We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Beautiful Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014

A boutique hotel on a canal, the staff is friendly, the rooms spacious for Europe. The place is spotless, the breakfast has good choices. We were given an upgrade for the first night which was some room-so many new technologies it took a while to figure out how to turn off all the lights!. Bed was comfortable, bathrooms spacious. All in all an excellent place to stay as it is very centrally located, walking distance for most attractions. Our only little surprise was when we asked for a turndown when leaving before dinner we were answered with "what's that". When explained it was taken care of right away.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the Garden are very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HENAM73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,988
    340
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
231
1,474
161
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (547)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was fantastic and in a great central location. The rooms are as they look in the hotel's photos. We stayed in Room 425, a double room in the annex building (20m down from main building)- had only one neighbouring room so it was v quiet. Bathroom looked brand new, excellent shower. The double rooms are v small and have double beds, not queens, so if you want more space choose the next room up. Double was fine for us. Best thing about this place is the staff - they will bend over backwards to help you with bookings, suggestions for places to eat/sightseeing etc. Can't overstate how much we enjoyed staying here.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rachel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2014

Stayed four nights here in the Toren Annex (a couple of doors up from the main hotel). The decor is fantastic and the staff are really helpful. Our room was immaculately presented and cleaned every day. We were in room 403 in the back of the annex so there was no noise at all (the hotel is in a quiet area anyway) and we had a small ourdoor area shared with the room next door.

Room comes with minibar, TV, alarm, phone, coffee machine, hairdryer, shower and large bath with jets and lighting.

We visited the hotel bar one night, its open until 1am and is in the main hotel.Service was alright, not a huge variety to choose from but plenty of room to relax after a hard days 'touristing'

The hotel is in a quiet area just round the corener from the Anne Frank museum and about a 10-15 minute walk to Dam Square / 20 minutes walk from Centraal station. There is a tram stop about 1 block away near a small supermarket which is quite handy as well.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VeganABZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We checked into the Toren for three nights as our first Amsterdam experience and let me tell you...we were impressed! The hotel is in a classy, upscale, historic neighborhood! The front desk was knowledgable, the bar staff friendly, the other guests were warm and friendly, and the rooms were impeccably clean! We felt comfortable and welcome at the Toren and we would love to come back again some day!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Papillion709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely hotel. I had a small single room which was very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Magnificent breakfast provided free because the hotel was concerned about the relative size of my room. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location, quiet but convenient for everything. Would go back if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank joanb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here in the secondary building before a cruise. Decadent decor, quiet rooms, comfy bed, nice breakfast which they threw in for free on our reservation. Best of all was the staff. So helpful and friendly. My own one personal drawback is that my skin had a reaction to the bedding and I broke out while staying here. So be aware if you have sensitive skin. Otherwise this is a top notch place to stay in Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife intended to stay at The Toren as the capstone of a three week EU holiday. Unfortunately, she had a medical emergency a few days before we arrived at The Toren and was essentially incapacitated during the Amsterdam portion of our trip. I called ahead to let the staff know we would be housebound during our stay as she recuperated in preparation for our flight back to the US. The Toren's staff could not have done more to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Any hotel can provide a bed. It is rare to find a place where you feel as well cared for as we were. We look forward to coming back to experience all we missed... and to properly thank the fine folks at The Toren.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annex overlooking the canal. I recommend it. The impromptu events on the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing