We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Perfection and Position” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perfection and Position”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2014

We stayed in this beautiful hotel for 4 nights. Let me first comment about the staff in reception. The blonde lady is an example of what makes this hotel so good. On arrival she explained that we were in town for the gay pride event which made the area around the hotel busy. She explained the location of the best restaurants and even helped with tram travel requirements. Whenever we had a query nothing was too much. Others have described the hotel and its rooms so I won't repeat that. There are many and varied restaurants around the hotel all within easy walking distance. The hotels position is the best you can get in town. It is close to everything you would wish to see. Personally I would not stay anywhere else in Amsterdam. Have a drink in the bar. The barman is such good fun and you meet many guests from all parts of the world. Wow what fun.

Room Tip: Get as large a room as your budget can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,381 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,992
    340
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
232
1,476
162
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (549)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

My wife and I finished our 25th wedding anniversary trip with a weekend in Amsterdam. We stayed in the garden suite at The Torren and it was fantastic. The room was luxurious, great customer service and the location perfect. We were able to walk everywhere and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ANJSFK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Fl., USA
Level Contributor
132 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2014

We arrived at 9:30 am from our river cruising. Our reservations, canal view room, were not available until 1pm so they gave us a complimentary upgrade to an executive suite. What a room! Incredible setup. The room consisted of three different areas: the entrance or living area, separated by a door from the bedroom, separated from the bathroom with a sliding curtain. In the ceiling window shades to black the skylights. An unusual lighting system with a switch at the entrance with different selections for ambience, from daylight to romantic. The on off controlled from a bed switch that took some time to learn. Only one way action will turn lights off and when pressed again on. The AC was remotely controlled. In the bathroom I could not find the sink faucets, but finally found them under and part of a shelf on top of sink. The shower had two separate ceiling mounted shower heads for 2 people to take their bath. It also had an electronically controlled steam bath. And the toilet was incredible. It will clean, wash, dry and massage you. It really did. All this technology took time to learn and we were there for only 2 days. So we had to ask for help and Sebastian will show up in less than 3 minutes. Awesome service.
The hotel also had a small restaurant, decorated in a nice, elegant subdued manner with lots of dark wood, where they served you breakfast and a light lunch. The hotel also recommended nearby restaurants that the owner had visited. If he did not know about it he would not recommend it. Also, on the last day they gave us complimentary breakfast.
The overall technological systems were difficult to operate at first, until you became familiar with them This was the only drawback. But the impeccable and fast service made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Josebsan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton Parish, Bermuda
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2014

My husband and I stayed here from Aug 7th to 10th.It is our second time to stay and this time we opted for a garden view room rather than the canal view. It was newly renovated and absolutely wonderful. The staff as always were fabulous, so friendly. My favorite thing about the Toren is the location, everywhere in the city is easily accessible by foot. I would not think about staying anywhere else and highly recommend...

Room Tip: Garden View - so peaceful after a hectic day sighseeing
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank celticcharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel - the hotel is built out of two, adjoining, typical row houses. But there's nothing typical once you enter. The decor is luscious. The rooms are unique. The bar and breakfast area are lush *and* comfortable.

Very friendly staff - our friends at the reservation desk went over the top with their recommendations for us and helping book tickets to the Rijksmuseum. The doormen and bar/ breakfast staff were friendly, engaging, and helpful. Everyone went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable.The services across the board is top-notch.

They're located about a 10min walk from Centraal Station and in a quiet neighborhood - but close to sights, restaurants, and nightlife.

I'm looking forward to returning!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank davedahl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in the Toren the last week in July. From the moment we arrived the service was exceptional. Everyone was so friendly and genuinely helpful. Champagne & chocolates was in the room on arrival (wknd was for celebration). Breakfast wasn't included but when checking out it was given complimentary!! Food was delicious and the room was so quiet and comfortable. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough. Everything from the happy staff to the best pillows ever!! Will definitely stay here again next visit and will be sure to recommend to friends!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Lovesholz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

We chose The Toren based on the ratings and reviews on TripAdvisor, and I want to echo all the positive comments already here for the hotel. The staff uphold the hotel’s commitment to provide its guests fantastic customer service. Although our room was not ready when we arrived, our bags were waiting for us in our room when we returned later in the day to check in. Stemmed glasses of chocolates and fresh strawberries were in our room, as well as a wonderful collection of bathroom products from Rituals. The front desk is more than happy to recommend a number of restaurants within walking distance from the hotel, including their favorite places for lunch or coffee (and apple pie). We have only stayed once at The Toren, however it will be the only hotel we choose to stay when traveling to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We stayed in the original building but I cannot imagine any room in the hotel not being good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 705 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#11 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing