We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #83 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed October 13, 2013

I chose this hotel mainly for its location close to the station and the city centre. The location was ideal for us. We were within minutes of restaurants, bars and the station. Taxis were always outside and if none was available, reception would have one ready within 10mins.

We had a deluxe twin room. I fail to see what was deluxe about the room. First of all, these are NOT twin beds. It is one bed frame with two mattresses and separate bedding. Needless to say that if you are sharing with a friend, you need to be very close or accept that you are essentially sleeping in a double bed.

Another "privacy issue" is the bathroom. A very thin glass with a frosted window which has some clear patches. If you sit on the toilet, you can very easily see what is going on in the room. The bathroom is also very small.

Although the room was very small and I did find the hotel overpriced, due to the location and the very helpful reception staff would consider returning

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Keyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Keyz,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! Please notice we have also oom available with a solid bathroom wall. This may suit your personal preferences more.

I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,202)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 963 of 2,202 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2013

stopped here for 5 nights in september, superbly located, 5 mins walk from Centraal Station & Red Light area. rooms spotless, maybe a little compact for some, with lovely frosted glass bathroom with shower & glass sink. breakfast hearty & plenty of variety to suit all, highly reccommended.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShogunJerrys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear ShogunJerrys,

I have just read your 5-star review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our guest. Especially your comment of our room design is highly appreciated.

Thank you for recommending our hotel to others! We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

This hotel was clean and GREAT location. But what was represented as a deluxe for 2 people may have been fine for a couple but not for 2 singles. There is no bathroom privacy, just a little frosted glass. Bathroom is glass, door doesn't close. In all the other rooms we stayed in, the twin beds could be separated for singles, but in this hotel they were on a platform. The room was small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Patricia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Patricia,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am happy to read your positive comments regarding location and the clean rooms. Concerning your comments of the glass bathroom wall, I would like to point out that we have rooms with a solid wall as well. For your next visit we will make sure you can stay in one of these rooms as I understand your feeling in this situation.

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

I was worried about the glass bathroom. But it wasn't a problem at all. I will definitily come back here again and i'll stay longer. The rooms are small but hey, you're not there to stay in the room. You really only sleep there and the rooms are very cool looking. Location location!!! A hop skip and quick jump to Baba's and all your shopping needs. The local market is on the same side of the street and way cheaper for drinks than the little shops around town. 2.39 euro for a huge redbull but in the small shops they are almost 5 Euros. I love that after hours you need your key card to get into the hotel, and you can't use the lifts with out a key card 24/7. It really feels safe at this hotel. The front desk is friendly and helpful. Big thumbs up to the hotel snd our Friend who booked is this little Gem.

2  Thank Slicksky
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Slicksky,

What a delight to read your review of your recent stay with us. Thank you for sharing this review on Tripadvisor.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Grossly overpriced, Looks like a Hostel on the inside and the room was a size of a closet! Reception stuff was incurious and annoyed if you had more than two questions.
Really disappointed for that high Price per night!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler1133947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Traveler1133947,

Thak you for your review. I am sorry to read that your stay with us was disapponting. As I would like to know what the points of attention are, I hope you can send me your contact details to erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl. Then I will contact you personally on this matter.

Thank you for your reply and hope to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Situated in a very busy part of the city but conveniently placed for walking to all major attractions. Rooms very small but this wasn't a problem as we didn't spend a lot of time in the room. Very clean and contemporary in style. Bed is a small double but soooo comfortable. Breakfast which was included was ample, fresh and tasty . There are just a few red light windows near the hotel but didn't bother us. All of the staff were helpful and pleasant and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending this hotel. How ever I would say that this is probably not the destination for you if you are prudish.
All in all for the price paid and in comparison to other hotels of the same calibre it was a good choice of hotel.

Room Tip: Front of the building my be a little noisier due to the tram lines, rear of the hotel overlooks a co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cookie3_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear cookie3_11,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words.
Thank you for recommending our hotel to others! We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

Very firm, cosy, comfortable bed which is great because I gind usually hotels have awful soft pillow-like matresses buy not this one.. Nice clean, stylish bathroom. Great central location, 2 minute walk from centraal station/damrak.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2013

Dear Katie,

Thank you for your nice review on Tripadvisor. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay! Your comment abour our pillows is highly appreciated. I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#116 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,247 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 373 in Amsterdam
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
Ibis Amsterdam Centre
#144 of 373 in Amsterdam
5,279 reviews
Centrum
Avenue Hotel
Avenue Hotel
#173 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $134 - $309 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in our breakfast restaurant. If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘Nieuwendijk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing