We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #86 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 25, 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 4 nights and felt that it suited my requirements perfectly. It was central (Amsterdam Centraal is just walking distance away and there is a tram stop right in front of the hotel), it was clean, and the reception staff were really helpful. A few drawbacks are that the room size is only barely adequate, the bed positioning is rather weird, and the WiFi signal in the room can be very weak at times. I didn't find the opaque glass of the toilet to be much of a problem and the soundproofing was quite good.

Overall would consider staying here again but might try something else next time since this was a rather last minute booking and I thought that it was slightly costlier.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steventyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear steventyp,

Thank you for sharing this review on Tripadvisor.

I am very happy to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations! I will pass on your compliments to my team!

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,145)
There are newer reviews for WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

994 - 1,000 of 2,146 reviews

Reviewed May 25, 2013

Modern hotel, well kept, Modern hotel.

Staff really friendly could not help enough.

Rooms have everything you need, including A/C, free WIFI. Mini bar etc.

Bathroom very clean and modern, no bath but walk in shower.

5 minute walk from Central station and close by to shops and main attractions, has tram stop outside.

5 minute walk to Dam square.

Own restaurant which was expensive, did not use so cant comment on the food,

I'ts a bit expensive but most hotels in the central area are but would stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kookaddski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Kookaddski,

Thank you for staying with us! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

We have stayed here many times over the years, it has changed hands quite a lot, but we've never had any problems its always been very clean and welcoming.

The rooms are modern - Yes they are small, but as are most in Amsterdam and unless you are staying for a couple of weeks, why do you need a huge room?? I know we spend minimal time in our room, its only a base to lay our heads, get showered etc.

The bathrooms are a bit different, but then before I book a hotel I always check out their website and reviews on here, so the glass walls shouldn't really be a big surprise. There is frosting around the glass walls so most of your modesty is hidden. But again I dont find this a problem.

Its in a great location, 5 min walk to Centraal Station, 2 min walk to Dam Square and a tram stop outside.

It ticks all the boxes for us and we would certainly stay here again, we really like it

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WeeL78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear WeeL78,

I have just read your 5-star review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our frequent guest

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at the WestCord City Centre during the second week of May for about 5 days. While the hotel itself was well situated (within walking distance to Central Station, a tram stop right outside the front door, and central to all the main sights) we did have some concerns with the room. As mentioned by another reviewer recently, the wi-fi on the 4th floor was non-existent unless we stood in the hallways or put our phones right up to our door. The rooms are very (very) small and the bathroom setup is less than ideal. There's something about your roommate seeing and hearing everything you do in the washroom that just doesn't feel right. I understand they need to make do with the small space they have and I will say it was creatively done, but not ideal when you are traveling with someone else besides you. We didn't opt for the breakfast and based on what we saw of it, 15 EUR per day (or 12.50 EUR per day if paid in advance) seemed a bit steep.

Pros:
- Close to main sights, Central Station, tram stop.
- Breakfast available on-site if you choose.
- Clean.
- Friendly service at the front desk.

Cons:
- Washroom layout and room size in general.
- Red light district extends around the hotel so if you are a prude or don't want your kids seeing this aspect of Amsterdam, stay a bit further away from this location.

Room Tip: Avoid the 4th floor if you can because the wi-fi doesn't work well.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KWTraveller1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear KWTraveler1980,

Thank you for staying with us! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

This hotel is in easy walking distance 5-10 mins of the Central station (direct by train from Schipol airport). Staff very accommodating and helpful. Breakfast - lots of choice and plentiful and fresh. Great location, trams outside your door or you can walk into main centre and local attractions (Anne Frank house, museums etc). I would definitely stay here again - the clear glass en-suite slightly off-putting but shower powerful and the room was clean and cosy. If you get a chance to check out the North Sea Jazz Club in Westerngasfabrik it's not far by taxi (difficult to find otherwise) but a great night out. Humphrey's restaurant just opp hotel is great too and the Yellow Bike Tour co also just opp hotel definitely worth doing to make the most of your trip!

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor - although facing the road it wasn't noisy at night.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JanR2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2013

Dear JanR2012,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. It’s great to read that you will return to our hotel.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Loved the whole experience of traveling from airport to central station, and literally crossing the. Road.
Found the hotel very easy, guide book in one hand, tugging suitcases,
Easy check-in and staff very helpful, and very clean hotel, overall we had a great stay and enjoyed the location of the hotel, and walked every where,
super efficient and clean rooms,we stayed in a deluxe room number 311, facing the front of hotel,
a shower to die for, if I could I would have took the bathroom home.

If I was to raise a concern , it's who ever designed the bed, never actually slept in it, or road tested it.
A very comfy bed, pillows to love and TV overhead, a good mixture of comfort and luxury.
But what made them put soft touch light switches behind the pillows and the single split mattress's that had no restraints to stop them separating,
The bed undermines everyone else's hard work in the hotel, who make the hotel a pleasure to stay
Thank you for giving us a great hotel and a wonderful time in Amsterdam,

Room Tip: Spend a little more for the extra pleasures
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnho2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear johnho2007,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind and enthusiastic words. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Clean comfortable room but be aware the bathrooms don't offer much privacy so ensure you get on well with your travelling partner! Location couldn't be better, convenient short walk from the rail station and then easy access to everywhere, yet nice and quiet when you do retire for the night. Breakfast offers a good choice, with tasty breads & decent coffee. Helpful staff, even after check-out when there is secure luggage storage if not departing the city until later in the day.

Room Tip: 318 absolutely fine, cannot speak for the rest
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jaxvint62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear jaxvint62,

Thank you for staying with us! It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay! Thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor. Hope to see you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#57 of 371 in Amsterdam
951 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Swissotel Amsterdam
Swissotel Amsterdam
#69 of 371 in Amsterdam
651 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#93 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $155 - $343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in our breakfast restaurant. If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘Nieuwendijk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing