We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SUPERB!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“SUPERB!”
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Well what can i say apart from absolutely superb from arriving to departing. Myself and my wife stayed here for two nights in the garden room. What started out a nightmare when easy jet decided to send me a text 2 and a half hours before departure that our flight was cancelled so it was a mad rush to book a Eurostar for the journey it was well worth the trip. Upon arrival we were greeted in reception by a very helpful and friendly receptionist when we were brought to our room which was located at the back of the hotel in the room they had left us a bottle of champagne, strawberries and chocolates all complimentary because i had mentioned on the booking form that it was our anniversary.The room itself was out of this world from the mood lighting to the jacuzzi and the smart toilet. The ceiling had skylights that could be opened and we also had our own private patio area. I would throughly recommend this hotel and would say its is one of the nicest friendliest hotels i have ever stayed in full stop. The lunch by the way was superb as well i would give this hotel a 12 out of ten what more can i say apart from the bar and cocktails are wicked too!!

Room Tip: garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JASON F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,103
    360
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
253
1,555
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Haarlem, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

After my original plans for my boyfriend's birthday got ruined by weather, I searched for a place where we could have fun and have a romantic evening. Firstly, staff were very friendly, helped me with my birthday arrangements ( brought my birthday cake and they brought it to the room). I had been arranging it all very last minute and they were immediately involved and very helpful. The room was amazing!!! The service too! When I arrived with my boyfriend who didn't know about anything, all staff played along and made us both feel very special. And the jacuzzi!!!! It was AMAZING!!! We had so much fun because I put some "romantic" incense in the bath but with jacuzzi we got drowned in foam and we ended up having a great foam party:-D It was an experience to remember and I am very thankful to all staff who helped me to create a very special evening for my boyfriend. Thank you!

Room Tip: deffititely a room with jacuzzi, romantic suites are a bit more costly but definitely worth the mone...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zuzidlopp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

The toren is an amazing hotel every time! Never fails to make me feel comfortable and in a great location. The staff is always helpful and is attentive to your needs. The owners are also very nice and make sure you are assured happiness and satisfaction! I will always stay at the toren. The most recent time I was there, it was my fiancées birthday. The owners were so kind and thoughtful to give us a great present in the room a lovely bottle of Moët, strawberries, and chocolates. Thanks again. I will definitely return. Wonderful stay. Pure satisfaction!!

Room Tip: The canal rooms have a wonderful view! But you can't go wrong at the toren!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

Dear Eric & Petra Toren and staff,
It is with great pleasure that we write and thank-you again for the wonderful stay we had at your lovely boutique hotel. My husband's surprise ‘birthday breakfast' of Eggs Benedict was a delightful bonus to our whole experience. We do so appreciate all that you did to make our stay a most enjoyable one. We certainly also appreciate all the extra effort your chef dedicated to create a breakfast to our wishes.
Your staff was always most willing to help with our every need and the room was just a delight, elegant and most comfortable with a very relaxing outside garden terrace.
Thank you. With much appreciation to all.
Warm regards,
Gilbert & Roberta - Naples, Florida

Room Tip: The Junior Suite #107 was a perfect spot with it's own terrace area. Unless you absolutely must...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Hotel located half hour walk (with suitcases) from Central Station. Property elegantly decorated throughout and rooms well equipped and reasonably sized by European standards. Staff in all areas are outstandingly helpful and courteous. We were celebrating our 40th Wedding Anniversary and received a delightful surprise gift of Moet, strawberries and chocolates. Would highly recommend but not cheap.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chez549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, OH
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

Service A+. Room very small but very clean and good shower. We are discerning travelers and opted for a small boutique hotel for our visit to Amsterdam. We were not disappointed. Very good location, service was second to none. Breakfast included. 10 min walk to train station, 30 to major museums, 10-20 mins to almost anywhere else you'd want to go. We'd stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank cuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Toren. We had high expectations, which were more than met. We have sought out small, charming hotels in our travels and have had the good fortune to find several hotels in the world’s most enjoyable cities. We look for romantic atmosphere and decor, excellence in service, and convenience of the location to sites of interest and public transportation. We are pleased to add The Toren to our personal list of favorite hotels.

The Toren staff is remarkably service oriented and will take the initiative to cater to your desires.

Room Tip: We suggest the canal view rooms for true Amsterdam atmosphere with luxury appointments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RWCreswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 915 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,210 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,010 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing