We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amsterdam's best boutique hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was warmly greeted upon checking in and presented with a map of Amsterdam and given useful travel tips. My single room was small (120 sq ft), but the hotel had already informed me of this beforehand so it wasn't a surprise. Despite having a super single bed, the room actually felt spacious enough (bathroom was a little cramped), largely due to the ceiling height (close to 4m, I'd reckon). Welcome chocolate/strawberries and umbrellas at the door were a nice touch; the furnishings and fixtures ooze old world luxury. My bed was a little soft and creaked quite a bit though. Good enough location - everything is generally within walking distance.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Leonardlzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,608)
There are newer reviews for The Toren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,301 - 1,307 of 2,608 reviews

Reviewed November 12, 2013

We have just had the most wonderful weekend in this fantastic, friendly and welcoming environment. located alongside the pretty canal's close to the central of amsterdam. The room was so impressive, make sure you have the hot tube it's amazing!!! Planning to return next year, if you want to impress your partner, wife etc this is the place to go.

Room Tip: One with a hot tub!!!!!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I were unexpectedly stranded at the Amsterdam airport for 24 hours. I checked trip advisor and found this hotel. We called and reserved a room. Took the train from airport to central station, very easy walk to hotel. Extremely friendly, helpful and attentive staff -- gave us good suggestions about how to spend the afternoon (canal tour, location was a block away), recommendations for a casual restaurant for dinner (we had no luggage and were informally addressed), etc. The location of the hotel is perfect -- close Anne Frank museum, shopping, and good restaurants. Our room was in the annex, very well equipped, clean and nice size, esp by European standards. The decor is a bit over the top, but that is the style! The bar in the main hotel is very warm and friendly. Really a perfect hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IndyBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I just stayed here for the weekend and I can't reccommend The Toren hotel highly enough. Elegant, cool, sophisticated and with impeccable service.

Great location, phenomenal staff and a beautiful hotel. Go for a room with a hot tub, you won't be disappointed.

We will definitely be visiting this hotel again, I could not imagine staying anywhere else in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PatrickT79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wonderful hotel, pleasant, clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. Close to the train station, sites, cafes and shopping. We were right there. Staff was very helpful and informative. We stayed in the annex which was fine, room was bigger than I anticipated. Toiletries were classy, bathroom was nice, clean and comfortable. Stay was worth the price. Our room had no view but it was ok because we were out all day.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Athena T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my girlfriend, and had a blast!
Very friendly & attentive staff, perfect location, close to centre but quiet at night. Our room had its own jacuzzi, with some funky decor & lights :)
Loved it - highly recommended!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niallo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

The hotel appears to have been one or two old houses. The interior ground floor is very elegant, with carving, wainscoting and other features from former times. The room decor was consistent with the ground floor, but the bath is totally up to date. An excellent breakfast is included and can be had in the room. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,322 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,095 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,746 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
748 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $243 - $582 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing