We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

stayed here in nov with my wife and my brother, it was very close to the grey area coffe shop, our favorite coffe shop in amsterdam, and also right next to anne frank house, was in walking distance to pretty much everything and provided fresh hot towels everyday! the breakfast was also very good and the housekeeper cleaned everyday and organized for us! The hotel also provided umbrellas on the days it rained, and has a small private bar to catch a quick drink before heading out to explore.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alex m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,903
    328
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
219
1,407
159
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Timmins, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed there Oct1st-3rd this year. What can I say except absolutley outstanding in all respects. Beautiful, excellent service, great location on the canal!! The room was beautiful . I was so happy to have a smoking room as they can be hard to come by. It was wonderful to just sit, relax and watch over the canal in the morning and evenings.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzanne630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
climping
Level Contributor
97 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Arranged as a birthday treat this boutique hotel lives up to reviews and more importantly expectations. Lavish and luxurious you have the feeling of being spoilt on a personal level from arrival to leaving. Beds are incredibly comfortable, the coffee making machines best we have experienced worlwide and the jacuzzi bath with lighting effect pure decadence! Towels and linen are top drawer and the room as one would expect was spotlessly clean. Breakfast was excellent ( though might have been hotter) and the location perfect. Quiet area near restaurants and bars whilst just a few minute walk from all main attractions. Staff were attentive whilst unobtrusive and arranged cold milk each evening at no extra charge. Highly recommended and were we to return would definately choose this hotel. Thankyou toren!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank LadesClimping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The Toren is simply georgeous! With this I am referring mainly to the décor. However, we were also very impressed with the service. We stayed here for only 2 nights at the end of September after visiting Paris and arrived with nothing but a small backpack as our luggage was lost by Air France. I’d like to thank the friendly front desk girls for their continuing help during our stay, checking with the airline on the progress of locating our luggage, providing us with various mobile phone and iPad chargers, and offering free breakfast, which was amazing and served in a luxurious and cosy environment. Our room was located in the annex a couple of houses down, was beautifully decorated and had a Nespresso machine. The location is also very handy and charming with all the pretty tree-lined grachten (canals), cobblestone streets, bridges, bicycles, little shops and cafes. In term of sightseeing, I recommend the Anne Frank House, which is literally around the corner and has a hop-on-hop-off boat stop. The boat trip costs around 10 Euros and takes you to many tourist sites and museums around town. We highly recommend the Toren and would love to visit again sometime in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CassandiS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
85 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

My wife and I stayed here over the weekend as we were running the Amsterdam Marathon. We chose the hotel following its great reviews on this website and we were not disappointed. The location is great. Walking distance to the station and very close to the trams. Staff were friendly, rooms were spotless and the breakfast selection was very good. If I were to be critical I would say that the rooms really lack cupboard space. There are literally no cupboards in the rooms whatsoever, which was a little strange, but this shouldnt detract from what is a fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: We were in room 404, and we could hear a clock chime from a nearby church every hour. For those that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SJL1605
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey, USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We had a great stay at this Hotel. The room was spacious and the view of the canal was just perfect. It was walking distance to everything and specially close to the Anne Frank house. I couldn't ask for better service. Next time I visit Amsterdam, I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank golds42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Very relaxing stay

Most welcoming staff, and lovely bar area with good drinks menu, beautifully decorated.

Room itself was on the small side, but had king size bed that was very comfortable.

Only slight comment would be the actual toilet wasn't quite as high spec as rest of bathroom, but I'm really struggling to find anything else negative about the hotel!

Would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeEcosseAgent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,283 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing