We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 364 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2012

If you're looking for a nice and CLEAN hotel with super comfortable beds in a quiet area, yet still close enough to the nightlife, this is definitely the place to stay. It's only about a 10 minute walk from Centraal Station (depending on how fast you walk), and within walking distance of Anne Frank's house. This hotel has rooms in 2 separate buildings which are a few doors apart, and we stayed in the building located a few doors down from the main one.

Everything about this hotel was wonderful and I couldn't have asked for a better experience. Everyone from the Front desk staff to the housekeepers were extremely hospitable. I will definitely be back upon my return to Amsterdam.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xtinasf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,083
    359
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
252
1,542
167
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (573)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2012

My second stay in this charming family run boutique hotel. We had a classy room with canal view in the annex building. This time we had our three year old daughter with us. Last year it was just me and my husband. The staff is very helpful. Great athmosphere and great service. This time we ordered dinner via hotel from Restaurant Christophe (french cuisine, fine dining) to our hotel room and everything went extremely well. The breakfast at the hotel was very good, too. (And we are quite picky vegetarians!) I am very pleased and we will return next year. Thank you!

Room Tip: Canal view is really worth it! The windows are extremely high and you get a beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SunshineFinland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2012

My friend and I visited The Toren a couple of weeks ago and I cannot recommend this place highly enough! If I was asked to give marks out of ten, I would have to give 15!!
The hotel is beautiful, elegant and charming and the staff are so warm.
Before we went we emailed the hotel to advise them of my dietary requirements,(I am Vegan) and not only did the tell us it was not a problem, but positively went out of their way to accommodate me.I This was a huge bonus for me as being Vegan is too much for some places!! Fantastic start before we even arrive! Upon arrival, (which incidentally was my friends birthday), the reception staff were so friendly and helpful and were aware of her birthday and gave us an upgraded room for free. When we got to our room, which was luxurious and beautiful, with a fantastic canal view, we noticed that they had also put in a letter of congratulations from owners of the hotel and a bottle of bubbly.
All the staff at the hotel really could not do enough for us, talk about made to feel special. Their customer service could not be any better. The food was beautiful, the hotel had arranged vegan butter and vegan milk. They made me the best Latte ever!!
One the evening we were due to leave, the hotel was hosting an event and the Proprietors (Eric and Petra) invited us in! They made us feel so welcome and really looked after us, the only bad thing was that we had to leave that evening! We really wish that we could have stayed.
If you are going to Amsterdam and you want a beautiful, boutique hotel with fabulous food and amazing staff - then The Toren is definately a sure bet. We loved it so much we are due to go back in May.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maccy030303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

I could not ask for any better service than we got at this charming hotel. Great rooms, good breakfast, very helpful staff and great location.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skjoling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beirut
Level Contributor
109 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2012

charming hotel along the canal in a calm area, the rooms are victorian style and the staff are very helpfull

Room Tip: choose a room in the annex part of the hotel where the rooms are a little bit larger , ask for a can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beirut73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingham, WA USA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Found my spot in Jordaan. Classical in style, contemporary in amenities. Great location. Wonderful breakfast and well worth the expense. Not far from great bike rental. Even helped me order Thai delivered and it was just perfect. Wonderful staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank harveystone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,177 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#7 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#16 of 364 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 364 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow this award wining hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing