We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with a couple of caveats” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with a couple of caveats”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

When we were in Amsterdam in June, we decided to try two hotels, so we stayed 3 nights at The Ambassade and one night at The Toren. Here on Trip Advisor I noticed that The Toren is rated a little higher than The Ambassade, but I'm not sure I agree with that. Both hotels are located on beautiful canals and are in groups of older houses. The canal location of The Ambassade is a little bit prettier and is also about 6 blocks closer to major sites like the museums and parks. The Toren is very attractive, but it depends on your taste which hotel you prefer. The Toren is fixed up to be a little more opulent looking at first sight: velvet trimmings, dark marble, etc, whereas the Ambassade is lighter and more Dutch in general. The rooms are similar size, but the Ambassade was a little more comfortable (canal view room). The staff at both hotels are friendly and efficient. So, in all, it's fair to rate the two hotels very similarly, but don't jump to the conclusion that the Toren is better. Prices are about the same at both locations. I highly recommend both of them, but prefer the Ambassade.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank susan217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,067
    351
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
246
1,530
165
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (566)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was such a welcome on this trip. It is in a great location right on the river and close to the Red Light District and Anne Frank Museum. It was a bit of luxury though the room was small. I loved the coffee maker in the room. I was caffeinated the entire stay. The bathroom was clean and the soap smelled wonderful. There were extra blankets and the heater worked well. The window faced the interior and my neighbors could see me clearly so I kept them closed but other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrldtravelorAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at The Toren for three nights. The hoerl is in an excellent location, quiet and picturesque, right on the canal, yet close to all the attractions of Amsterdam. Our rooms were very good, the beds were especially comfortable. The decor, as stated by other reviewers, is distinctly different, dark and a bit gothic. I thought this added to the charm of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and quick to help with our enquiries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
123 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Researched the hotel's in Amsterdam by websites and a Dutch friend. This was all we could have wanted. The position was excellent as on a very quiet canal but right in the middle of things, very close to Jordaan, which is charming, walking distance of most things but near to tram if needed. We had read on Tripadvisor about the helpful staff but they were really 'can do' nothing was too much trouble. We wanted turn down and they don't actually have housekeeping there at that time of the evening so the reception/bar staff did this. Our room was lovely, in the town house a couple of doors along from the main reception, first floor and overlooking the canal with 3 large ceiling to nearly floor level windows, had the middle one open and it was bliss. Room 411 - causes me real problems of selfishness sharing what was the perfect room. All the hotel is decorated in kind of baroque decor, suits it perfectly. There is no restaurant, the hotel recommend the restaurant around the corner, we did take a look but seemed nearly empty and very stuffy, there are plenty of good restaurants without using this. Same for brekkie, this is offered in what is the bar on comfy chairs but frankly I can't eat like this. We had a cocktail one night in the hotel, prepared by Sebastian who is not only a great cocktail maker but utterly charming and knows when to be friendly but when to leave you alone, great cocktails professionally served. Very comfy beds and we are really particular about this, nice white fluffy towels and a funky large jacuzzi bath. This hotel deserves its rating.

Room Tip: 411 for views, quiet and nice decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
107 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Toren is a very good hotel. It is located right around the corner from the Anne Frank House in the Jordan district, with many cafes and restaurants within easy reach. It's rooms, though small, are recently renovated and while some might consider the decor a bit garish, there is a certain sexy charm in it's plush Victorian bordello aesthetic. There is a delightful terrace area for morning coffee or evening cocktails, the beds are comfortable and the place is quiet. But what lifts the Toren out of the ranks of many similarly good hotels in Amsterdam is quite simply its amazing staff. The front desk, the friendly bar and waitstaff, the housekeeping staff: this is, without question, the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. And the sense of friendship is quite genuine, it goes well beyond the usual "cheerfulness" of routine hotel hospitality. I was asked, after the first night, by one of the bartenders (Robbie) if I slept well (I had not, due to a very soft mattress) and the next thing you know, he let the front desk know and within minutes they had replaced my mattress with a firmer one. The whole hotel went to work on the issue; jumped on it, is more like it -- management, service staff, front desk, housekeeping. Astounding. I am certain there are more opulent hotels to be had in Amsterdam, but the next time I go back there I am certainly staying at the Toren, because I feel I now have friends to visit there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel on a canal around the corner from the Anne Frank House. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfast was fabulous. They also have a light menu available from a local gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner. You HAVE to try the tomato soup! There's a bar/lounge that is beautiful. The staff was exceptional. The rate was very reasonable. The building dates back to the 1600's and has been many different things. They have maintained it well and brought it up to date without losing all the charm. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub and was beautiful. The only complaint I had was that I didn't have more time to stay there.

Room Tip: I had a room next to the garden retreat...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWeston629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Cottage at The Toren for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! We arrived to find a bottle of Moet plus strawberries and chocolates in our room which was a lovely touch. The Jacuzzi in the room was fantastic! It was huge and well worth the extra money! The breakfasts were really tasty with a very large choice. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They were always happy to offer advice and recommendations on restaurants, plus booking them. They have bikes which you can hire and we would highly recommend doing this, it was a really fun way to get around and see the city. We will definitely be staying here when we next return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing