We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Honeymoon Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
“Honeymoon Heaven”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We spent our Honeymoon in this fabulous hotel, and have vowed to return for our anniversaries, such was the quality of the hotel, it's location, and most of all the exceptionally friendly and professional staff. Their recommendations led us to explore a more genuine side of Amsterdam, and we were always pleased to return to enjoy the hotel's facilities. On the day we left, the judges had visited to decide if the hotel had won best 4star boutique in the Netherlands; we can't think of any reason why it wouldn't- the staff and owners really deserve it. Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough, we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tiffers_xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,082
    357
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
251
1,541
167
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (572)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Missoula, Montana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2012

We stayed one night here, had a view of the canal outside. room was very comfortable; staff was not particularly friendly. we never heard about any food offered here. The bathroom smelled like sewage in the morning unfortunately. I would not choose this hotel again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cjreed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2012

This hotel ticks every box. Rooms are beautiful, food was excellent, staff were amazing and so helpful, location was perfect. Had a truely romantic weekend and will definatly stay at this hotel again. On arrival there was a bottle of campagne waiting in our room and the concierge sent up two massures to help my wife and i relax and unwind. Was an incredible weekend, cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

I have been trying to work out what makes a stay at the Toren such a wonderful experience. I think the key is the 'culture'. Management and staff are to congratulated on such a high level of friendly, helpful, knowledgeable, approachable, efficient service. Every member of staff whom we met had the same positive attitude and several went out of their way to enhance our experience in Amsterdam. Yes the hotel's position is excellent, yes it was great staying in a room with a canal view, yes the decor is fun...but it is the people who make this hotel such a success.

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms with spa-bath and canal view on the second floor are not large, but they are very p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Reconnoiterer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to all major attractions in the city, yet is in a much more desirable, quieter area right on a canal. The staff was exceptional and went out of their way to accommodate our early arrival and provided free drinks and a bottle of champagne in our room. The breakfast is delicious and we appreciated the "North American" style bathrooms which included a shower/tub, hair dryer, universal power outlet and towel warming rack. The only thing we didn't enjoy was the soft bed and feather pillows, but that is a personal preference.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chuckie13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

The hotel was beautiful and the service great. A little overpriced for the small single, though the hotel did include breakfast as an upgrade which was a nice touch to balance the cost. Quiet location, yet near the sights of Amsterdam

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2012

I stayed in this lovely hotel in May. Because there were three of us we were put in the annex of the hotel just a few doors down. Just as nice though. The Hotel was really nice, staff couldn't do more to help us and I would definitely stay there again. Its in a fantastic location with the canal just on your doorstep. Along with the Anne Frank museum just around the corner as well as the canal boat tour. Lots of lovely shopping and many places to go to eat and drink. What was nice was that you were in the middle of everything but away from the tourist group area and red light district. If you can afford to upgrade your room do, I believe they are superb! Amsterdam has lots of steps and stairs so not really advisable for anyone less abled. The hotel has a lift inside but not sure if how you would access from outside.

Room Tip: If you can afford a bit more, go for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NewgirlintownDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#6 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow this award wining hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing