We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“As good as it can get” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
162 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 297 helpful votes
“As good as it can get”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Wonderful hotel. Many other places could learn a lot from this charming establishment.

Greatly appointed room, lovely bed and so amazing jacuzzi in the room!

All rooms I believe are very good, however; I believe that 411 happens to be one of the best.

Service was great. All staff make you feel like you the only guest in their hotel. Attention to detail at all times.

Highly recommend this wonderful place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank XseniaX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,902
    328
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
219
1,407
159
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (524)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

I didn't know what to expect. Normally when staying in Amsterdam I go with the Spanish chain, but as I'd left booking to the last minute, the only single room available was here. What a bit of luck that turned out to be. I went with the hotel because I was so impressed with the amount of work in the design. The photos online do not do it justice because it is all so sumptuous.

On first impression I was torn between deciding whether it was French boudoir or Russian decadence before finally deciding it was both in the best taste. The rooms are small - mine was the single in the annexe which is no more than maybe 10ft x 8ft. The key to good design in such a small area is using bold statements - a really gorgeous very large mirror flanked by two exquisite wall lamps with beautiful curtains covering a window that looked nowhere. I didn't mind that actually because the room was so cosy I wasn't interested in what was going on outside! There was also a perfect sized shower room; all plenty big enough for one person.

I will definitely come back to this hotel again. After experiencing somewhere that is so beautifully decorated, quiet, where the staff are all incredibly helpful and friendly, why would anyone want to go back to the large hotel chains? To use that dreadful phrase but it describes my thoughts exactly ... it's a no brainer!

If there is a Fan Club ... sign me up!!

Room Tip: The room service was really good as was the food. After a long day of tours it was night to 'ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

The location of the Toren is pretty much perfect for sightseeing in Amsterdam. The room was very comfortable and stylishly presented and the hotel bar is a must experience! Breakfast was first class and had everything I wanted! What makes the Toren stand out is the outstanding customer service which was amongst the best I have ever experienced! I will definitely return when I am next in Amsterdam!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sohrab1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
invernes
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Stayed here for a night while travelling through Amsterdam (with children) to another destination and I can say that its one of the best hotels Iv stayed in. The decor is lush and elegant and the staff make you feel like VIP s . I am going back to The Toren . Excellent!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank borelsaladin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

The staff at The Toren couldn't have known that we had just come from Cyprus after dealing with a heart-breaking family situation. After staying one night in a standard room, they called us the following morning to say that they were upgrading us to a deluxe room overlooking the garden. The reason they gave us is that it was sitting empty and they wanted one of their current guests to enjoy it. Our standard room would have been more than adequate by European standards but we really appreciated the extra room and spa tub. It felt luxurious!
Every staff person that we encountered from the front desk to the breakfast room, bar and housekeeping, went over and above to make our stay a memorable one. They were attentive, warm and friendly in a very genuine way.
Aside from the excellent service, the hotel is very clean, the rooms are well appointed and the location is perfect.
The staff should be very proud of the high level of service/standards they provide. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rannikins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petoskey, Michigan
Level Contributor
451 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 299 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

Allright...I'm ready to join the Toren fan club. We debated between the Toren and the Pulitzer and ended up staying at both - the Toren on our arrival in Amsterdam and the Pulitzer a week later when we were leaving town. The Toren wins on a number of issues, but mostly service. We were warmly greeted by Henry, who not only showed us around the property, but drew detailed maps on where to find a cigar at the House of Hajenius as well as recommending fabulous restaurants - Max, Prego and De Reiger. Sebastian, tends bar, but more importantly takes a real interest in guests and was delightful to speak with after long days of sightseeing. My husband was able to enjoy his cigar at the outdoor courtyard and Sebastian kept him happy with Dutch beer.

Our room was in the Annex, which is a few doors north of the main building. The room itself was generously sized, with comfortable bedding and an enormous bathroom. We took advantage of the Keurig coffee brewer in the room too. We found it very quiet.

We opted for their breakfast and were glad we did. It's the only place we stayed that actually had a full breakfast buffet - scrambled eggs, sausages, bacon, in addition to meats, cheese, pastries and fruit and juices. Very reasonable and filling.

We would definitely go back to the Toren. Great location, easy walk to everything, but most important is the top notch staff. The owners have done a wonderful job in creating an atmosphere that is warm and friendly, while maintaining a luxurious property.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dre51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

Amazing stay in the best non-touristy part of Amsterdam. We had a canal from view which was gorgeous, rooms are small but very comfortable with a real king not two twins pushed together. Great staff recommendations for dinners too!

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank striebee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 539 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 835 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and Odigeo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing