We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, but that's about all you could recommend this hotel for.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #90 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location, but that's about all you could recommend this hotel for.”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

Location of the hotel was good, just 5 minutes from Dam Square. The rooms were quite small though, and very uncomfortable. Room ws freezing and the heating made no differece. The bed was tiny and the room was not half as nice as the photos on booking.com depicted. The hotel was 298€ for 2 nights this excluded the additional city tax which came to 17€. We later booked another hotel near Museumplein for 171€ for two nights including tax which was much nicer and much better value. On checking into the Westcord my debit card was pre-authorised.We were not infirmed that the hotel actually charged 100€ to my card until checking out. This was not refunded to my card for 7 working days after check out. We were not given the option of paying the 100€ in cash:an option we would have taken as our trip extended an extra 3 days after check out so we were quite sad to be down 100€. We had bought drinks in the room wad this wad to be deducted from the 100€ with the balance transfered back to my card. What the hotel actually did was charge the drinks to my card on top of the 100€ and then refund the full 100€ days later. Overall very disappointing service at a modern hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SlPoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear SIPoppy,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am sorry to read we failed in communicating the correct deposit information on the website and upon check-in. Currently we are updating the information about the payment policies on all websites. However, upon check-in this should have been explained well again. You should also have had the option to pay a €100 deposit in cash. I apologize for the inconvenience.

Regarding the pictures on Booking.com I can honestly say we have one room type with multiple room designs. On Booking.com is a picture of a room which is apllicable to the 2nd-5th floor and one picture of the rooms on the first floor renovated last year.

I can imagine that you were not happy with these points. In case you are coming to Amsterdam again, you can contact me directly at erikjan.bausch@westcordhotels.nl to make a special offer. This to give us a second chance by showing that this has been an incident.

Awaiting your reply.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,069 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    636
    972
    341
    70
    50
See reviews for
221
1,016
122
151
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, Uk
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

Really pleased with our stay here. Literally 5 minute walk from Central Station. We arrived early (check in from 3pm) and were able to leave our luggage in a locked room. Clean and modern. Friendly staff! It was my boyfriend's birthday so they arranged for some chocolates to be in the room on arrival. Only downside were the road works outside hotel (which couldnt be helped), the shower which overflowed as door wasnt sealed properly, and also the maids who start work at 7am and are really noisy, clattering around outside our door. Hotel was a 5 minute walk from the shops and dam square. We had a lovely, laid back and fun trip! Would recommend to all, and will most likely come back!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Polly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
dear Polly E,

I have just read your 5-star review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words!I I will share this with my team. It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

we spent five days in the westcord hotel and we could not fault it, the rooms where small but clean. The hotel is on a bussy street but we did not hear any noise in the room, We had booked breakfast and found it to be very good,The location of the hotel was great just five minute walk from centeral station,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank georgeNi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear GeorgeNi,

I have just read your 4-star review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our guest.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2013

Good central location, clean, helpful staff and excellent wifi. The beds were comfortable but unfortunately the size of the room means I can't give more than a poor classification. I would also prefer a completely separate bathroom. Looks as if they are trying to maximise all available space.

Room Tip: Unfortunately although this was a perfectly adequate hotel, the size of the room was far too small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Sandra H,

I just read your review on Tripadvisor. To the location in the city centre some of the rooms have a different shape. Therefore, the interior design is efficient that it meets al our guests needs.

We have bathrooms with a brick wall. For any future visit we can allocate you one of these rooms as I hope that we may have the chance to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Treviso, Italy
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2013

A nice and clean room for a good price, just on the side of the Damrak. Staff is professional and helpful, they gave us a tip to solve the parking problem overnight for half the price! Good choice both for business and leisure.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diego V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear Diego V,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us and it on Tripadvisor.
I am very happy to read that the hotel and the staff have met your expectations!.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and I hope we can welcome you again to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam in the near future!

Kindest regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#108 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,178 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#62 of 368 in Amsterdam
900 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
INK Hotel Amsterdam - MGallery by Sofitel
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#115 of 368 in Amsterdam
883 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#101 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#27 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing