We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel in quiet but central location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #76 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
belfast
Level Contributor
142 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lovely hotel in quiet but central location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Great place to stay in Amsterdam as it is located in the Museum Quarter so really handy to walk to museums, markets, city centre. Trams pass close by and good service to hotel from the airport. Lovely room and good breakfast. Reasonably priced for Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank garfieldBelfast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

828 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    353
    103
    36
    19
See reviews for
97
388
68
108
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sicily, Italy
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We stayed here 3 nights and were very pleased with the location. Minutes away from the museums and tram stop. The hotel is quite and cozy. Rooms were very clean and the staff is more than happy to accommodate your needs. Internet is not free, but we knew that going in so was not a big deal for us.The beds are by far the most comfortable we have had during our travels through Europe. (Although the pillows are way too soft). Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kurt739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moshi
Level Contributor
123 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2014

I have been to Amsterdam about 8 times, stayed here twice and it is hard to imagine a better location. We are one block from the Rijksmuseum, Van Gogh, and Stedelijk Museum, also the opera house and great park. In fact, we are close to nearly everything you need.

What I needed most was a comfortable bed and pillows, and good coffee in the morning. Thank goodness. This tiny hotel is a find. The most comfortable beds after a long flight, delicious coffee and good breakfast, friendly staff (though my restaurant choices are not theirs), and it is actually more quiet than other reports. No driving on this street, just parking.

Because the weather changes all the time, it is great to be just a skip and jump from museums, delicious restaurants, high level shopping but also the outdoors street market, and the trolly. Not much more you can ask. In fact...what? I am sure there are others, but this is a gem.

Room Tip: Ours is 106...virtually no noise other than rain on the windows and what is not to like about that?
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ngiril_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Manan, Canada
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

The hotel staff at the Bilderberg went out of their way to get us settled and into our rooms early after our long overnight flight. They were helpful with dining suggestions and English was no problem. Our room was large, clean, and comfortable. There was some nighttime noise from the small street at the back of the hotel, but it was Saturday night, and wasn't really a problem. The hotel has a small lift which was welcome as we were in and out 3-4 times a day. Bilderberg's location was perfect for us. About an 8 minute walk to the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh, 10 more to the Concertgebouw and a large grocery store in this residential neighbourhood. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 2travelgeeks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This was my first visit to Amsterdam, a city I had long wanted to see. My wife and I booked through BA Holidays who offered a wide choice of hotels. Choice is good but can also be bewildering so some research was necessary to avoid disappointment.
The first thing that I realised was that many hotels are near to and therefore convenient for the airport but would be very inconvenient if, like us, your main interest lay in exploring Amsterdam itself. I therefore concentrated my search on accommodation near the centre and looked for hotels with character and comfort rather than five star modern luxury.
It was on this basis that I found and booked the Bilderberg Jan Luyken from where we have recently returned after a three night stay.
I can honestly say that this is one of the best hotels I have ever stayed in. The building itself had, I imagine, consisted originally of several substantial houses that had been acquired and amalgamated into one property, situated on a pleasant residential road. The charm of the building had been preserved but the décor was very tasteful and in good order. The public rooms were small but attractive and the bedroom had all the facilities one could wish for, including fridge and minibar, tea and coffee making facilities, iron and ironing board, reading lamps, free safe and a slim-line TV with BBC 1 and 2 and, most importantly, the beds were extremely comfortable. The bathroom was modern, stylish and impeccably clean.
Every single member of the staff that we met was friendly and helpful, particularly those at reception, whose English was excellent.
Some reviewers have commented that the breakfasts are expensive at 19 euros and I would tend to agree but we found that the quality was very good and, if you go for a deal like ours, the breakfasts are included. This hotel does not serve evening meals.
The location of the hotel was just right in our opinion, sufficiently away from the noise and bustle of the city centre but just a short tram-ride away from the canals, museums, shops and restaurants . If you are reasonably fit, the centre is within walking distance but the tram stops just at the end of the road and a 24 hour ticket allows you to go anywhere on the network for less than 8 euros. The trams are frequent and modern. From Schiphol Airport to the hotel there is a convenient bus that costs 8 euros each way.
If this is the kind of hotel you like, I am positive that you will not be disappointed. We shall certainly stay again on our next visit to Amsterdam

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DivadB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

My husband and I stayed here with another couple for two nights before joining our river cruise. Our rooms were small but well appointed, the bathrooms modern and immaculate, and the beds were excellent. The staff at reception were very welcoming and accommodating, and kept our luggage safe, because of course our flight from the US arrived hours before we could check in, and we were invited to rest in the comfortable lounge. The hotel is in a lovely neighborhood near the Museum Plein, about two blocks from the Rijksmuseum in one direction, a block from the Van Gogh museum in the other, and about four blocks from the Concertgebouw. There is no free WiFi, but rates to connect for as little as an hour are reasonable. The staff at reception gave us suggestions for wonderful restaurants for dinner. We would gladly stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IngridRPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Excellent facilities and really helpful staff. We were made very welcome on arrival and given plenty of information about places to visit and local transport.
A very comfortable and spacious room - the only criticism was a small wardrobe!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#45 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,151 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#30 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 753 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#51 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#72 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 713 reviews
377 House - Amsterdam
#66 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Conservatorium Hotel
Conservatorium Hotel
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,039 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Property: Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Address: Jan Luijkenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#50 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing