comfortable.

Mr Gill

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 764 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#128 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#92 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing