We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tourist charge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Ranked #81 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tourist charge”
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel. Excellent location if you want to visit the art museums. It was clean, tidy and most of the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had only booked the room before going, but on arrival, were told, if we booked to have breakfast the night before, it would be 15 Euros each. A bit pricey, but we decided we would opt for it on the first day. When checking out and settling the outstanding bill, we were shocked to find we were charged 30 Euros each for the breakfast. When we queried the figure, we were told it was 'tourist tax' and quite standard. Personally, I have never come across 100% tourist tax. So my advice is 'beware'. Unfortunately, it left a bad taste - excuse pun - from what had been an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    378
    419
    134
    38
    22
See reviews for
126
469
85
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2013

No double bed as requested, staff gave no information on check in as dealing with another clients personal laptop.
On check out had to wait whilst information given to non residents about bike hire.
Excellent location but room was very small with two light bulbs that didn't work

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Excellent hotel in quiet street, 5 min away from the main museums. 3 min away from bus 197 stop that departs from the airport and is cheap. Room small but plaisant and comfortable. Good beds. Modern and clean bathroom. Personnel plaisant and helpful. Retired couple

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rose-marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This is a small hotel in a quiet district. Our room and bathroom were large by European standards. The reception personnel was friendly and very helpful. Room cleanliness was good. Beds were very comfortable. Price of the room was reasonable. However, if you stay at that hotel, you may want to watch for some much higher prices for options such as breakfast which is pricey and small water bottle (5 euros!!!).
Conveniently located:, Take a city bus from the airport to one block from the hotel; at the same location, take a tram to the city core; take a walk to the Vondel park or visit two of the main Amsterdam museums within a few hundred feet from the hotel. Many reasonably priced restaurants can be found nearby. .

Room Tip: Our room was overlooking the back and was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wildcat65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed for 3 nights to celebrate my birthday. We are a couple in our early 30s from the UK.

Positives:
-very clean
-good location (close to the tramline)
-nice area (seems very residential and not at all touristy, which is what we liked)

Negatives:
-expensive breakfast (15 Eur pp, we found a bagel shop around 3 mins away that was amazing)
-they gave us two join beds (we had booked a double room)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTS-82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Friendly kind helpful staff, a very spacious 'superior' room, and very easy access to local transport and world class museums. This hotel is located in a quiet charming and elegant street. Its facilities of bar, and lounge are very good.

Room Tip: Choose a superior room if it is available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank claire913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel is in a fabulous location - Bus 197 straight from the airport stops very close, loads of trams and a walk to the sights...however..
The hotel is positioned on a pretty busy crossroads and unfortunately we were given Room 1 which is on the ground floor with windows (with no added sound proofing) overlooking the roads. Having had a late night we were awoken at 6.00am by delivery trucks, lorries reversing, cars, motorbikes etc. Totally ruined our stay.
A real shame as the room was very comfortable and clean but we had hoped for a lie-in.
The breakfast is pretty pricey...probably cheaper nearby.

Room Tip: Avoid any room on the ground floor (Rooms 1-5) but particularly Room 1.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LeonyG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Aalders
Hotel Aalders
#52 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,273 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel JL No76
Hotel JL No76
#29 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 985 reviews
Vondelpark
Hotel Roemer
Hotel Roemer
#72 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 715 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
Max Brown Hotel Museum Square
#122 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,026 reviews
Dikker & Thijs Hotel
#59 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Fita
Hotel Fita
#13 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken

Property: Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken
Address: Jan Luykenstraat 58, 1071 CS Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Amsterdam
#38 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#54 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#55 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#87 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Jan Luyken is a boutique hotel which is located at the heart of the lively museum district in Amsterdam, opposite the Rijksmuseum, Stedelijk Museum and Van Gogh Museum. This charming and extremely welcoming hotel is the perfect base for exploring the city where there is always something going on. The famous P.C. Hooftstraat, renowned for its glamorous shops, and the relaxed Vondelpark are just around the corner too. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Bilderberg Hotel Jan Luyken reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bilderberg Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing