We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great European boutique in good location”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 5, 2014

Service A+. Room very small but very clean and good shower. We are discerning travelers and opted for a small boutique hotel for our visit to Amsterdam. We were not disappointed. Very good location, service was second to none. Breakfast included. 10 min walk to train station, 30 to major museums, 10-20 mins to almost anywhere else you'd want to go. We'd stay here again if we return to Amsterdam.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank cuzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,634)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,140 - 1,146 of 2,634 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Toren. We had high expectations, which were more than met. We have sought out small, charming hotels in our travels and have had the good fortune to find several hotels in the world’s most enjoyable cities. We look for romantic atmosphere and decor, excellence in service, and convenience of the location to sites of interest and public transportation. We are pleased to add The Toren to our personal list of favorite hotels.

The Toren staff is remarkably service oriented and will take the initiative to cater to your desires.

Room Tip: We suggest the canal view rooms for true Amsterdam atmosphere with luxury appointments.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RWCreswell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014 via mobile

As many others have written, this is a perfect hotel to visit Amsterdam. The service was first rate- everyone on staff constantly checks in to see if there is anything they can do for you. The front desk was very helpful making (and then changing) dinner reservations, giving suggestions for activities, etc. The location is great. The rooms are a bit tight (we had a deluxe canal view room with a jacuzzi) but they are very nicely decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast and bar were great and the garden out back was great to relax in at the end of the day. The only issue was the room lights were impossible to figure out, but that did not interfere with our enjoyment of the hotel.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Blaw10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

The hotel is not cheap but is of a high standard and well located for the canals of Amsterdam. We stayed in the main house and had a room at the rear of the premises which had a spa bath. Staff we're very helpful. Will stay here again if we could get a better deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robin032
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

After a painful Viking River cruise, The Toren was a pleasure, a haven, a remainder that even when traveling, compromise is not necessary. The Toren has a energetic and welcoming staff. The ladies at the front desk are especially delightful and very accommodating. The bar, lobby, and dining areas are very tasteful and sumptuous.

Room Tip: book directly with the hotel for best prices and service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mfm304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

Rooms small but very ambient and cosy. Funny with the big spa in the room. We stayed for 4 nights and needed more space and place to put our things.
Lovely breakfast and the staff very nice.
A bit far from the center, but ok.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Iris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

I use Tripadvisor all the time, and I needed a hotel in Amsterdam for two nights. The Toren came to the top of the list and I didn’t look elsewhere. I booked the hotel on the internet and the staff was kind enough to verify my reservation and suggest a more suitable room weeks in advance of our trip. The Toren has a friendly helpful staff, nice rooms, good breakfast, nice little bar and garden. What more could you want. The only negative was that the room was a little warm and I just could not seem to get it cooled off with the controls on the wall.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Colo_travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,357 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,130 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
792 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $222 - $497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing