We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Charming hotel, warm and helpful staff, sleek and clean rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Charming hotel, warm and helpful staff, sleek and clean rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014 via mobile

We checked into the Toren for three nights as our first Amsterdam experience and let me tell you...we were impressed! The hotel is in a classy, upscale, historic neighborhood! The front desk was knowledgable, the bar staff friendly, the other guests were warm and friendly, and the rooms were impeccably clean! We felt comfortable and welcome at the Toren and we would love to come back again some day!

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Papillion709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    334
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
221
1,434
161
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Lovely hotel. I had a small single room which was very comfortable and beautifully appointed. Magnificent breakfast provided free because the hotel was concerned about the relative size of my room. Friendly, helpful staff. Great location, quiet but convenient for everything. Would go back if I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank joanb3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern California
Level Contributor
77 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights here in the secondary building before a cruise. Decadent decor, quiet rooms, comfy bed, nice breakfast which they threw in for free on our reservation. Best of all was the staff. So helpful and friendly. My own one personal drawback is that my skin had a reaction to the bedding and I broke out while staying here. So be aware if you have sensitive skin. Otherwise this is a top notch place to stay in Amsterdam!

Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Whitna85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffin, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife intended to stay at The Toren as the capstone of a three week EU holiday. Unfortunately, she had a medical emergency a few days before we arrived at The Toren and was essentially incapacitated during the Amsterdam portion of our trip. I called ahead to let the staff know we would be housebound during our stay as she recuperated in preparation for our flight back to the US. The Toren's staff could not have done more to make our stay as comfortable as possible. Any hotel can provide a bed. It is rare to find a place where you feel as well cared for as we were. We look forward to coming back to experience all we missed... and to properly thank the fine folks at The Toren.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Annex overlooking the canal. I recommend it. The impromptu events on the street a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pagur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in November 2013 for 5 nights of our European vacation and we can't say enough good things about it. We stayed in the Cottage Suite, it was very nice. The room was actually bigger than we envisioned since everyone that we knew who went to Amsterdam before us kept saying how the rooms were so small at the hotels. It had 1 flatscreen TV in front of the bed, a standup shower, a very cool jacuzzi and a nice sitting area with another flatscreen TV. Just outside our room door was a very large outdoor patio area that anyone staying at the hotel can use, we loved just sitting out there at night before going to bed and enjoying the peacefulness of the City. The hotel is within walking distance of pretty much everywhere that you will want to visit while in Amsterdam. The staff was amazing and extremely helpful. It was so good that we have booked 2 more trips back there in 2014. Thank you to the Toren for making our stay in Amsterdam the best vacation we have had to date.

Room Tip: We loved the Cottage Suite, we found it to be very private as its in an area where there are only 2...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave-Chantel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

In spite of just one night stay, we felt very relaxed in a gorgeous room. We could walk from the Amsterdum Central station without any problem. Staff are very nice and friendly. Because we had to leave early in the morning, we missed the famous Dutch breakfast. I wish we could stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaonashi18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed for two nights before taking a river cruise that departed from Amsterdam. Our flight arrived early in the morning and we went directly to the hotel thinking that we could just drop off our bags. But instead we were greeted warmly and treated to breakfast while the prepared our room. We were in our room by 11 AM.
The location of this hotel is perfect. It is located on a charming canal and within walking distance of many attractions and the tram lines. The front desk gave us a map of the city with all the tram lines clearly marked and were able to sell us a two day tram pass. There are also many excellent restaurants and cafes within walking distance.
In addition to the location and friendliness of the staff, the rooms are very comfortable. They room was not spacious, but the bathroom was, and the bed was perfect for getting over jet lag. There is a charge for breakfast at the hotel, but the breakfast is well worth the charge. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkat723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing