We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just what I needed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Just what I needed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel was such a welcome on this trip. It is in a great location right on the river and close to the Red Light District and Anne Frank Museum. It was a bit of luxury though the room was small. I loved the coffee maker in the room. I was caffeinated the entire stay. The bathroom was clean and the soap smelled wonderful. There were extra blankets and the heater worked well. The window faced the interior and my neighbors could see me clearly so I kept them closed but other than that, it was great!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wrldtravelorAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    335
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
221
1,434
161
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed at The Toren for three nights. The hoerl is in an excellent location, quiet and picturesque, right on the canal, yet close to all the attractions of Amsterdam. Our rooms were very good, the beds were especially comfortable. The decor, as stated by other reviewers, is distinctly different, dark and a bit gothic. I thought this added to the charm of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful and quick to help with our enquiries.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamesians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buckinghamshire
Level Contributor
106 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Researched the hotel's in Amsterdam by websites and a Dutch friend. This was all we could have wanted. The position was excellent as on a very quiet canal but right in the middle of things, very close to Jordaan, which is charming, walking distance of most things but near to tram if needed. We had read on Tripadvisor about the helpful staff but they were really 'can do' nothing was too much trouble. We wanted turn down and they don't actually have housekeeping there at that time of the evening so the reception/bar staff did this. Our room was lovely, in the town house a couple of doors along from the main reception, first floor and overlooking the canal with 3 large ceiling to nearly floor level windows, had the middle one open and it was bliss. Room 411 - causes me real problems of selfishness sharing what was the perfect room. All the hotel is decorated in kind of baroque decor, suits it perfectly. There is no restaurant, the hotel recommend the restaurant around the corner, we did take a look but seemed nearly empty and very stuffy, there are plenty of good restaurants without using this. Same for brekkie, this is offered in what is the bar on comfy chairs but frankly I can't eat like this. We had a cocktail one night in the hotel, prepared by Sebastian who is not only a great cocktail maker but utterly charming and knows when to be friendly but when to leave you alone, great cocktails professionally served. Very comfy beds and we are really particular about this, nice white fluffy towels and a funky large jacuzzi bath. This hotel deserves its rating.

Room Tip: 411 for views, quiet and nice decor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank biffoBuckinghamshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

The Toren is a very good hotel. It is located right around the corner from the Anne Frank House in the Jordan district, with many cafes and restaurants within easy reach. It's rooms, though small, are recently renovated and while some might consider the decor a bit garish, there is a certain sexy charm in it's plush Victorian bordello aesthetic. There is a delightful terrace area for morning coffee or evening cocktails, the beds are comfortable and the place is quiet. But what lifts the Toren out of the ranks of many similarly good hotels in Amsterdam is quite simply its amazing staff. The front desk, the friendly bar and waitstaff, the housekeeping staff: this is, without question, the friendliest hotel I have ever stayed in. And the sense of friendship is quite genuine, it goes well beyond the usual "cheerfulness" of routine hotel hospitality. I was asked, after the first night, by one of the bartenders (Robbie) if I slept well (I had not, due to a very soft mattress) and the next thing you know, he let the front desk know and within minutes they had replaced my mattress with a firmer one. The whole hotel went to work on the issue; jumped on it, is more like it -- management, service staff, front desk, housekeeping. Astounding. I am certain there are more opulent hotels to be had in Amsterdam, but the next time I go back there I am certainly staying at the Toren, because I feel I now have friends to visit there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikieBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

This is a very quaint hotel on a canal around the corner from the Anne Frank House. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfast was fabulous. They also have a light menu available from a local gourmet restaurant for lunch and dinner. You HAVE to try the tomato soup! There's a bar/lounge that is beautiful. The staff was exceptional. The rate was very reasonable. The building dates back to the 1600's and has been many different things. They have maintained it well and brought it up to date without losing all the charm. The bathroom had a whirlpool tub and was beautiful. The only complaint I had was that I didn't have more time to stay there.

Room Tip: I had a room next to the garden retreat...very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWeston629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the Garden Cottage at The Toren for 4 nights at the start of our honeymoon and it was absolutely amazing! We arrived to find a bottle of Moet plus strawberries and chocolates in our room which was a lovely touch. The Jacuzzi in the room was fantastic! It was huge and well worth the extra money! The breakfasts were really tasty with a very large choice. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. They were always happy to offer advice and recommendations on restaurants, plus booking them. They have bikes which you can hire and we would highly recommend doing this, it was a really fun way to get around and see the city. We will definitely be staying here when we next return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I was shocked to arrive at the Toren to a very dull enivronment where I had to wait a few minutes for my eyes to adjust to the subdued lighting. The decor was dreadful: black, gold and red with tacky silver flowers and feathers hanging from the walls. Mirrors reflected photographs of women tied to a bedposts or being led up a staircase with their hands strapped behind their back. Not what I would have expected from a family hotel and which I found distasteful. Our bedroom (a small double) was basically a large single, with no chest of drawers but just a single wardrobe. Our two suitcases were therefore obstructing the floor and had to be moved each time we accessed the wardrobe. The bathroom couldn't have been smaller if it tried, with the toilet across the doorway leading to about 2ft square of floor space.
My husband described it as looking like a 1st world war brothel. The furniture was very tired and scruffy.
Breakfast consisted of the usual buffet served from 7am to 11am, but if one arrived any later than 10.20, forget the cooked buffet and one had to take pot-luck with what was left. Not good value for money. If you were unlucky enough to be the 2nd sitting at a table, you had to prepare for the 1st sitting crumbs left on the table or on the chair.
The saving grace was the staff. The girls on reception were forced to wear naff uniforms, but they and the porters-doubled-up-as-waiters/barmen etc were wonderful. They couldn't be faulted as far as their customer service was concerned. They were all au fait with any requirements of individual guests. Top marks for them.
The hotel was situated alongside a quaint canal and very convenient for the sites. Full marks there.
I don't know who the interior designer was, but they ought to go back to art school. It certainly wasn't worth the circa £200 plus city tax a night.
I hope that prospective guests have a good look through at least 30 of these comments to appreciate that the Toren isn't all it's made out to be. Don't take children there unless you want to explain to them why women are tied to bedposts.

Room Tip: Ask for an honest photograph of the room. Don't go for the small double unless you are single.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
21 Thank Caroline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 897 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,331 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing