We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BOOK NOW!”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 374 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely stay in The Toren, from previous reviews my expectations were high and I was not disappointed. Great service from the moment we stepped in, champagne, strawberries and chocolates in my room too as my partner had informed them it was my birthday!
Fantastic location, can walk everywhere.
The rooms are opulent and very well kept, we stayed in the annex building which was fantastic, we paid for a canal view and a hot tub in the room which was great after long days of walking around this fantastic city!!
Would recommend this hotel to anyone, so go ahead and book!!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank HPuddephatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,653)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,275 - 1,281 of 2,653 reviews

Reviewed February 22, 2014

What an amazing find this is. The hotel is well situated, within walking distance of most tourist attractions. Pretty little spot, and the hotel itself has a really great atmosphere. The staff are so friendly and helpful....they can not do enough for you and have made my Birthday week-end so memorable. On my birthday itself we arrived back to our room to find a bottle of Moët on ice, with strawberries and chocolates and a lovely message from the hotel owners...what a treat. The bar staff are lovely, impeccable service and Irish coffees to die for! We chose one of the smaller rooms but very comfy bed, fab bathroom with great power shower and bath, all decorated in really smart boutique fashion. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough....can't wait to return. Thank you to The Toren....it's been a trip to remember x

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Aimee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We stayed in the Toren for three nights in January to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We chose the hotel based on the many Trip advisor reviews and were certainly not disappointed. The rooms have a classic, luxurious yet modern feel. The furnishings and bedding was of superb quality and the attention to detail was impressive. The many reviews talk about the amazing staff and this is what can make a stay that much more enjoyable. When we accidentally left our back pack behind in a restaurant the staff immediately called the restaurant and then actually went out to collect it for us while we ate breakfast. Now that's service at it's best! The lovely owners of the Hotel gave us a superb bottle of Champagne, some chocolates and strawberries as an anniversary gift which was a personal touch we had not expected.

We really enjoyed the intimacy of a boutique Hotel that you don't get with a larger chain. The Toren comes highly recommended and we would chose this Hotel every time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

Returning tomorrow from a trip to Amsterdam, staying at The Toren. Amazing!, Couldn't be happier. It is so well placed for everything we wanted to see.The staff couldn't be more helpful. It is a lovely cosy, homely hotel where our every need was catered for. Dinners were booked, tickets printed and all by such warm helpful staff. The breakfast couldn't be faulted. Everyone in the hotel genuinely seemed so anxious that our Amsterdam experience should be the best it could possibly be. The overall standard is extremely high. We will definitely return and will make sure our friends do too. 10/10 for The Toren Amsterdam
Maureen

Room Tip: We did not pick a room with w view of the canal as it would have been much more expensive but we wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Maureen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2014

This was a short stay (2 nights) to celebrate my wife's birthday. Although not the best time of year to visit Amsterdam the hotel is excellent in every way. The staff are friendly and welcoming, the rooms are extremely comfortable and luxurious and the breakfast sets you up for the day. Its position is ideal as it offers a good location to visit the main sites of the City without the need for public transport. You can get to most of the sites, museums etc. in around 20 minutes and the walks are very interesting. The great thing is that there is so much more to see that we will have to return to The Toren.

Room Tip: A room with a canal view but they are understandably more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2014

Arrived unexpectedly because of a miscommunication elsewhere. Called in afternoon for a room for the night. The staff could not have been more helpful. The location is great. The decor is almost over the top - lots of red and black - thirties? The bar is delightful - met a friend for a glass of wine and some hamburger sliders - delicious. Breakfast was among the best hotel buffets. The room was small - booked that deliberately. Fabulous bathroom, felt luxurious. As others have said, the lighting is on the dim side. I could not figure out how to turn off the sconces on either side of the bed so ended up sleeping with an eye mask leftover from the flight.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gourmand2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

I never write any reviews but I thought this hotel really deserves one. I have been to so many stunning hotels but this one really stands out. Basically you will be hoping that something goes wrong during your stay to see how they make it up to you. Let me explain : Our check-in was delayed by an hour because the previous client decided he wanted to take his time. We were in a good mood so we didn't make a fuss and decided to play a game of chess and order some food in their stunning baroque style bar. We were handed the bill and said thank you very much for the upgrade to the next category suite( Executive Garden suite for 2 people with jaccuzi and steam room ) . A couple of hours later, i get a call from the assistant of the owners who said a BIG mistake was made by handing me a bill for the food as it is their fault we ended up in the bar, so the bill was waved, a bottle of Moet et Chandon was sent and breakfast was complimentary as well. I have never seen this anywhere else, they surely know how to spoil their clients and manage a (mini) crisis! Anyway, we were extremely happy, we loved our room, it was beautiful and perfect for a romantic getaway and the location was just ideal for us, close to everything.
This place is a gem and we will definitely be coming back.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahGvdw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,159 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,381 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 374 in Amsterdam
1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 374 in Amsterdam
2,822 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 374 in Amsterdam
4,008 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 374 in Amsterdam
840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $214 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing