We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Canal House Hotel In The Perfect Location.”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning Canal House Hotel In The Perfect Location.”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Had an amazing stay at The Toren back in the middle of August for three nights with my girlfriend.

The hotel is in a great location in the Jordaan district which is a lovely part of Amsterdam. Having stayed right in the centre of Amsterdam and on the outskirts, I found this area the perfect place to be.

I was immediately struck by the charming beauty of this boutique hotel upon arriving . I loved the decor and general feel of the place which I always think is important.

Checking in was a breeze and the staff that showed us to our room were great. Infact, every member of staff we met were warm and friendly, which was another thing that made this hotel so special.

We stayed in a deluxe canal view room in their second building which is just a few doors down from the main hotel.
The room was huge, tastefully decorated, just absolutely gorgeous. Nespresso machine that had more than enough capsules which isn't always the case with hotels. The bed was huge which is always a plus. The bathroom was also lovely, clean with plenty of towels.
Stunning views from the huge windows in the room which overlook the canal. These windows also open as the room was a smoking room.

If you are a smoker then you should definitely have a look at their smoking room in the main building, as it's the nicest one I've ever been in.

Breakfast in the morning was perfect. Great choice and quality of food and the room it's served in is just beautiful.


Overall I found this hotel to be simply amazing, and something quite special. The Toren has consistently been the top hotel in Amsterdam and I can see why. We will definitely be returning very soon.

Thanks again to all the great staff we met!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,517 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,106
    361
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
253
1,559
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ridgefield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Great service at conveniently located small hotel. We chose based on reviews and price as we were headed to safari in Africa next. We got a good deal on hotels.com booking early, but were placed in room in the annex building that had a step up to the bathroom that proved challenging in the dark. Luckily we were fit and could stand a fall! Otherwise really liked the place and the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ckuveke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Just joking but nicest little hotel great place great people should be kept as a secret . super breakfast wonderful staff. located in the heart of town close to great restaurants on a lovely canal front desk very helpful with suggestion, directions .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kushon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Level Contributor
108 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed for three nights in early September. Small boutique hotel with well appointed rooms. Very attractive bar/breakfast room adjacent to the reception area. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. They are only too happy to assist in recommending and booking restaurants, museum tickets, etc.
Well located on Kaizergracht about halfway between Central Station and the Museum Quarter, so everything is walkable.
The hotel deserves all the good reviews it gets.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms are obviously the most attractive but also more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilDuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at The Toren, the last time being September 2012. We loved it so much we decided we wanted to come back to spend our anniversary.

Our great experience started even before we arrived in Amsterdam. When I contacted the hotel, they knew I was a returning guest and treated me like gold. The front desk staff were very kind and solicitous. They knew the room we liked and reserved it for us. When we arrived, there was a bottle of chilled Moet, a dish of fresh strawberries and another of chocolates -- they knew it was a special anniversary for us and they wanted to help us enjoy it.

The hotel is like a jewel-box, slightly louche (in a great way) and very comfortable. The colours are rich and opulent -- from the furniture to the walls, the ceilings and floors. If you're a fan of minimalist decor (there is a time and a place for everything), then The Toren might not be for you. But in my view they've achieved a lovely balance between over the top and sensual. It is definitely a hotel for couples.

Our room, though smaller than some, was extremely comfortable. Once we figured out where to put the luggage we seemed to have lots of space. The bed is fabulous -- it's hard to leave, and the pillows were lovely too. The bedding is pristine -- crisp white sheets.

In our room (222), there is a jacuzzi bath for two -- but it doesn't seem out of place here. It's big, spotlessly clean and there are extra towels and two bathrobes. The only thing to watch out for is water on the marble floors. Make sure you use a bath mat so you don't slip.

A separate bath and shower area (with a rainfall shower head) are nicely proportioned. Toiletries are top quality.

While the physical elements of this hotel are very pleasing, the staff make it. They are uniformly kind, polite and thoughtful. A special shout-out to Sebastian and Kevin who man the bar. They know what they're doing and they genuinely like people. The women who work the front desk are all lovely as well and never steered us wrong when making restaurant recommendations.

Breakfast wasn't included for us and cost 14 Euros per person. It runs until a very civilized 11 a.m. You can have your traditional Dutch breakfast as well as a buffet of bacon, eggs, smoked salmon, tomatoes and buffalo mozzerella. WiFi is fast and free.

The hotel is well-situated, close to Jordaan, around the corner from the Anne Frank museum, a 25 minute walk from the Rijksmuseum and Van Gogh museum, and about 20 from the central train station. The famous Nine Streets for boutique and unique shopping are close by as well.

I adore Amsterdam. And I adore The Toren. Honestly, I can't say one bad thing about this hotel.

Room Tip: 222 has a jacuzzi bath. It doesn't have canal views if that's important to you. There are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Leslie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

This hotel was just perfect. We stayed here end of August 2013 and had the larger room with private garden area. The room was large, bathroom gorgeous. Tub was sort of set in middle, but you can curtain off if want. Shower with two heads and a rain head. Double sink vanity. Front desk reception was so helpful with restaurants and directions. Great breakfast each morning. Lovely lobby with bar. Good location. Beautiful garden area. A little pricey for the larger room but would highly recommend.

Room Tip: If in your price range for the larger room with private garden area, worth the money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

perfect location ... the anne frank house is literally around the corner , as is a stop for a canal tour by boat.... all of the tourist sights are all within walking distance .. the hotel is located right on a beautiful canal. there are some great restaurants just around the corner (the hotel has some good recomendations also ) ... the hotel is spotlessly clean and modern ..the rooms are very nice and luxurious...they have a really nice bar, and a great outdoor courtyard to relax in ... the staff is amazing .. it was our anniversary, so they gave us a complimentary bottle of champagen with strawberries and chocolates... as asked them to help me order flowers for the room and they got me a huge boquet at a great price .. when we left, they buzzed a taxi and they were there in 5 minutes ... u cant go wrong with this place on any level .. i looked for flaws because of all of the great reviews, and i couldn't find any ...all of the great eviews are well deserved

Room Tip: pay up for a canal view... well worth it ,..it is very quiet at night too
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thedude1NewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,358 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#14 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,015 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 365 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing