We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“A Weekend To Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 363 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A Weekend To Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

My partner and I went to Amsterdam to celebrate a very special weekend. We booked to stay at The Toren after the glowing reviews on Tripadvisor. On top of that, they have a very attractive offer for early booking and if you put 'Tripadvisor' at booking. We got ourselves upgraded, a couple of free cocktails and a breakfast discount which unfortunately we didn't use.
From booking onwards, it was a very pleasant experience. I requested a few things and it was also painless. On arrival, the staff was very helpful and knowledgable. We were whisked almost immediately to our room. The room was spacious, imaginatively decorated and very well furnished. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very well stocked. There was a Nespresso machine. We have been to Amsterdam a few times before, so this time round we just spent most of the time in the hotel and it was very lovely. The checkout was very quick and I will definitely stay there again when I return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anab85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,935
    334
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
221
1,433
161
139
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (532)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

We have visited Amsterdam several times but this has to be the best hotel in the City.

On arrival we were upgraded to a larger double room with fantastic views of the canals in the 2nd hotel just a couple of doors up from the main hotel. The room was huge with all the necessary mod cons including a fantastic coffee machine. The beds are the most comfortable we've ever slept in.

The staff were very friendly and very helpful. The bar was beautiful.

Looking forward to going back next year..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louiseguk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Firestone, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

This hotel is really wonderful and deserves all the good reviews it's been getting. Even my husband who usually could care less where he stays was VERY impressed. The room we had was absolutely beautiful with a window facing the garden and a gigantic whirlpool tub . The staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful especially with suggestions for sightseeing and places to eat The location was great in a very charming neighborhood and within walking distance to almost all of the sights. Too bad the hotel isn't portable - I'd love to stay there every time we went on a trip

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BCredd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Our three day break at The Toren in Amsterdam was a birthday treat for my husband and we were delighted with the accommodation with its luscious interior, the exceptionally helpful and friendly staff and the attention to detail. The bar was fabulous. Perfect location to explore this fabulous city.

Room Tip: Canal view rooms a good choice if you like to watch the world go by
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa,On
Level Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

Our first time at this hotel,which we chose based on Tripadvisor reviews. The reception staff were
unfailingly helpful and friendly,and the beds were probably the most comfortable we have ever experienced.We were only staying 2 nights so chose a standard room,knowing it would be small,but it met our needs for a short stay. The closet space was minimal,but otherwise it was a very well-appointed room. We loved the fresh strawberries and chocolates waiting for us on arrival. The shower was great. You must have a drink in the bar! You have to see it to believe it,and it is very comfortable and cozy. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: The decor is unusual,so check the pictures carefully to be sure you like it. The standard room is go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LoisOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ivinghoe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a 3 day break at The Toren in Amsterdam and we had a wonderful time. After discovering that we had made a mistake with our original booking at Hotel Sebastians (the sister hotel of the Toren) the staff did their best to accomodate us and we were allocated a beautiful double room at The Toren at short notice. Our room was in the second building which is a few doors down the road from the main hotel. It was opulent, we had a wonderful jacuzzi bath, ipod dock, nespresso machine and everything else we needed to make our stay easy and enjoyable.

The interior of the hotel (both the main building and the second building) is simply stunning; it is luxurious and relaxing and we enjoyed delicious cocktails beside the fire in the hotel bar on both nights. We also enjoyed breakfast at the hotel during our stay which really set us up well for long autumnal walks through lovely streets.

The staff at the hotel were friendly, helpful and efficient, nothing was too much trouble for them. Nicole in particular was so helpful when we discovered our booking error. Had it not been for her our stay would have been very different and not nearly as special. Although we didn't stay at Hotel Sebastians we also have to say a huge thank you to the staff there who were also really helpful.

The hotel is in the best part of the city and is surrounding by great cafes and restaurants and lots of great little shops. Though we'd like to keep this place a secret from the world it wouldn't be fair to the Toren family or their staff. This hotel is perfect and we cannot wait to go back. Thank you!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I never normally write reviews on hotels, however this hotel is very special! I booked this hotel for a surprise for my boyfriend's birthday and requested an upgrade as was for a special occasion.
From arriving at the hotel the staff were so helpful and friendly, we got a free upgrade which was incredible, the Jacuzzi and steam room made this room the best place I have ever stayed in. The staff couldn't do enough for us and made this the most memorable trip. The location and breakfast is also 10 out of 10 I can't wait to return to this hotel couldn't ask for more!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jojo970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#3 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 900 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#2 of 363 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 920 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,333 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#17 of 363 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing