We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good, clean and central location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Ranked #102 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
GreenLeadersBronze level
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good, clean and central location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

This hotel was booked for a group of five celebrating a birthday. It is located only a few mins from central station and because it was so well located we didn't need to buy a travel card (albeit at the cost of slightly achy feet and legs but you see far more taking it slow).
We arrived at the hotel at about 11am to a warm and friendly welcome and was surprised to find all our rooms were already clean and ready for us. The rooms are cosy and comfortable and clean. There was a pair of socks left from the previous guest but this was well hidden nod otherwise pleased with the cleanliness. The bathroom is a little odd in that the door and wall have frosted glass in the middle with clear glass along the top and bottom so from certain points of view you could see your partner on the toilet, but again it's clean, and the shower is great. The bed is comfortable but in all our rooms the double beds were two singles pushed together. Our room was silent at night and was lays able to sleep well.
There int a bar as such in the hotel, but instead a couple of large (well presented) fridges with cans of beer, water, chocolates etc and you pay the receptionist.
So in summary, great location, clean and comfortable and very friendly staff. I didn't overly rate the single beds pushed together or the bathroom glass walls and cannot comment on breakfast as we ate out but I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear Tim,

Thank you very much for your writing a review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with your group and you will recommend our hotel to others.

I hope we may welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    862
    308
    66
    46
See reviews for
179
872
112
122
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

i booked this hotel as a deal through booking.com. on arriving at amsterdam central train station it was only a 5 min walk. it was only few minutes walk to the Dam Rack also.
The hotel was very modern and rooms very comfortable. Beds where great! bathroom as you see in the pics has glass door and looks strange in the pics but it is ok no need to see whoever you are with doing a weeeee. haha
rooms are small and cosy just what you need on your trip to the dam well worth the money

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LaurababeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Laura,

Thank you very much for sharing your extensive 5-star review with us and other guests. I am pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and am looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

As a single traveler, I had a good stay. I was lucky and got a true double bed in room 507, not two singles pushed together. I would have been quite unhappy with two twins. When booking, if they cannot guarantee a true double bed, assume you will get two singles. The bed was very comfortable.

I'm not sure why people complain about the glass-enclosed bathroom, as the glass is mostly frosted and therefore affords enough privacy. By being glass-enclosed, it makes the room feel larger.

The room was fairly small. If you plan to spend much time in the room, do not stay here. The only place to sit other than a hard-backed desk chair is the bed.

There was just enough room to store my rolling duffel bag on the bottom shelf of the small closet. A large suitcase would not have fit. There also would not be enough room to unpack clothes of more than one person.

The bathroom lighting was not good for applying makeup or shaving, as the lights shine directly down from the ceiling. I would recommend putting in lights at the sides of the mirror.

Staying on west side of the Dam is preferable to the east side. The street noise, even on the 5th floor, was generally too loud for me to keep the window open.

The restaurants in a 2-block radius of the hotel are average at best. Recommendations from my guidebook of restaurants within a 10 minute walk were all good.

I opted to get the breakfast one morning. Paying the night before gets you a discount. The breakfast was a bit pricy but pretty good; I wouldn't have wanted it every day for the six days I stayed.

Overall, the hotel was clean, comfortable, and a very close walk or tram ride to almost anything you'd want to see in Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Room 507 had a true double bed. Worth inquiring about this when booking. Floors 5 and above are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank whitehatgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear whitehatgirl,

Thank you very much for sharing your extensive review with us and other guests. I am pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us and am looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for one night on "mini cruise trip" with P & O. I thought this hotel was fantastic very modern and centrally located, perfect for exploring Amsterdam. Only problem was that the beds were two singles pushed together with two single covers although the beds were very comfy.
Overall we had a great time in Amsterdam and would use this hotel again if it was cheaper.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sparklestar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Sparklestar,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to read you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We are just back from a 6 day break in Holland, 3 days of which we spent in Amsterdam. The Westcord Hotel is very central, about a 5 minute stroll from central station and literally one minute from Dam Square and the Red light district. The hotel is very modern and the reception staff are friendly. One thing that shocked us a bit on arrival was the €100 deposit and also the city charge which we had to pay. The rooms are unique to say the least!...but all the same very modern and funky. We had a great view out onto the front of the hotel and the room was very bright. The only downside was the beds were two singles pushed together and there were two single blankets on the bed. Overall we had a great stay at the Westcord and would highly recommend this hotel for anyone going in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rossie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear rossie87,

Thank you for much for writing a review on Tripadvisor. I am pleased to read you have enjoyed your stay with us.

Regarding the twin beds I can say we also offer a limited number of double rooms. We try to do our upmost best to take the preferences of our guests in considerartion.

I hope we may welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We had a small but clean and functional room on the fourth floor. Since the room was so small we wondered if it would get noisy during the night (you could hear people in the corridor through the door) but it was no problem. If you're sensitive to noise, you may want to ask for a room that is towards one of the ends of the corridors.

Otherwise everything was fine! Breakfast was good, most personnel friendly (except for one unpleasant lady in the morning) and it's conveniently located near the central station of Amsterdam. Having lived in Amsterdam before, I was aware that it's much quieter in this neighborhood compared to on the other side of the Damrak (towards the red light district - an area I try to avoid if I can).

Room Tip: ask for quiet rooms or rooms furthest away from the elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Esmwoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Esmwoe,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. I am happy to read you have enjoyed your stay and hope to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The hotel is in a good location close to night life and train station. The beds are two single mattress's on a double base everytime I woke up they had seperated and we were laying on the base in the middle very uncomfortable, The bathroom as no privacy due to glass walls and door, not enough wardrobes and drawers and no where to put your cases.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborahc1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EJBAmsterdam, General Manager at WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Dear Deborahc1964,

Thank you for writing a review on Tripadvisor.

I am sorry to read you have slept in a twin bedded room. Our hotel provides both twin and double rooms. However double rooms are limited. For your next stay we will check you in in a double room.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Erik-Jan Bausch
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Centrum
Hotel The Exchange
Hotel The Exchange
#104 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
Hotel Sint Nicolaas
#68 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 763 reviews
Centrum
Inntel Hotels Amsterdam Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Citadel
Hotel Citadel
#128 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 730 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel CC
Hotel CC
#139 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,120 reviews
Centrum
Die Port van Cleve
Die Port van Cleve
#92 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam

Property: WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam
Address: Nieuwezijds Voorburgwal 50, 1012 SC Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Tulip Inn)
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Centrum
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#82 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#88 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam 3*
Number of rooms: 106
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam is a lively three-star hotel in the heart of Amsterdam. Dam Square, Kalverstraat and Haarlemmerdijk are all three minutes away. The hotel has 106 comfortable bedrooms. There is free internet throughout the hotel, and a computer with internet access is available. The hotel has a warm lobby, where you can drink a cup of coffee. In the morning you can enjoy an extensive breakfast buffet in breakfast restaurant Piazza D’Oro.If you’re coming to Amsterdam by car, you can park just outside the door in garage ‘De Kolk’. Trams stop just in front of the hotel, the ideal way to see Amsterdam conveniently. Bicycles. Amsterdam Central Station is five minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your WestCord City Centre Hotel Amsterdam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tulip Inn Amsterdam
Ramada Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing