We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, comfortable and staff is helpful”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 368 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Texas
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Perfect location, comfortable and staff is helpful”
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed for two nights before taking a river cruise that departed from Amsterdam. Our flight arrived early in the morning and we went directly to the hotel thinking that we could just drop off our bags. But instead we were greeted warmly and treated to breakfast while the prepared our room. We were in our room by 11 AM.
The location of this hotel is perfect. It is located on a charming canal and within walking distance of many attractions and the tram lines. The front desk gave us a map of the city with all the tram lines clearly marked and were able to sell us a two day tram pass. There are also many excellent restaurants and cafes within walking distance.
In addition to the location and friendliness of the staff, the rooms are very comfortable. They room was not spacious, but the bathroom was, and the bed was perfect for getting over jet lag. There is a charge for breakfast at the hotel, but the breakfast is well worth the charge. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mkat723
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,123
    361
    34
    14
    3
See reviews for
257
1,571
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (581)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2014

After trying all the 5 star hotels in Amsterdam my husband was attracted to all the positive reviews trip advisor gave this charming, warm, boutique hotel. I'm here to add to the chorus! We were warmly welcome by two young attractive ladies behind the desk who then handed our keys and luggage to a very nice young man who turned out to be the bartender. He took us to a small but lovey room that was a bit unusual. After staying in 3 different rooms during our stay because we took several excursions from Amsterdam, we found that the rooms were all unusual in the same way. They all had bathrooms that were divided from the room with a heavy curtain so it could be completely opened or closed. On the bathroom side of the curtain there was a jacuzzi tube and full bathroom with an enclosed water closet. In addition, each room had a vanity and a mirror so that I could sit and dry my hair.
They serve a nice breakfast and while they don't have a full restaurant they can make a few salads, soup and cheese plates that can be a light dinner or they can order from the local restaurants which can be sushi (which we loved) pizza or the Michelin starred restaurant around the corner.
Probably the best part though is the staff. Everyone is cheery and warm. Every morning we were asked how we slept and if the room was ok.
So after you have a very cool room and a lovely, warm staff the cherry on top is the car service! Parking is always a problem in Amsterdam but they have a fix. If you call before you arrive there is someone there to take it to an off site garage. Then give them one hours notice and they will have it at the front door. All for less than half the cost of parking in hard to find, crowded local garages.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Terry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2014

we stayed 9 nights here and had a wonderful time. Beautifully decorated and designed; absolutely the friendliest and best staff of any hotel; great location; delicious breakfast buffet; and great bar. We would stay here again, and highly recommend it.

Room Tip: request a room in the original older part
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

The Toren is a Beautiful Boutique Hotel on the canal in the perfect location. The Staff was amazing at arranging our pick up from the airport and once we arrived to The Toren they were extremely kind and helpful. They made our dinner reservations and told us the best places to go shopping, museums even for amazing Apple Pie. Our room was Beautiful! When we walked into our room we were so happy and delighted. It faced the canal and was quite large. Beautiful furnishings and a Nespresso machine in the room. Breakfast was also great. The service in this hotel is five stars. I highly recommend The Toren. Also, it was our 10th wedding anniversary and they sent Champagne, Chocolate and Strawberries to our room with a lovely card from the owners. Very Classy!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AMekelburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Good location near Ann Frank huis, 5 streets, funky shops in Jordaan, dam square and central station. Short walk to nice restaurants (try de luwte round the corner) and cosy bar where we enjoyed cocktails. Would rather have paid less and not had drinks/ champagne and spared our livers.
The annex was a bit noisy with door banging from cleaners/ guests in the morning and I do wish they would get rid of the 80's dried flowers!
The canal house next door looked more modern when we peeked through the window.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ukcat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lund, Sweden
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

A fantastic little design hotel - with a bit of a burlesque twist to it! Friendly, helpful staff and a nicely furnished room. The breakfast was great and, later on, the strawberry mojitos in the hotel bar were something we won't forget – especailly in that atmospheric setting. Highly recommended hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohannesNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam so I don't have much reference to make comparisons. We chose this place based on other ratings. The place is small and charming. It is in a great location. The view from the window was beautiful. It is definitely a romantic hotel and area. The only thing we had difficulty with was the coffee maker. So make sure you pay attention to them when they are explaining how to use it. Other than that we loved it and would choose to stay here if we ever return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room with Jacuzzi tub. It was an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,239 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 368 in Amsterdam
620 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 368 in Amsterdam
956 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,376 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,068 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Hotel.de and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing