We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Superior hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

From the moment you drag your luggage from central station and arrive a little tired, you enter an oasis of beauty, comfort and exquisite service. The toren is first rate in every way. The decor is rich and intense, with an elegant bar, doubling as a lovely breakfast area. There are always 2 staff at the desk and they cannot possibly be more helpful. The staff is also young and beautiful. I would not consider staying anywhere else in amsterdam. Despite the busyness of the canal ring, the toren is quiet and peaceful. One cannot go wrong staying here!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank doodle1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,936
    334
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
221
1,434
161
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Merseyside
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After being double-booked at the Hotel Estherea and feeling completely let down by them, my partner and I were relocated by the Estherea to The Toren - described as 'a similar hotel, just 'round the corner with the same rates' etc. We were sceptical and felt fobbed off but arriving on a Saturday evening we knew our options would be thin on the ground and we went with it through no choice.

Arriving at The Toren, our initial thoughts were it looked a bit 'boudoir boutique' and seemed to lack the 'grandeur' of the Estherea. We were then shown to our room within the Annexe - the styling wasn't really to my taste but again, we didn't choose it. This was also our first time in Amsterdam and we just wanted to get out and have a look around while trying to forget our initial greeting to the city.

Leaving our room, we approached the reception staff to share our frustrations with them after our double-booking disaster and landing in somewhere not of our choosing. They were genuinely friendly, attentive and seemed really concerned about what happened. They couldn't do enough for us and even swapped our room to a larger one with a lovely view of the canal on our second night with no extra charge. They didn't have to do that and this made all the difference for us. We were even offered to return to the Estherea on the second night of our stay. We actually declined and decided to stay with The Toren based on the professionalism and friendly manner of their staff, who I have to say, our the best I've ever had to deal with at any hotel I've stayed in.

The location is also great (just round the corner from Anne Frank's house). In the morning their breakfasts are excellent with a great choice of continental and a more familiar British option. In the evening their bar staff are brilliant and make wonderful cocktails and Irish Coffees within a lovely and relaxed lounge and intimate bar salon area.

So, even if our arrival was a bit of a disaster thanks to the Hotel Estherea our departure was a happy but sad one when we left The Toren. We we're made to feel very welcome and in great company, and even if it wasn't our first choice for our first visit to Amsterdam, it will most definitely be our first on our return!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bobbybobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great hotel in the Jordaan district. It is walking distance to the Central Train station. I was treated great at checkin; after a long flight from Atlanta, I arrived before checkin time and was told my room was ready. The gave me an espresso and showed me to my room. It was small but comfortable and cozy. I would definately stay there again on business or with my wife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Best hotel we have ever stayed in, lovely decor, room was amazing, great location, Anne Frank house just around the corner 5 mins. The staff are so helpful and friendly, if you are going to Amsterdam this is the place to stay.
The breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Toren is a boutique hotel located along one of Amsterdam's main canals. It is three blocks away from Dam Square, the city's heart, but thankfully light years away from the hectic and controversial Red Light District. It is also around the corner from Anne Frank's House. The upscale Jordaan area is here, with some of the nicest bars and restaurants of the city. The rooms are smallish but well equipped, as is the norm in Amsterdam. Its decor is flamboyant and profuse: there is no way it will go unnoticed. Once you arrive you are given a tour of the property, which consists of two adjoining buildings and a patio. Its staff is simply excellent and provide out-of-this-world service. They always greet you with a smile no matter how busy they may be. That is the best welcome a tired guest coming in can receive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main building are slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stated 2 nights at the Toren, helpful front desk staff especially the young man that took up our bags. We have a lovely canal view room, very spacious and comfortable. It is located in the old part of town near vane Frank museum. The only criticism is lack of a Restuarant for evening dining, they do serve breakfast and light lunch. There are restaurants 5-10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Room 119 canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had an amazing stay at The Toren in October 2012! The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Executive Suite with the steam cabin and jacuzzi. The room was fabulous! The hotel was in the perfect location! We look forward to staying at The Toren again on our next trip!

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was very private (nobody was in the only neighboring suite). It was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSkrVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 903 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing