We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommend”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2014

Fabulous location in Amsterdam near Anne Frank House, nestled in between the quaint old Jordaan neighborhood, the main canal-crossing shopping streets and the famous town square. The service was unbelievable -- absolutely the most helpful and friendly I've ever experienced. Oh, and the rooms are beautiful too! Not cheap, but "affordable luxury". Only complaint was the sporadic WiFi, but this has plagued us during our entire 3 weeks in France, Netherlands, Germany and Switzerland.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abattenhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
There are newer reviews for The Toren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,087 - 1,093 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2014

During our visit to Amsterdam in mid-July, 2014, we stayed at the Toren, which is a hotel that we have stayed a number of times during the past 25 years. We have always enjoyed our time there and have found the management to be very helpful during our stays. During this stay, our room was in the hotel annex, a few doors down from the main building.

The owners have made a number of modern upgrades to the hotel over the years although I have to admit I did like the charm of the old Toren. The hotel is in an excellent location, just around the corner from the Anne Frank House, and is easily reached from the train station via tram. The facility faces a canal and the setting is very nice and quiet in the evenings. There are a number of very good restaurants and cafes just a few minutes walk away. On this visit, our room had a large Jacuzzi tub separated from the sleeping area by a curtain. To be honest, it reminded me a little of Las Vegas. There was also a shower that opened into the Jacuzzi tub area but not a lot of privacy except for the curtain which had to be drawn back and forth. The state-of-the art coffee maker in the room was a nice feature, but there was not much room for suitcases and personal belongings and we were traveling light with carry-on bags only. The overall service was very good and the room was very clean. We would stay there again but we would probably request a different room layout.

Room Tip: If you do not necessarily want a Jacuzzi in the middle of the room, make sure you let the management...
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Hotel Location: Perfect on a beautiful canal. You can walk to any zone. About 8 minutes from Plaza Damm and next to the Anne Frank House. Nearby there are many bars, restaurants and shops.

Room: Not very big, something ornate, luxurious, with a relaxing hot tub in the middle of the room. Garden terrace later. Comfortable bed, good quality and varied amenities. Nespresso coffee free. Towels and great linens. Cleaning and proper soundproofing.

Hotel Bar: Perfect way to end the day with a drink in their seats and surprisingly relaxing and inviting decor. Here with good breakfast pastries, some hot food, cold meats, coffee and correct bad juices is served. For breakfast we usually do the Spaniards, more than enough.

Hotel Staff: Friendly, friendly and willing to answer questions at all times...!

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edwards t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2014

Thanks to all the reviews, we stayed here for three nights. I loved the location in the Jordaan area. The hotel is on a canal and we were able to walk everywhere. We were in the annex with views in the back of the hotel. It was wonderful. We enjoyed the neighborhood feel. It is only blocks from the Anne Frank House and canal tours. It was a 20 min walk to the major museums. The streets in this area seem safe. I would stay here again, and I like luxury.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank zoecatCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2014

Excellent!
We reserved the biggest room. It was located a few houses further away than the actual hotel and suited several other rooms. Ours was located on the back of the building, had big windows, a massive bed with a lot of pillows, coffee and tea making facilities, a big bathroom downstairs with a bubble bath, plenty of towels,.. heavenly!
Nice restaurants closeby.
1 remark, there is practically no parking, but thats the problem in whole Amsterdam. Parking rates are dull.

Room Tip: Take the biggest room, you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank T-Renske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

This hotel was a block from the Anne Frank House, which was perfect because that was on our list while we were in Amsterdam. (See my recommendation on arrival at the Anne Frank House). The room was very unique and great in size. We had a view that faced the river and was very pretty during the evening times with the street lights. The shower was great and also included a very large jacuzzi tub. You can also rent bikes [a MUST] right from the hotel for a full 24hrs which was very convenient and perfect for our 2 day stay.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the river are large and sunny.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank megm20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2014

We arrived home from our month long holiday to find an email from the owners of this wonderful holiday, thanking us for staying at their hotel. Somehow we were not surprised as from the time you enter this lovely hotel, the staff are amazing, the best we've ever encountered in many years of travelling. We had a lovely spa suite looking on to a garden in the heart of downtown Amsterdam. Just 10 minutes casual walk from Dam Square and on a major canal, this hotel is perfect for a city stay. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff. the rooms are very comfortable with even an expresso coffee machine, the breakfast is very good and it was always a delight to return to after a day of sightseeing.We will definitely only stay here when we return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We had room #6.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BarbSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,324 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $243 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing