We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken to your Saves list
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #63 of 357 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Redditch
Level Contributor
150 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Excellent but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Very Nice hotel. Conveniently located in the city centre

It is very clean, has tea an coffee in the room. Nice modern bathroom.

The night porter was very helpful and very friendly as we turned up very late.

There is internet in the hotel but not free. Beware, there is a bottle of 70p water in the room but if you open it, it will cost you 5 euros.

Breakfast is not cheap. 20 Euros, very expensive for 2 fried eggs and 2 hash browns and a bit of fruit (there was cereal also available)

Overall, very nice but not cheap

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NigelBaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

740 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Virginia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were so pleased with this hotel. It was super easy to get to from the airport...4 euros each on the 197 bus. The hotel is a block and a half from the bus stop. It is about 2 blocks from the Rijks Museum and 1 and a half blocks from the Van Gogh. The room was clean, big and comfortable. The staff was SUPER helpful always. There is interenet connection in the lobby for a small price. Obviously, we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CocoBeans1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Tasmania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The Jan Luyken is beautifully situated for the cultural traveller, close to the Rijksmuseum, van Gogh Museum,Stedelijk Museum and the Concertgebouw. It's also an easy walk to the Old City. The hotel is comfortable and the staff are friendly and helpful. There are pleasant cafes and restaurants nearby too. I very much enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RueduBac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The top location was the main reason to book here.
It came at a price of 150,00 per night for a double; well for that money I would have thought to have the breakfast included, but no.
Having overcome that, arriving at the room at the 4 th floor, I had 2 surprises awaiting me: the ridiculous charge of 5 euro for a small plastic bottle of water.
Please do not do that!!!!
The bath and shower in one, was dangerous to get out from and you had to stay really close to the wall to get the water over you.
Please attach a handhold.
In these times it is unreasonable to charge a too big amount for wifi,should be free no!

Room Tip: Choose a room at the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank imebres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, plus is close to the canal area. A real bonus is that it is also just 5 minutes walk to the 197 bus stop - only 4 euros and 30-45 mins from/to Schipol airport. It is also 2 minutes from the 'designer label' shopping street. So fabulous location.

A warm welcome from the receptionist - as we arrived at 11am (we did not expect the room to be ready ... but he offered the room to be available wiithin a hour). He stored our bags and gave us a map plus 10% discount coupon for the blue canal boat tour - but we decided not to return to late afternoon. We would not recommend the canal boat tour - we found the commentary is a bit trivial at times and overly long at 75 minutes.

On our return our room was ready - on booking we had opted for a package of superior room, breakfast, wifi included plus dinner. Room was large (for a city hotel), modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a very sound night's sleep in the comfortable bed - in fact we overslept! Breakfast was good with hot (3 items) and cold buffet. All staff were were equally pleasant. The hotel bar was good value too.

Hotel sells tickets for the Rijksmuseum without a markup so we missed the massive queues - well worth getting there before 10am. Audio tour is well worth taking.

So bottom line a great hotel, nice people and super location. I would definitely stay again but not have a dinner package (see below).

Dinner package: I did not realize on booking that dinner was in the sister hotel - OK I missed the small print - which we were told is a 15 minute walk away (away from the city centre). After a day sight seeing we did not feel like walking - so spent 9 euros each way on a taxi. The restaurant at the Bilderberg Garden hotel was fairly quiet - the menu was limited to a set (no choice) 3 courses but the waitress agreed to let us change to a different starter at no additional cost. The food tasted superb and was very well presented. Wine was expensive - as it is in hotels - some 32 Euros for a Pinot Grigot. As you would guess there are multitudes of restaurants closer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIYBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South West
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I visited The Bilderberg Hotel this weekend, we booked the hotel through Expedia & my track record with booking accomodation isn't great so our expectations were modest but wow what a suprise we had, the lobby area is really nice and the staff at the reception desk were very friendly, she gave us a map and pointed out all the popular tourist attractions which came in very handy during our stay. I agree the rooms are a little on the small side but there are a few English channels available on the TV, tea/coffee facilities and the bed was incredibly comfortable & to be honest if you spend alot of time in your room in Amsterdam you are seriously missing out. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on this but the hotel was decorated beautifully, it was very clean and the staff were accomodating, what more could you ask for...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucandkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel locates in street behind the Van Gogh Museum. It is very easy to locate, you wont get lose to get back there. The room is pretty small but that's great to have a lift. The staff are helpful and well-organized.

It is a bit disappointed that there are no free wifi in the lobby area. I would not recommend you to have breakfast there as there are very limited choices and little varieties. I stayed there for four days, everyday serve the same food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#39 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 638 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#53 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#54 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Toren
The Toren
#1 of 357 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 2,029 reviews
Hotel De Hallen
#28 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 417 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
NH Amsterdam Museum Quarter
#107 of 357 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 stars 1,218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#43 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#56 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, EasyToBook, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing