We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 373 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Just back from 3 night stay at Toren.
Pros - small room not that small, great amenities, Nespresso machine, nice bathroom, quiet location, nice bar, helpful desk, very comfy bed and spotlessly clean.
Cons - bit of a walk to certain attractions.
Would stay again but when it's a bit warmer!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeyDAVEScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,657)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,538 - 1,544 of 2,657 reviews

Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked here based on the TA reviews and so glad we did. Excellent location, polite and efficient staff, beautiful cocktail bar, nice breakfast, luxe products in room (Rituals), along with robes, slippers, strawberries and chocolates and great restaurant recs. We had a delicious dinner at Max's and a humble but tasty lunch around the corner (can't remember the name but it's opposite Anne Frank's house). Also got an upgrade, free cocktail and half price breakfast. We almost booked Canal Street as we are Mr & Mrs Smith members but it was a bit too pricey...so glad we didn't as it's almost next door to The Toren yet much more expensive! Wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travel1028
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2013

From the moment that we arrived we were welcomed with a smile and showed around to our room. My husband and had a night away and it was the perfect location as well as the perfect room. The staff were helpful and friendly without being fake and the rooms were incredible. The bath tub was big and was great for a soak after a day of shopping. The bed was big and comfortable and was great to wake up to coffee (nespresso) and a view over the kanal. It is central to everything that you want in terms of museums and shopping. It is quite expensive but for a once in a lifetime experience it definitely lived up to our expectations.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelbug1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay at The Toren, it is in a nice situation only a short walk from the tram stop (no. 13 or 17 if arriving from the station). We were in room 108 which overlooked the garden, very quiet and peaceful. The room was good with a large double bed which was very comfortable. I agree with everything that has been said about the staff, I've never known a group of people to be so consistently friendly. Breakfast was good with a selection of hot & cold dishes, great coffee and orange juice. Certainly somewhere to go back to.

Room Tip: 108 if your not fussed about a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Homersignalman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We stayed at the Toren in December in the 3 person room, which is located in the annex next door. The hotel lobby and bar are hip with an elegant gothic vibe. The reception area is small, maybe a little too small, but the staff is wonderful and go above and beyond to ensure they answer your questions. One very nice young lady at reception spent all afternoon trying to call our restaurant of choice to make a reservation. She kept us informed that there was no answer and THREE hours later (yes, she kept trying the line tirelessly) she called to tell us we were set. Thank you! Before dinner we stopped in the bar and sat near the cozy fireplace and enjoyed a perfectly made cocktail. When we left for dinner, it started to rain and the reception desk notice us leaving and gave us each umbrellas. The room itself was cozy and had great amenities like a K-cup machine and free WiFi. The bed is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. This is my hotel of choice in Amsterdam and will recommend it freely. Thanks again Toren for a wonderful experience!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scheiner2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

A quick 2 night visit to Amsterdam and the perfect hotel to spend it in. We stayed in a deluxe superior room with a canal view in the annex building. Dramatic and sumptuous decor (may not be to everyone's taste) but very well appointed, very comfortable and an excellent design.

The staff are very professional and very friendly,nothing too much trouble.

Arriving by train, we walked to the Hotel from the station. It's possible to visit all of the old town without any transport, just walking.

The hotel has a great bar with a nice, cozy ambiance with great service (you must try Sebastian's signature cocktail!).

If you wanted room service they have a fantastic arrangement with the restaurant around the corner. A brilliant idea for a boutique hotel to offer quality food from a restaurant's menu!

Overall a fantastic stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2adults4kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located within a short walk to most of what you would want to see in Amsterdam. The staff is very friendly and willing to help. We made good use of the in-room nespresso machine and other treats.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ELStapleton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,162 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,383 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 373 in Amsterdam
1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#18 of 373 in Amsterdam
4,011 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 373 in Amsterdam
2,825 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#10 of 373 in Amsterdam
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $211 - $490 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing