We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Romantic Getaway” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

This was our first trip to Amsterdam so I don't have much reference to make comparisons. We chose this place based on other ratings. The place is small and charming. It is in a great location. The view from the window was beautiful. It is definitely a romantic hotel and area. The only thing we had difficulty with was the coffee maker. So make sure you pay attention to them when they are explaining how to use it. Other than that we loved it and would choose to stay here if we ever return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: We chose a room with Jacuzzi tub. It was an added bonus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,281 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,905
    328
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
219
1,408
160
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

An amazing place for a romantic get-away. I can only say the best about the garden cottage and the whole experience. The interior speaks for itself: beautiful indulgent décor with perfect finishing touches, great lighting, comfortable bed, bathtub with jacuzzi, shower, a nespresso machine, and soft gowns.
Breakfast is much recommended: for app 15 Euros you get a selection of fresh and cooked foods which would be hard to match at a normal café.
The staff is highly attentive yet without subservience, and we much enjoyed our late night chat with the barman.
Much recommended and definitely would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irinaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

We had a very large room in the hotel's annex (just a few doors down from the main house), overlooking the canal. The king size bed was very comfortable and the bathroom up to date.
The concierge and staff were very helpful and friendly. The hotel is walking distance from the Ann Frank House and some delightful restaurants on a nearby side street.

Room Tip: Our room was 421 in the Annex (which is the second floor facing the canal). It was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquie540
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great hotel. Wonderful, Quiet location. We walked just about everywhere. Outstanding staff. Beautiful bar for drinks. Wouldn't stay anywhere else. There is so much to experience in Amsterdam and staying at the Toren was a real joy.

Room Tip: We chose the room with whirlpool tub and a door to a small patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judith A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We stayed there for one night recently and found it to be wonderful. The lobby and bar are opulent and the staff were all very helpful and friendly. The room was not massive but more than enough for two with a very comfortable bed and good attention to detail. There was a fridge and coffee making facilities. The bath was big enough for two. The hotel location is very close to Anne Frank House in popular Jordaanes area and walkable from the train station although there are tram stops nearby. You can also do a Canal tour from just round the corner. It was the perfect hotel for a birthday treat, I don't think we could have afforded a whole week there! Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dismantledgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

What stands out is the warm greeting and continuous care and attention from the staff. Nothing is too much trouble! The hotel itself is charming with old-fashioned decor and furnisings in the main rooms but fully modernised bedrooms. Breakfast is top class.The location is on a quiet street overlooking one of the canals.There is a lift for those who find steep stairs a challenge. The owners take a personal interest in their guests and it is clear to me that they set the tone of this superb hotel. I will not look anywhere else when I return to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: I stayed in the main hotel and so cannot comment on the annex. The rooms were excellent and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adspharm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
-
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

First visit to Amsterdam. Toren Hotel is first class. Very central location for everything the city has to offer, and only about 15 mins walk from the station.
Helpful and welcoming staff. Clean , comfortable and quiet room. ( Stayed in the main hotel so cannot comment on the annex down the street ).
Booked a hotel deal for 3 nights which included an excellent daily breakfast.
Decor is quite dark but in keeping with this very old canal-side building.
Plenty of umbrellas to borrow, which was handy as it rained every day during our stay.
Hotel felt individual, very much 'part of the city', and a welcome change from multi-national chains.

Room Tip: Probably best to check if room will be in the main hotel, or in an annex building four doors away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bookends_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 547 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 841 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,289 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing