We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“superb stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Illnau, Switzerland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“superb stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

This hotel was a beutiful home on a wonderful in a busy city; only 5 minutes walk to most attractions in Amsterdam. Extremely friendly staff, very helpful.
A perfect stay in a city hotel, excellent breakfast and bar!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Christian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,907
    328
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
219
1,410
160
136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Recently spent 3 nights at this Hotel. From the moment you enter you are greeted and welcomed by some of the most pleasant and friendly staff I have ever come across. The Hotel itself is set in location that makes you feel you are actually living in the community and not some sterile commercial area a lot of Hotels are located in. It is however ideally located and central to major squares, sights and transport. The bar and sitting area on the ground floor creates both a grand and relaxing experience soothing away any travel tiredness or stress. The Toren has managed to provide a 1st class Hotel experience in an environment that makes one feel like they are staying in a lovely friendly home.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Iversydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were blown away by the incredible service at the Toren. Every staff member we encountered went above and beyond to make our stay unforgettable. We even received an email directly from the owners thanking us for our stay. The owners referenced specific conversations we had with their staff, which proved their commitment to customer service on a personal level.
We had originally booked another hotel for the end of our European trip because the Toren was fully booked. The other hotel didn't come close to the cleanliness and service of the Toren. There were short hairs stuck all over the bathroom walls and the towels had not been cleaned, just folded and put back on the shelf. We called the staff at the Toren and informed them of our situation. The staff quickly arranged for us to stay in the one available room at the Toren and immediately reserved a room for us at their other hotel for the following night, at a reasonable price too!
I absolutely recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a hotel in Amsterdam. I know we won't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alaurent13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carson City, Nevada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We booked The Torén because the Sofitel was full the week we needed to be in Amsterdam. Had dinner at Bridges in the Sofitel, and decided we were happier at The Torén, which is more old fashioned in its elegance. The executive suites are behind the main building, facing a private patio, and very quiet. Nice jetted tubs plus big showers. We'd stay here again. Walking distance to everything you need, too.

Room Tip: Higher executive suites are worth the extra money. Quiet and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ellenhopkinsauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

We just returned from a 3 day stay at the Toren, and we could not have been more pleased. We are an adult couple, who shared a room with our 21 year old son who is currently studying abroad in Europe. When we checked in, the helpful woman at the desk offered us an upgrade to a larger room than we had reserved, with a canal view, for 20 Euros per night. We were very glad we took it. The room was beautifully decorated, sppotlessly clean, extremely spacious by European standards, and had a large modern bathroom with a jetted tub and very comfortable beds. The espresso /coffee machine in the room made the best coffee we've had in a while- I plan to buy myself the same model for home. The Toren is situated very near trams, within walking distance from Centraal Station, and around the corner from the Anne Frank House. There were several nice restaurants and breakfast places very nearby. The Toren does offer a guest breakfast for 14 euros per person, but we preferred to try places in the neighborhood. All in all, we highly recommend the Toren.

Room Tip: The canal view was worth paying for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brits in france
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

2 nights for a special break for myself and my husband. We loved the over the top lush interior design, and the location is fabulous. Our room had an extra large bathroom with jacuzzi bath and french windows opening onto the courtyard garden. The staff were very helpful, and we were treated to lots of lovely little complimentary extras which was really welcome. Free WIFI was appreciated, and the trip advisor special discount code got us breakfast at only 7.50 per person, which was great value. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antonia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Toren for two nights this week and only wish we could have stayed longer. The 5-star reviews everyone gives are absolutely right. The staff at the hotel is probably unparalleled--so warm, helpful, and welcoming to everyone. Within minutes of arrival we had our dinner reservations, a map with directions to places we wanted to visit, the precise train and bus schedule for our trip to the Keukenhof Gardens the next morning, and an escort to our room.

We had a glorious room in the annex with a wall of huge windows overlooking the canal and were lucky enough to arrive for 2 days of gorgeous spring weather. The room was large, comfortable, and decorated in opulent colors with amazing pillows covered in cut velvet. The breakfast in the cozy bar/dining room in the main hotel is fantastic and it was also a perfect place to enjoy a before-dinner drink--again, with a table overlooking the canal. The hotel is within steps of shopping and dining, and as noted a block away from the Anne Frank house, but also located on a quiet street away from noise. When a friend came to visit for the night, the staff set up, not just a rollaway bed, but a regular twin bed with box spring and mattress, made up completely, for only a modest additional charge. Amsterdam is enchanting and this hotel adds to that feeling! The owners also sent a warm email after our stay and obviously care deeply about their family hotel. Stay here if you can!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank patientcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 548 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 842 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 904 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,290 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing