We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Toren Excels” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Toren to your Saves list
The Toren
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Canal Ring (Grachtengordel))   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #1 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Family Toren Excels”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at The Toren and enjoyed the service and ambiance. We were in the annex, which was just as nice as the main building. The bar, appetizers and breakfast were superb. Everyone spoke perfect English and staff were very helpful to provide best restaurants and places to see. Most were within walking distance. We did have a car, which was parked by valet. This is a pricey lodging, but well worth it, especially for romantics. The Toren family did provide a letter of explanation as to why the prices were high. We needed to leave early for our flight out of Schiphol and they accommodated a full breakfast for us at 6:30 versus the regular 7am. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building versus the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 47woodenshoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,869
    325
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
212
1,385
156
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, North Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

A stunning hotel in a beautiful location. Took my husband for his 40th birthday...we were so pleased with our choice of room..deluxe room, with a jacuzzi and a courtyard off the room. The hotel is so clean, service was excellent and the rooms were spotless...definitely go back!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
4 Thank Mrs E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Very nice hotel , very nice decorated , great jaccuzi in the room,and very friendly staff.
The breakfast was very good
The hotel is near trams and very close to the center.

We will return for our next visite to Amsterdam

Room Tip: the luxury room is great with a jaccuzzi
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sonia p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

The Toren is located on the kaizergracht in a building dating from around 1600, and the restored wall decorations are reputedly by students of rembrandt's atelier. This nugget of information communicates something of the quality of this place, the interiors beautifully restored and redolent of the lifestyle enjoyed by the wealthy of Amsterdam in the golden age of holland. The staff are friendly and unfailingly helpful, the beds were comfortable and everything scrupulously clean and well appointed. We had a room in the annex, which is another magnificent terraced house fifty yards down the street. The canal location, quiet garden at the back, and excellent breakfast and choice of wines added to the whole effect. With wine and coffee and plenty of drinks we escaped with a bill of £250 per night for two. A wonderful spot.

Room Tip: Maybe ask for one overlooking the garden at the back ... Wonderfully quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Roy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the moment you drag your luggage from central station and arrive a little tired, you enter an oasis of beauty, comfort and exquisite service. The toren is first rate in every way. The decor is rich and intense, with an elegant bar, doubling as a lovely breakfast area. There are always 2 staff at the desk and they cannot possibly be more helpful. The staff is also young and beautiful. I would not consider staying anywhere else in amsterdam. Despite the busyness of the canal ring, the toren is quiet and peaceful. One cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doodle1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merseyside
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After being double-booked at the Hotel Estherea and feeling completely let down by them, my partner and I were relocated by the Estherea to The Toren - described as 'a similar hotel, just 'round the corner with the same rates' etc. We were sceptical and felt fobbed off but arriving on a Saturday evening we knew our options would be thin on the ground and we went with it through no choice.

Arriving at The Toren, our initial thoughts were it looked a bit 'boudoir boutique' and seemed to lack the 'grandeur' of the Estherea. We were then shown to our room within the Annexe - the styling wasn't really to my taste but again, we didn't choose it. This was also our first time in Amsterdam and we just wanted to get out and have a look around while trying to forget our initial greeting to the city.

Leaving our room, we approached the reception staff to share our frustrations with them after our double-booking disaster and landing in somewhere not of our choosing. They were genuinely friendly, attentive and seemed really concerned about what happened. They couldn't do enough for us and even swapped our room to a larger one with a lovely view of the canal on our second night with no extra charge. They didn't have to do that and this made all the difference for us. We were even offered to return to the Estherea on the second night of our stay. We actually declined and decided to stay with The Toren based on the professionalism and friendly manner of their staff, who I have to say, our the best I've ever had to deal with at any hotel I've stayed in.

The location is also great (just round the corner from Anne Frank's house). In the morning their breakfasts are excellent with a great choice of continental and a more familiar British option. In the evening their bar staff are brilliant and make wonderful cocktails and Irish Coffees within a lovely and relaxed lounge and intimate bar salon area.

So, even if our arrival was a bit of a disaster thanks to the Hotel Estherea our departure was a happy but sad one when we left The Toren. We we're made to feel very welcome and in great company, and even if it wasn't our first choice for our first visit to Amsterdam, it will most definitely be our first on our return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobbybobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,138 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing