We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The small room”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2014

The people at the Toren seem to be very nervous about the "room for one person" as indeed it is quite small. There are actually two of them, one in the main building and one in the annex. I would suggest the one in the main building even tho the annex one is slightly bigger. The annex is about ten houses away, and that makes it more distant from Breakfast and the tram system. And the room in the main building has a lift opposite so there is no climbing stairs with suitcases.
So in addition to all the good things that others have said about this wonderful hotel, don't be afraid about booking the small room for one (if there is only one of you) as it is fine for the job (yes it is snug) has a comfy chair and an industrial Nespresso machine. And good value

Room Tip: If just one of you, maybe the "small" rooms will suit
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BishopOfMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,698)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,280 - 1,286 of 2,698 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

This is the best hotel I have ever stayed in!
Do you remember when you were a child and would imagine sleeping in a cloud? well that is how comfortable the bed was.
The room was beautifully decorated and super clean and the staff were very friendly and helpful
Breakfast was great too.
Its close to the centre of Amsterdam but still in a quite spot.
I loved my stay here!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
3  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Perfectly placed in the old centre of the city on one of the main (residential) "grachts"; located in several old merchants homes on the canal. Our room - in a separate building was lovely - furnished in a gentle/old-fashioned/yet fashionable/comfortable style with lots of rich fabrics, colours and wall coverings. Hospitality was outstanding; staff were delightful. Excellent breakfast. A real gem in the city. Why would anyone want to stay in a big chain hotel when you can stay here??

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

If you take the train into Amsterdam you can walk to The Toren, if you don't mind dragging your luggage over cobblestone streets for a few blocks. We found it to be rather charming, and it gave us an up close and personal view of the canals as we walked to the hotel. It is on a residential street in a very quiet neighborhood. The staff is extremely friendly and attentive, almost too much so if you like a little alone time. The second floor room we had was gorgeous, with a nice whirlpool tub and a great coffee maker for the morning. The only negative we experienced was not being able to use the outdoor courtyard after 10 PM, because we were not on the first floor. So if you like to sit outside at night, ask for a first floor room. They offered to rent bikes to us but admitted we could get them cheaper at the bike store down the street - so we did. They did say the next time we wanted to stay here, give them a call directly and they would give us a good deal rather than reserve over the internet - so think about that if you want to stay here. I would come back again.

Room Tip: Ask for first floor room with an outside patio to get most use out of courtyard at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lovestoroam78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Great welcome and reception was well informed. Nothing was too much trouble by any of the staff. Rooms were clean and well presented. Decor interesting!
Hotel very central,not noisy . Easy to get to all the main sites and walking distance from the railway station..Even the taxi driver told us it was one of the best hotels in Amsterdam on the way there.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Stephen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

From the moment we stepped into the hotel until the moment we left, we were treated well by all staff members. The hospitality we experienced was warm and genuine and we never felt that we were imposing on the front desk or dining staff with questions or requests. What I noticed was the fact that the staff felt at ease in taking time to chat with us. In some hotels, the workers are reluctant to stop work to be personable. It is clear that the owners allow their staff to feel comfortable during their working hours. All points of interest were within walking distance and we were very centrally located. I walked very early each morning and felt extremely safe. The Ann Frank House was just around the corner, all museums were easy to walk to and Central Station is just 10 minutes away. Although there is no full dinner restaurant service, the lunch and bar menu were more than adequate. There is a nice courtyard in the back and the lounge is quite cozy and comfortable. All in all a great experience. Just a bit pricey, but you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MLOTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014

First of all, the staff is so helpful and welcoming. They can provide you with such helpful information and assistance. They sell tickets to the museums too. We bought our tickets to the Heinken Experience at the hotel and we were able to skip the line. It's literally right behind Anne Frank's house.
The breakfast was very good and had a wide variety of choices.
The hotel is in such a nice part of Amsterdam. It's near tons of cute boutiques and antique shops. We felt really safe in the location. We were able to walk to the red light district, Heinken experience and the Van Gogh museum. We enjoyed our stay!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank Kerri F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,213 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,420 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#19 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,067 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 375 in Amsterdam
2,872 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $164 - $471 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing