We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good old fashioned service and hospitality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“Good old fashioned service and hospitality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2009

I booked my parents into my local hotel in Amsterdam which I use frequently for my business guests. They were both delighted with the welcome and level of service, which is especially important as my father has mobility difficulties. The staff at the Toren made them feel very comfortable and even arranged a wheelchair for my father. The Toren overlooks the Keizersgracht so is both quiet and central. I will continue to direct my friends, family and business guests there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank matthepburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,934
    334
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
221
1,433
161
138
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2009

We stayed two nights at the Toren in mid-June 2009. The entire hotel seems to have been designed to evoke a feeling of being in a hipper-than-thou lounge bar or nightclub. Right from walking into the little lobby, it is all dark velvet drapes, scarlet and purple wallpaper, black desks and chandeliers, and a general feeling of deliberately hip gloominess. We absolutely hated it.

Our room in the annex to the hotel [the hotel is split into two buildings, 164 and 146 Keizersgracht] smelt musty and the bed linens did not feel fresh. The carpets are thick pile, the duvets on the bed are thick velvet in black and red, and both of them felt dusty and a bit dirty. There was a black chandelier right above the bed, giving a very dungeon-like atmosphere. The bathroom was adequate, with a powerful shower, and the toiletries by Rituals were excellent.

The hotel staff was friendly enough and we received prompt and cheerful help with our bags and at checkout. We have no complaints about the staff or the amenities of the hotel. In fact, the location was fantastic with an excellent Thai restaurant just around the corner. We just absolutely despised the decor, and as this hotel ages [some signs of aging are already visible], it is not going to be a graceful proceess.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thegourmandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Superior, CO
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2009

Overall, I LOVED this hotel! I stayed in the Annex, which is about half block from the main building. I had a double room for 2 days, then a single for the remainder of my stay. Overall, VERY impressed. The first single I was in was not the best location (right next to the elevator) and therefore noisy, but I was able to move to a different room without issue.

The rooms are very comfortable, and the single rooms are large by European standards with oversize single beds. I would recommend earplugs as the building is very old, so sound does tend to travel through the floors. The rooms are also clean, have an espresso machine in each room, and also have internet available for a small fee. The rooms are a bit dark, but not bad - it is really relaxing. Be aware that there are no elevators (at least not in the Annex), and the stairs are narrow given the building style.

The location can not be beat - 5 minute walk to the Anne Frank House, and 10 minute walk to Dam Square, Centraal Station and Royal Palace. Very easy to get a tram to anywhere you want to go within a 5 minute walk. The hotel is on a quaint canal, and the area is not noisy like the hotels on Dam square. The restaurants close by are more upscale, but I was able to find nice neighborhood restaurants in a 5 minute walk.

Staff is incredible - very accomodating, polite and knowledeable. I did not try the restaurant while I was a guest, but it looked very inviting.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kaley1kt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2009

We were met on arrival by friendly, helpful staff, who showed us to a very luxurious room with loads of style and character as well as great facilities. We know Amsterdam very well, and have to say that the location is superb; quiet enough to be relaxing, close enough to the centre to be a pleasure to walk to any destination, and in an area dotted with lovely restaurants and small art galleries. Our honeymoon was made doubly relaxing by the lovely peace and quiet, fabulous shower, and otherwise brilliant hotel. Not a bad word to say about any of it! Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Toren for 3 nights in early May. It was our first trip to Amsterdam and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Our room was small (very typical European size) by American standard but clean, cozy and elegantly decorated. The location was wonderful, away from the urban grittiness of being in the city centre but close enough to walk to all the touristy sites. Many wonderful cafes, restaurant and shops nearby. Staff was extremely helpful in getting us museum tickets, restaurant reservations, cabs, etc. Definitely will recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
221 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2009

Arriving from North America at 6:00 AM can be disorientating. However, the Hotel Toren helped tremendously make our transition to Holland a pleasant one.

We arrived at the hotel about 8:00 AM and they were more than gracious, offering us breakfast, restroom facilities, storage for our luggage, and travel hints for the day.

When we returned in the afternoon to complete our check in, they offered us several choices including an upgrade to a junior suite. Everyone was helpful and they suggested a marvelous restaurant (De Tour) for our dinner.

I had stayed there last about 20 years ago when the hotel was just beginning its upgrade. The progress has been stunning although the price increase has accompanied the upgrade in facilities.

There could not be a better location or a more welcoming environment for a first day or two in the Netherlands. And, indeed, not only is it convenient to trams, canal boats, and museums, it can be reached by an easy ten minute walk from the Centraal Station.

And be sure to note that it is literally on a canal. Everyone's picture of what Holland is like the Hotel Toren fulfills. Yes, the price is a bit steep but it is a "Dream of Holland" come true.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,195 reviews
364 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,741 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2009

The Toren Hotel is located on the canal a brief stroll to Anne Franks House and approx 5 min walk into the Dam Square. The hotel is housed in a charming old building which sits proudly on the canal avenue.

Check-in – Fast, efficient and totally professional.

Room – On arrival we were disappointed with the small size of the room. We had large suitcases which just squeezed in making it very squashy. However, the room 223 was tastefully furnished but lacked natural light. In the middle of the room was a massive spa bath which sat next to the walk-in shower. Basically, we found the room too small. Coffee and tea facilities and internet connection were also supplied.

Breakfast – was served in the main sitting room which was sufficient with cooked eggs and pastries. Dinner was offered at Restaurant Christopher just around the corner from The Toren Hotel. There are a few good quality restaurants to be found around the area just ask the concierge for suggestions.

Staff – The best !! and a credit to this establishment. Nothing was a problem and at all times they were polite, gracious, cultured and ready to please.

Overall – a small intimate and romantic hotel with excellent staff, the hotel would certainly suit B&B lovers . We also enjoyed having evening drinks at the cosy warm bar. Apart from the size of the room we thought the hotel to offer a comfortable stay although it’s a little pricey.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 893 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing