We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great hotel for visiting the Rijksmuseum and exploring the city” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #88 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great hotel for visiting the Rijksmuseum and exploring the city”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

The hotel is within 5 minutes walk of the Rijksmuseum and the Van Gogh museum, plus is close to the canal area. A real bonus is that it is also just 5 minutes walk to the 197 bus stop - only 4 euros and 30-45 mins from/to Schipol airport. It is also 2 minutes from the 'designer label' shopping street. So fabulous location.

A warm welcome from the receptionist - as we arrived at 11am (we did not expect the room to be ready ... but he offered the room to be available wiithin a hour). He stored our bags and gave us a map plus 10% discount coupon for the blue canal boat tour - but we decided not to return to late afternoon. We would not recommend the canal boat tour - we found the commentary is a bit trivial at times and overly long at 75 minutes.

On our return our room was ready - on booking we had opted for a package of superior room, breakfast, wifi included plus dinner. Room was large (for a city hotel), modern, clean, comfortable and quiet. We had a very sound night's sleep in the comfortable bed - in fact we overslept! Breakfast was good with hot (3 items) and cold buffet. All staff were were equally pleasant. The hotel bar was good value too.

Hotel sells tickets for the Rijksmuseum without a markup so we missed the massive queues - well worth getting there before 10am. Audio tour is well worth taking.

So bottom line a great hotel, nice people and super location. I would definitely stay again but not have a dinner package (see below).

Dinner package: I did not realize on booking that dinner was in the sister hotel - OK I missed the small print - which we were told is a 15 minute walk away (away from the city centre). After a day sight seeing we did not feel like walking - so spent 9 euros each way on a taxi. The restaurant at the Bilderberg Garden hotel was fairly quiet - the menu was limited to a set (no choice) 3 courses but the waitress agreed to let us change to a different starter at no additional cost. The food tasted superb and was very well presented. Wine was expensive - as it is in hotels - some 32 Euros for a Pinot Grigot. As you would guess there are multitudes of restaurants closer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DIYBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    338
    390
    120
    36
    21
See reviews for
110
419
80
114
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
South West
Level Contributor
60 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

My husband & I visited The Bilderberg Hotel this weekend, we booked the hotel through Expedia & my track record with booking accomodation isn't great so our expectations were modest but wow what a suprise we had, the lobby area is really nice and the staff at the reception desk were very friendly, she gave us a map and pointed out all the popular tourist attractions which came in very handy during our stay. I agree the rooms are a little on the small side but there are a few English channels available on the TV, tea/coffee facilities and the bed was incredibly comfortable & to be honest if you spend alot of time in your room in Amsterdam you are seriously missing out. We didn't have breakfast so I can't comment on this but the hotel was decorated beautifully, it was very clean and the staff were accomodating, what more could you ask for...

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lucandkag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

This hotel locates in street behind the Van Gogh Museum. It is very easy to locate, you wont get lose to get back there. The room is pretty small but that's great to have a lift. The staff are helpful and well-organized.

It is a bit disappointed that there are no free wifi in the lobby area. I would not recommend you to have breakfast there as there are very limited choices and little varieties. I stayed there for four days, everyday serve the same food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NatureLoverVV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2013

I stayed in this hotel from the 17th september till the 23rd september. My stay was on the whole satisfactory. The staff were reasonably helpful and pleasent. Breakfast was ok,though sometimes abit too busy for the staff. The barman was attentive and friendly. I found that having to pay for the internet which worked very badly abit excessive. But overall not bad.

Room Tip: First floor front was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2013

We had a party of 8 people at this hotel. Everyone loved it. The location is perfect - close to museums and high end shopping, on a quiet leafy green street. The staff was very nice and helpful. We would definately stay there again.

Room Tip: Be sure to book a queen bed or you might get a "standard" which is a full size bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alekna626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brunswick georgia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

This lovely old Amsterdam hotel is located on a quiet tree lines street in the museum quarter. the rooms are a bit small, but very comfortable and very clean. The staff was most helpful with any questions and helping with directions airport transfers .. We were within walking distance of a tourist bureau which organized many different tours of Holland. We walked to the boat tour, museums, many good eating establishments, and grocery store and many wonderful shops and chocolatiers. We would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryn_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

This is a boutique hotel located in the museum district. The city of Amsterdam is very compact, as such every thing is within easy walking distance or tram ride. The location is simply superb between wold class museums and upscale shopping.
The desk staff is very knowledgeable, friendly to a fault, helpful at every turn. The 5 story hotel itself is a conversion of 3 18th century houses. My room was very small. However there is a lift and with such a location, the package was just fine.
Our room had a nice view of the Rijksmuseum, a short walk made this world class museum a treat we did not pass by. The Van Gogh museum is the same 3 block walk a different direction.
One block beyond the Van Gogh museum is an ultra modern (and literally underground grocery store). With the high cost of meals, a welcome relief as restaurant meals can be pricy.
I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a larger room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#32 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#55 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#60 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dikker & Thijs Fenice Hotel
#64 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#143 of 362 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 907 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Property: Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#59 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing