We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 367 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

Good location! alone the canal, quiet and nice. People works here were very helpfully. I'll like to recommend this beautiful hotel to beautiful people.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
5 Thank Alingagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,554 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,139
    362
    36
    14
    3
See reviews for
261
1,582
170
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 5, 2012

A friend of mine who lives in Amsterdam recommended me this hotel for a weekend in the city. The location is enviable, central, overlooking the canal and close to the stations.
It 'sa very nice hotel with friendly staff but I didn't like the style.
The room (also quite large) was excessively decorated , with strong colors (black, purple, gray) and looked a room for meetings. The bath was better, with a nice jacuzzi, but without privacy.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teba, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

I have been fortunate enough to stay at the the Toren many times over the last few months. The hotel decour is amazing in a a perfect location with many excellent restaurants and bars nearby. The Staff can make or break a hotel, the staff at the Toren are a real asset to the hotel and seem genuinely pleased to greet you and very helpful. The coffe machine in the room is absolutely top quality, great coffee and great selection.
Every room is a delight, some of the more expensive ones simply amazing!
Go ahead, treat yourself to an upgrade - you won't be dissapointed!

Room Tip: They are all good, though the garden rooms are exceptional
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

I decided to spurge and book The Garden Cottage at The Toren for our last 3 nights of a 3 week holiday in Europe. As others have said, the location is great. I will say that I think they had a very good photographer. My initial impression was that the room was not as large, regal or luxurious as the pictures on the website. But it is a very nice room and the bed was very comfortable. The room has a great steam shower except we could never figure out how to get the steam working. The room has all of the other amenities as advertised.

While we were there they were building two new suites on the opposite side of the garden from the main building and I really hope that the hotel doesn't lose the small, intimate feel of staying in someone's (funky) home.

The exceptional staff is what sets this hotel apart from others. The reception personnel smile warmly every day, remember details about you and your trip and they could not possibly be more helpful. The bar staff were very fun and outgoing and loved to experiment with new and different drinks. I was so impressed with how well the employees seemed to get along. They laughed a lot and were respectful of each other and I think that speaks volumes about how well the hotel is managed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank malibufan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

WOW what can we say, booked The Toren for a 4 night stay for our honeymoon/bday. Once shown to our room we were greeted with a bottle of Moet and Strawberries and Chocs, a lovley touch. Both me and my husband were impressed from the word go with this hotel, we have stayed alot of nice expensive hotels and the service and treatment from this hotel is 5 star well worth the price! We had a slight issue with our room not the hotel fault I am a light sleeper and they sorted this out immediately for us! All the staff are a pleasure and so nice and helpful. We would definitely stay at The Toren again for sure the location is spot on also. The owner certainly knows what he is doing here with his hotel and is advised of everything going on which is prob why this place is so successful, keep up the good work and we will be back when we are next in Amsterdam which we hope is not too long away :) Oh and breakfast is great too !!! Thanks again for a great stay, see you soon :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at The Toren for 3 nights and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff were excellent, very friendly & efficient, especially the reception staff and also the bar staff Gerard and Tomas. Lovely cocktails and a nice bit of banter! You are made to feel welcome as soon as you step through the door, the decor is plush and the whole setting is very romantic. The room we stayed in was compact but it had everything we needed including a great coffee machine. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraDSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved staying at The Toren . Perfect location, beatiful spacios room, perfect beds, and excellent friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,269 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#6 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,391 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 367 in Amsterdam
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 367 in Amsterdam
663 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#10 of 367 in Amsterdam
2,661 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#13 of 367 in Amsterdam
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing