We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Trendy clean well-located hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #94 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
130 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Trendy clean well-located hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Looking for a centrally located, clean and trendy hotel in Amsterdam? For a short business or weekendtrip? Close to Amsterdam Central Station (10 minutes max) and with a string of important tram and bus routes at your doorstep? Look no further! This Westcord property has a welcoming lounging area (a bit dark for my liking, but nice and cosy on winter nights), pleasant front desk staff (although things can get a bit slow when too many holiday makers with all the time in the world try to check in at once) and nice rooms. My room (504) -at the fairly quiet back of the hotel- was not very big, but had all it needed for a stay in which you don't linger in the room. Besides the double bed there was a desk, a reasonably-sized place to hang clothes and quite a large-ish bathroom with excellent shower. The wash basin was made of plastic, so see-through. An interesting effect.... One unfortunate detail: the toilet is quite close to that wash basin, so not much room to maneuver. If you're spending a few days in Amsterdam and you prefer a bit more luxury than you get in some of the surrounding hotels, this would be my bet. I didn't sample the breakfast, but it looked good. However: beware of the night shop right next door for buying anything. I bought a bottle of wine and noticed many articles were not priced. The price I was charged was too high for the quality of my wine and I felt clearly overcharged by the rather unfriendly and abusive family running the place. For good bears go across the road to De Wildeman or to the Arendsnest on Herengracht. Front desk staff can point you in the right direction. Across the street is also a good Indian.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaxiFaber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Taxifaber,

Thank you so much for your extensive review on Tripadvisor. I am glad you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Regarding the lobby, we currently upgrading the lobby with a new paint and new design furniture which will make it even more light.

I hope we have the opportunity to showing you this in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,974 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    593
    934
    329
    70
    48
See reviews for
203
969
118
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denbigh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was out first visit to Amsterdam, will go again and will use the same hotel. This hotel is centrally located we were able to walk to all the things we wanted to see. The room was a little small but clean and well maintained. Locked baggage area with receipt system available for free which was very useful as we were not leaving Amsterdam until early evening.
The glass sided bathroom was a little unusual. Every time we asked for information at reception the staff were very helpful. Paying for entrance to attraction at the hotel does save time when you arrive. The room had an odd layout but very comfortable. We did not eat at the hotel but there are plenty of good cafe's within 5 minutes walk.
The provision of evening meals would be a welcome addition to services at the hotel.

Room Tip: The tram track outside was being repaired overnight but as we at the rear of the hotel we heard noth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear John N,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future! I hope you will try our breakfast as well, as we (and other guests) think it is delicious.

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Having stayed in Amsterdam before and having had the worst hotel ever, I was really looking for a clean hotel this time and I was not disappointed.

The hotel is super clean. Rooms are VERY nice with modern design. Bathroom is very nice. We only stayed there for one night, but it was great! The staff was also very present and helpful.

Locked baggage area with receipt system available for free.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nade644
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Nade644,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

Great location, beautiful rooms & very helpful & friendly staff.
The hotel is very central, only a few minutes walk from central station & very close to the main street. The rooms are a little small but that is normal for any hotel in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We were on the fifth floor & we had access to the free wifi......
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yodicork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Yodicork,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Positives:

Excellent location less than 5 minutes walk from the central station, near supermarkets, tram links and a one minute walk from the main shopping area of the city centre.

A good quality breakfast serving bacon, eggs, beans, plus continental and juices.

Fast and efficient check in, including a locked luggage area where you receive a receipt for each piece of luggage (and this is checked).

Modern rooms with a decent sized bathroom, recently renovated. Comfortable beds and fluffy pillows.

Negatives:
Bathroom wall is made of glass (if this bothers you, it didn't bother us). You can't see anything at all as it is very frosted through the middle section.

The shower leaked all over the floor. The pressure and temperature of the shower was constantly dipping up and down.

The foot of the bed actually touches the wall and there are no side cabinets to put your drinks on. There are tea and coffee making facilities but these are in a drawer in the desk.

We had no view, a tiny window that overlooked other rooms, and there was nowhere as such to hang clothes, and no drawers.

To be honest I am being very picky as I thought this was one of the nicer hotels that I have stayed in, and it has a lovely reception area that they light candles in where you can buy drinks and sandwiches at all times. I would definitely return to this hotel - we were travelling on a minicruise and it was ideal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mgh_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear mgh_87,

Thank you so much for your extensive review on Tripadvisor. I do realy appreciate that you gave us points to improve as well.

I am glad to hear you liked our service, breakfast and the room. I have given follow on the leakage of the shower. Regarding the glass wall of the bathroom I can say we also offer rooms with a brick wall.

I hope we may welcoming you again in the near future, so I can give you a room on this floor.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

Comfortable and beautiful bedroom, the only inconvenient was the glazed toilet. Good prices, very clean and calm. Polite Staffs, expensive beverages in the check in. Perfect location, close to the station and best city attractions.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivianaun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Vivianaun,

I have just read your review of your stay in our hotel and would like to thank you for your kind words! It was a pleasure having you as our guest, and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future!

Kindest Regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

A nice central location in Amsterdam with good security. the rooms were reasonably large and bright. The chairs in the room were EXCELLENT and gave good support. The room cleanliness by the housekeeping staff could have been better. The room rate seemed to be a little expensive for the value provided.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank r0mmelvalles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
erikjanbausch, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. I am glad to read you have enjoyed your stay at our hotel and liked the design of the room.

I hope we may welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#114 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#69 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Luxer
Hotel Luxer
#62 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#100 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#112 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#25 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#81 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing