We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Outstanding boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Hayesville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Outstanding boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great hotel in the Jordaan district. It is walking distance to the Central Train station. I was treated great at checkin; after a long flight from Atlanta, I arrived before checkin time and was told my room was ready. The gave me an espresso and showed me to my room. It was small but comfortable and cozy. I would definately stay there again on business or with my wife.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    335
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
221
1,434
161
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Best hotel we have ever stayed in, lovely decor, room was amazing, great location, Anne Frank house just around the corner 5 mins. The staff are so helpful and friendly, if you are going to Amsterdam this is the place to stay.
The breakfast is superb.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nellens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The Toren is a boutique hotel located along one of Amsterdam's main canals. It is three blocks away from Dam Square, the city's heart, but thankfully light years away from the hectic and controversial Red Light District. It is also around the corner from Anne Frank's House. The upscale Jordaan area is here, with some of the nicest bars and restaurants of the city. The rooms are smallish but well equipped, as is the norm in Amsterdam. Its decor is flamboyant and profuse: there is no way it will go unnoticed. Once you arrive you are given a tour of the property, which consists of two adjoining buildings and a patio. Its staff is simply excellent and provide out-of-this-world service. They always greet you with a smile no matter how busy they may be. That is the best welcome a tired guest coming in can receive.

Room Tip: Rooms on the main building are slightly bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Raul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stated 2 nights at the Toren, helpful front desk staff especially the young man that took up our bags. We have a lovely canal view room, very spacious and comfortable. It is located in the old part of town near vane Frank museum. The only criticism is lack of a Restuarant for evening dining, they do serve breakfast and light lunch. There are restaurants 5-10 minute walk away.

Room Tip: Room 119 canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosemary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had an amazing stay at The Toren in October 2012! The staff at the hotel were pleasant and helpful. We stayed in the Executive Suite with the steam cabin and jacuzzi. The room was fabulous! The hotel was in the perfect location! We look forward to staying at The Toren again on our next trip!

Room Tip: The suite we stayed in was very private (nobody was in the only neighboring suite). It was perfect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSkrVegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had an amazing stay at The Toren back in the middle of August for three nights with my girlfriend.

The hotel is in a great location in the Jordaan district which is a lovely part of Amsterdam. Having stayed right in the centre of Amsterdam and on the outskirts, I found this area the perfect place to be.

I was immediately struck by the charming beauty of this boutique hotel upon arriving . I loved the decor and general feel of the place which I always think is important.

Checking in was a breeze and the staff that showed us to our room were great. Infact, every member of staff we met were warm and friendly, which was another thing that made this hotel so special.

We stayed in a deluxe canal view room in their second building which is just a few doors down from the main hotel.
The room was huge, tastefully decorated, just absolutely gorgeous. Nespresso machine that had more than enough capsules which isn't always the case with hotels. The bed was huge which is always a plus. The bathroom was also lovely, clean with plenty of towels.
Stunning views from the huge windows in the room which overlook the canal. These windows also open as the room was a smoking room.

If you are a smoker then you should definitely have a look at their smoking room in the main building, as it's the nicest one I've ever been in.

Breakfast in the morning was perfect. Great choice and quality of food and the room it's served in is just beautiful.


Overall I found this hotel to be simply amazing, and something quite special. The Toren has consistently been the top hotel in Amsterdam and I can see why. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Thanks again to all the great staff we met!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great service at conveniently located small hotel. We chose based on reviews and price as we were headed to safari in Africa next. We got a good deal on hotels.com booking early, but were placed in room in the annex building that had a step up to the bathroom that proved challenging in the dark. Luckily we were fit and could stand a fall! Otherwise really liked the place and the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ckuveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 585 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 894 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 919 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,329 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing