We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really enjoyed our stay here!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #76 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay here!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

Nice boutique hotel, compact but has everything you need.
Staff are very friendly and the area is great to walk around and people watch. The hustle and bustle of the city centre is not too bad a walk - we walked rather than taking the tram most days.
Definitely recommend staying here!

Room Tip: Sweet little hotel with friendly staff in a great location
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jayla S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    360
    105
    36
    19
See reviews for
101
393
69
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Hickory, Tennessee
Level Contributor
246 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

We stayed four nights in a great corner room on the second floor. It was modern and spacious in a historic building. Very comfortable bed, plenty of towels and hot water. Best of all, the location was perfect for exploring the museum and canal districts. It was a comfortable walk to everything we wanted to see and do.
We did not eat in the breakfast room because the buffet was 20 euros per person, more than we wanted to spend. However, there is a great bakery two blocks away where you can buy excellent coffee, sandwiches. breads and pastries.
Although it is located on a quiet street, two nights we heard loud revelers, so I recommend earplugs. Otherwise, a perfect stay!

Room Tip: Room 201 is large and full of light. Very comfortable with two chairs, good desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GwensGramma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Level Contributor
148 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to stay in Amsterdam as it is located in the Museum Quarter so really handy to walk to museums, markets, city centre. Trams pass close by and good service to hotel from the airport. Lovely room and good breakfast. Reasonably priced for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garfieldBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and were very pleased with the location. Minutes away from the museums and tram stop. The hotel is quite and cozy. Rooms were very clean and the staff is more than happy to accommodate your needs. Internet is not free, but we knew that going in so was not a big deal for us.The beds are by far the most comfortable we have had during our travels through Europe. (Although the pillows are way too soft). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kurt739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam about 8 times, stayed here twice and it is hard to imagine a better location. We are one block from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, and Stedelijk Museum, also the opera house and great park. In fact, we are close to nearly everything you need.

What I needed most was a comfortable bed and pillows, and good coffee in the morning. Thank goodness. This tiny hotel is a find. The most comfortable beds after a long flight, delicious coffee and good breakfast, friendly staff (though my restaurant choices are not theirs), and it is actually more quiet than other reports. No driving on this street, just parking.

Because the weather changes all the time, it is great to be just a skip and jump from museums, delicious restaurants, high level shopping but also the outdoors street market, and the trolly. Not much more you can ask. In fact...what? I am sure there are others, but this is a gem.

Room Tip: Ours is 106...virtually no noise other than rain on the windows and what is not to like about that?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ngiril_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel staff at the Bilderberg went out of their way to get us settled and into our rooms early after our long overnight flight. They were helpful with dining suggestions and English was no problem. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. There was some nighttime noise from the small street at the back of the hotel, but it was Saturday night, and wasn't really a problem. The hotel has a small lift which was welcome as we were in and out 3-4 times a day. Bilderberg's location was perfect for us. About an 8 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh, 10 more to the Concertgebouw and a large grocery store in this residential neighbourhood. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2travelgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was my first visit to Amsterdam, a city I had long wanted to see. My wife and I booked through BA Holidays who offered a wide choice of hotels. Choice is good but can also be bewildering so some research was necessary to avoid disappointment.
The first thing that I realised was that many hotels are near to and therefore convenient for the airport but would be very inconvenient if, like us, your main interest lay in exploring Amsterdam itself. I therefore concentrated my search on accommodation near the centre and looked for hotels with character and comfort rather than five star modern luxury.
It was on this basis that I found and booked the Bilderberg Jan Luyken from where we have recently returned after a three night stay.
I can honestly say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The building itself had, I imagine, consisted originally of several substantial houses that had been acquired and amalgamated into one property, situated on a pleasant residential road. The charm of the building had been preserved but the décor was very tasteful and in good order. The public rooms were small but attractive and the bedroom had all the facilities one could wish for, including fridge and minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, reading lamps, free safe and a slim-line TV with BBC 1 and 2 and, most importantly, the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was modern, stylish and impeccably clean.
Every single member of the staff that we met was friendly and helpful, particularly those at reception, whose English was excellent.
Some reviewers have commented that the breakfasts are expensive at 19 euros and I would tend to agree but we found that the quality was very good and, if you go for a deal like ours, the breakfasts are included. This hotel does not serve evening meals.
The location of the hotel was just right in our opinion, sufficiently away from the noise and bustle of the city centre but just a short tram-ride away from the canals, museums, shops and restaurants . If you are reasonably fit, the centre is within walking distance but the tram stops just at the end of the road and a 24 hour ticket allows you to go anywhere on the network for less than 8 euros. The trams are frequent and modern. From Schiphol Airport to the hotel there is a convenient bus that costs 8 euros each way.
If this is the kind of hotel you like, I am positive that you will not be disappointed. We shall certainly stay again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#49 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 770 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#54 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#75 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 726 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#61 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 189 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Property: Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#51 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing