We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Gorgeous, friendly, relaxing hotel; perfect honeymoon destination!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 361 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hereford, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Gorgeous, friendly, relaxing hotel; perfect honeymoon destination!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2009

We were met on arrival by friendly, helpful staff, who showed us to a very luxurious room with loads of style and character as well as great facilities. We know Amsterdam very well, and have to say that the location is superb; quiet enough to be relaxing, close enough to the centre to be a pleasure to walk to any destination, and in an area dotted with lovely restaurants and small art galleries. Our honeymoon was made doubly relaxing by the lovely peace and quiet, fabulous shower, and otherwise brilliant hotel. Not a bad word to say about any of it! Perfect!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlueFairie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,421 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,028
    344
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
239
1,502
163
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (555)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2009

My husband and I stayed at The Toren for 3 nights in early May. It was our first trip to Amsterdam and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Our room was small (very typical European size) by American standard but clean, cozy and elegantly decorated. The location was wonderful, away from the urban grittiness of being in the city centre but close enough to walk to all the touristy sites. Many wonderful cafes, restaurant and shops nearby. Staff was extremely helpful in getting us museum tickets, restaurant reservations, cabs, etc. Definitely will recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slvc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Dakota
Level Contributor
233 reviews
112 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2009

Arriving from North America at 6:00 AM can be disorientating. However, the Hotel Toren helped tremendously make our transition to Holland a pleasant one.

We arrived at the hotel about 8:00 AM and they were more than gracious, offering us breakfast, restroom facilities, storage for our luggage, and travel hints for the day.

When we returned in the afternoon to complete our check in, they offered us several choices including an upgrade to a junior suite. Everyone was helpful and they suggested a marvelous restaurant (De Tour) for our dinner.

I had stayed there last about 20 years ago when the hotel was just beginning its upgrade. The progress has been stunning although the price increase has accompanied the upgrade in facilities.

There could not be a better location or a more welcoming environment for a first day or two in the Netherlands. And, indeed, not only is it convenient to trams, canal boats, and museums, it can be reached by an easy ten minute walk from the Centraal Station.

And be sure to note that it is literally on a canal. Everyone's picture of what Holland is like the Hotel Toren fulfills. Yes, the price is a bit steep but it is a "Dream of Holland" come true.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IowaGrandparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,302 reviews
371 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3,863 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2009

The Toren Hotel is located on the canal a brief stroll to Anne Franks House and approx 5 min walk into the Dam Square. The hotel is housed in a charming old building which sits proudly on the canal avenue.

Check-in – Fast, efficient and totally professional.

Room – On arrival we were disappointed with the small size of the room. We had large suitcases which just squeezed in making it very squashy. However, the room 223 was tastefully furnished but lacked natural light. In the middle of the room was a massive spa bath which sat next to the walk-in shower. Basically, we found the room too small. Coffee and tea facilities and internet connection were also supplied.

Breakfast – was served in the main sitting room which was sufficient with cooked eggs and pastries. Dinner was offered at Restaurant Christopher just around the corner from The Toren Hotel. There are a few good quality restaurants to be found around the area just ask the concierge for suggestions.

Staff – The best !! and a credit to this establishment. Nothing was a problem and at all times they were polite, gracious, cultured and ready to please.

Overall – a small intimate and romantic hotel with excellent staff, the hotel would certainly suit B&B lovers . We also enjoyed having evening drinks at the cosy warm bar. Apart from the size of the room we thought the hotel to offer a comfortable stay although it’s a little pricey.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2009

It was a very pleasant surprise that a pretty small hotel is offering you facilities that you won't find in well known hotels. After may stay to The Toren I have decided that I won't chose in the future for 4 or 5 * hotels with big names. It doesn't worth it. Hotels similar to The Torren are the best choise anytime.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianFlorea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2009

My wife and i have invited 12 of our best friends for 4 days to Amsterdam for the occasion of our 25 year marriage. It has been a great success also because of the fact that we stayed in Hotel The Toren. The service and friendlyness we have received here was super. As a very experienced arround the world traveller i must admit that this is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in. The room, the personnel, the service etc etc was of a very high standard and we surely want to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keesbreda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We had a terrific stay at The Toren. While the room was (European) small it was beautifully appointed with a nice bathroom. Bathtub was large and bubble baths were the order of the day after walk, walk, walking all over Amsterdam. Staff was excellent and had friendly suggestions of things to do and how to get there. Nespresso machine in the room was also a BIG HIT with us. Stephen in the bar was very funny and very accommodating. No constructive comments for improvement. Everything was wonderful. A little pricey by American standards but worth it! We will be going back soon!

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 769 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#2 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,275 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 361 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 969 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 361 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Expedia so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing