We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another superlative review for The Toren” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Another superlative review for The Toren”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

My daughter and I stayed at the Toren for two nights this week and only wish we could have stayed longer. The 5-star reviews everyone gives are absolutely right. The staff at the hotel is probably unparalleled--so warm, helpful, and welcoming to everyone. Within minutes of arrival we had our dinner reservations, a map with directions to places we wanted to visit, the precise train and bus schedule for our trip to the Keukenhof Gardens the next morning, and an escort to our room.

We had a glorious room in the annex with a wall of huge windows overlooking the canal and were lucky enough to arrive for 2 days of gorgeous spring weather. The room was large, comfortable, and decorated in opulent colors with amazing pillows covered in cut velvet. The breakfast in the cozy bar/dining room in the main hotel is fantastic and it was also a perfect place to enjoy a before-dinner drink--again, with a table overlooking the canal. The hotel is within steps of shopping and dining, and as noted a block away from the Anne Frank house, but also located on a quiet street away from noise. When a friend came to visit for the night, the staff set up, not just a rollaway bed, but a regular twin bed with box spring and mattress, made up completely, for only a modest additional charge. Amsterdam is enchanting and this hotel adds to that feeling! The owners also sent a warm email after our stay and obviously care deeply about their family hotel. Stay here if you can!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank patientcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,470 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,069
    352
    33
    13
    3
See reviews for
246
1,531
165
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (567)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Channel Islands
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We are currently staying at The Toren for a four night stay. We'#ve been to a lot of up-market hotels around the world but this one, without any pretension, really, excels. The location is perfect the room comfortable and the staff absolutely brilliant. I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal-view room, it's worth the extra cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HarryHamster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a 3 night stay at The Toren. This was our first trip to Amsterdam and our stay at The Toren made our trip very special indeed! The location of the hotel cannot be bettered and we loved exploring the surrounding area on foot. Our room was very comfortable and well equipped and breakfast was lovely. The hotel staff were very friendly and made every effort to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The decor of the hotel is very individual and unique and can only be described as sumptuous. A high-point of our stay was returning to the hotel each night after dinner in a nearby restaurant and enjoying a night-cap in the bar. Special mention must be given to Sebastian who was very friendly and helpful. We definitely intend to return to Amsterdam and would love to stay in the hotel again. A huge thank-you to all the staff for making our first visit to Amsterdam so special!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

We had great service and the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, I can recommend this hotel to all travellers, good location! Had a great stay with my husband during 4 very cold and rainy April Amsterdam days.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ester S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

Upon arriving after a long trip over the ocean we were pleasantly greeted by the concierge. The hotel was very clean and offered a true feel for Amsterdam with sultry accents throughout the decor. Our room was equipped with the latest technology and lighting etc. The breakfast although a bit pricey was very nice and convenient on a rainy day.

Room Tip: This hotel has all amenities. Toiletries, hair dryer etc. be ware the heating system is a bit tricky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a weekend break celebrating a special wedding anniversary, we chose the Toren because it is a boutique hotel with very good reviews, and we wanted to see if it could live up to our expectation. It most certainly did, the staff made us feel most welcome and nothing was too much trouble.
As stated in the other reviews, the hotel is well placed for a visit to Anne Frank's house and only a short walk to the tram stops, so getting about is no problem.
The rooms are well equipped, we booked a small room which was adequate, as we spent our time site seeing.
We would most certainly use this hotel again.

Room Tip: Our room was at the back, front rooms face the canal, the area is very quiet so noise is not a probl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sparky70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The reviews from other Tripadvisor members made us feel confident about booking this hotel and we were not disappointed! The Hotel is beautiful and really unique - a lot of thought has been put into the design, it feels both majestic and elegant with luscious metallic wall coverings and glossy polished furniture.
The staff in the hotel have an extremely professional and welcoming manner; check in was efficient and informative.
Our room was in the building a few doors down from the main hotel but was decorated and finished to the same high standard. We booked a 'small double with bath', the size was fine for a 3 night break and there was no compromise on the standard of the finish. It would have been nice to have stayed in the main hotel, but we do not feel that staying in this building lessened our overall experience.
The hotel is located in a wonderful area - close enough to walk to all of the popular attractions within 5-15mins and with a lovely selection of cafes/bars/restaurants close by.
We only had breakfast on one morning and it was beautiful. A wonderful section of hot and cold buffet foods and attentive staff.
We were thoroughly impressed with our stay and would not hesitate to stay book here again ... many thanks to the wonderful team at the Toren Hotel, you helped to make our 1st visit to Amsterdam a truly memorable experience!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BuddyColUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,309 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing