We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, Great Hotel, Highly Recommend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #1 of 362 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, Great Hotel, Highly Recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

WOW what can we say, booked The Toren for a 4 night stay for our honeymoon/bday. Once shown to our room we were greeted with a bottle of Moet and Strawberries and Chocs, a lovley touch. Both me and my husband were impressed from the word go with this hotel, we have stayed alot of nice expensive hotels and the service and treatment from this hotel is 5 star well worth the price! We had a slight issue with our room not the hotel fault I am a light sleeper and they sorted this out immediately for us! All the staff are a pleasure and so nice and helpful. We would definitely stay at The Toren again for sure the location is spot on also. The owner certainly knows what he is doing here with his hotel and is advised of everything going on which is prob why this place is so successful, keep up the good work and we will be back when we are next in Amsterdam which we hope is not too long away :) Oh and breakfast is great too !!! Thanks again for a great stay, see you soon :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Angiec77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,871
    327
    32
    13
    3
See reviews for
212
1,387
157
135
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We stayed at The Toren for 3 nights and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The staff were excellent, very friendly & efficient, especially the reception staff and also the bar staff Gerard and Tomas. Lovely cocktails and a nice bit of banter! You are made to feel welcome as soon as you step through the door, the decor is plush and the whole setting is very romantic. The room we stayed in was compact but it had everything we needed including a great coffee machine. Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SaraDSara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We loved staying at The Toren . Perfect location, beatiful spacios room, perfect beds, and excellent friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Eva E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Ok arrived on the 28th September at around 10.30, although check in is not until 12 the ladies on reception were extremely helpful and Lexus wait with a complimentary cup of tea, and the room was ready for us in 10minutes which is excellent after the travel, on top of that we was greeted with a bottle of Moët Chandon strawberries and chocolate as it was my girlfriends birthday! Was a brilliant touch, the room was immaculate, even had a little welcome message on the tv. After our first nights stay as I requested a jacuzzi room, prior to the visit as they were previously fully booked,the receptionist which were extremely friendly asked if we would like to upgrade,which we took them up on the offer, and I thought the first room was good the second was wicked! Brilliantly decorated and immaculate. The hotel is brilliant value for money, also the price of the drinks here are a lot cheaper in comparison to neighbouring bars and also the actual decor of the hotels bar is a much nicer atmosphere than other bars/pubs. I have been to amsterdam around 10 times over the years and stayed in around 7 different hotels, I'm happy to say that I no longer need to stay in so many different locations as the toren is by far the best! Best value,best location, best decor, best staff. Get involved people. Can't fault them in anyway.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank James Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We booked this hotel based on it's excellent reviews on Trip Advisor. Unfortunately there was a mix up with our booking, not at the fault of the Toren hotel but of the booking agent, which meant there was no room at the hotel for us for one of our two nights stay there. The hotel staff were genuinly concerned that they were unable to accommodate us and did everything they could to resolve the situation. In fact it was service beyond anything else we have experienced in all of our travels across the world! They were simply amazing. The hotel contacted the booking agent to investigate what had happened with the original booking, which involved several phone calls and emails to address the issues of concern. They then rang around all of the nearby hotels and arranged our booking for the night they could not accommodate us themesleves. When we arrived at the hotel for our second night's stay in Amsterdam, the excellent service continued when they offered us a free upgrade to a luxury suite with a free cocktail each in the beautiful bar, and free breakfast on the house! We simply couldn't believe how we had been treated by the staff here; they were truly commendable and we can't wait to return here again. The staff were kind, empathetic, and extreemly efficient in resolving our problems. They made our stay here such a special one. Thank you!.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank StevenSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at The Toren during our recent trip to Holland. The hotel was a quick walk from Amsterdam Central, the ladies at the front desk were very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.

The location could not have been better, we were within walking distance to so many great sights and just minutes from the tram stop. I would defiantly stay again and recommend to friends!

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank NataliaAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Stayed here last week on a business/entertaining trip and after previously only staying in the larger hotels in Amsterdam this was a wlecome treat. Fabulous rooms with Jacuzzi baths in the bedroom area, sumptuous decor, an amazing bar area with decor dating back 400 years and service that you would honestly struggle to beat anywhere in the world. I had one criticism which was that my room smelt of cigarrete smoke, but when I told reception on check out they were incredibly apologetic, immidietely rang housekeeping to sort it and gave me a some free drinks for my inconvenience. This is service as it should be. Superb.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosetowers79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#3 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 489 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#4 of 362 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 stars 789 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#8 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 2,240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Andaz Amsterdam Prinsengracht
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#18 of 362 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 stars 528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the Toren Hotel to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing