We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 372 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 4, 2013 via mobile

What a great hotel. Helpfull staff. The room was very clean and nicely decorated. Little to no charge at night. The location at the keizersgracht are amazing. I would like definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Elisabethv1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,435 - 1,441 of 2,630 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

I booked one of the small single rooms. B/c it was very small, they contacted me immediately upon booking and offered me a free upgrade if available on the day. However, there was no other rooms available on the day, so they offered me a 10% discount and free buffet breakfast. Room was small, but I was aware of that before I confirmed the booking. It still had everything I needed. The chocolates and strawberries on arrival were lovely. The staff at the desk were very helpful. Excellent hotel and would definately consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank rosemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

This hotel was very well located. Walking distance to all of the sights including the Van Gogh Museum and Anne Frank house. Our room was very quiet. Had a huge jacuzzi tub and a fruit bowl upon arrival

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank C R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Toren was a perfect place for our 1st wedding anniversary. We were taken to our room which was beautiful, very shabby chic and stylish, we were given a bottle of champagne, strawberries and chocolates and a lovely letter wishing us a happy anniversary. The staff were very helpful and made our stay very relaxing and with some great restaurant recommendations.The location was great with various classy restaurants and bars and only a 20 minute walk into the centre.

Room Tip: We had room 111 which overlooked the garden. The Hotel is in quiet location and I think you could a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed at The Toren for our 1st wedding anniversary. Staff are 1st class they can not do enough to make your stay wonderful.

We were taken to our room which was beautiful, very shabby chic and stylish, we were given a bottle of champagne, strawberries and chocolates and a lovely letter wishing us a happy anniversary.

The Jacuzzi bath was amazing, this hotel should have a 5 Star rating.

Thank you for make our stay so special.

Donna & Paul Rogers

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

We had not been to Amsterdam for 20 years so my husband and I did extensive research on accommodation in Amsterdam. We chose the Toren Hotel as all the reviews we read we so complimentary. With this in mind we had high expectations however we were delighted to find that this little gem exceeded all of them! Its absolutely stunning and I cant wait to return.
The staff at reception are all so friendly, extremely helpful and very knowledgeable. The décor throughout the hotel is amazing - luxurious fabrics, rich deep colours, beautiful lighting - opulent but at the same time extremely cosy. Comfy comfy beds and a bathroom with loads of fabulous Rituals products. The restaurant / bar area is magnificent - breakfast is a treat but its also a great spot for a drink or coffee.
What also meant a great deal to us is the position - Keizersgracht canal is close enough to Dam Square and all the popular tourist spots to walk to but what a pleasure to be able to get away from all that craziness and enjoy an area where local Amsterdamers live and go out. Its a vibey, trendy, very pretty area with good restaurants nearby. Particularly outstanding, was a restaurant called Seasons. What a pleasure to be away from the tourist traps.
It is evident from the outset that the owners of the Toren have put a great deal of thought into creating a hotel that is not only loaded with atmosphere, great décor but is also very comfortable and welcoming. One feels as if the staff really love working at the Toren and as a result of all the attention to detail we loved being there too!
Rob and Margi Knuppe - South Africa

Room Tip: They all good but we chose to stay in a canal facing room in the annexe
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margi K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

An excellent location and friendly service are offered here. Rooms, however, we're showing signs of wear and tear. I haven't stayed anywhere else in Amsterdam, so I don't know if the Toren's condition is typical of properties in the city. Maybe our experience would have been more favorable if we had selected a room overlooking the canal or garden.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Intrepid60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,124 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 372 in Amsterdam
1,455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 372 in Amsterdam
2,782 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#11 of 372 in Amsterdam
784 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#16 of 372 in Amsterdam
3,977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $222 - $498 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing