We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful Gem”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Located on one of the more scenic streets of Amsterdam and a short distance from the Central Station and/or passenger terminal. The hotel is just round the corner of Anne Frank's, Jordaan area and the delightful boutique streets of DE NEGEN STRAATJES. We were delighted with our find from the time we stepped outside the taxi and into reception. The service was excellent, the room was stunning, the jacuzzi bath in spa like products were divine, I loved the walk in cupboard and of course the decor was gorgeous. At the back of the hotel there is a garden area which is great for an afternoon cafe (Nespresso machine in the room) or sundowners. We only spent one night here, as we were onroute home, however were very tempted to forget exploring and stay in and enjoy the comforts of this stunning hotel. We had to be at the airport early the next morning so we were a little worried that the hotel wouldn't be able to assist us with breakfast, however their breakfast setup was ready and we had one of the nicest breakfast selections on our trip. Well worth a visit and a highlight for us. Treat yourself

Room Tip: We had the room downstairs closest to the garden, it was lovely
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GrowthPoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,610)
There are newer reviews for The Toren
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,816 - 1,822 of 2,610 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

We stayed for two nights in the Royal Suite, The room and bath were incredible. I am certain you cannot do better for the price in Amsterdam. The space and amenities are excellent, but the staff is even better. They satisfied our every need, Made restaurant reservations after making excellent recommendations and cheerfully cancelled one of them when requested. The breakfast for 14 euro was a bargain. The location is the best. Close to Central Station, Dam Square, Canal Tour as well as located in the Jordaan, one of the best neighborhoods in the city. Our taxi to the airport came in 4 minutes and the price was just as the hotel said.. We are in Amsterdam once a year and this is the place we will stay.

Room Tip: If you can afford it, take the Royal Suite.
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

Everything!! I will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to Amsterdam. It was a convenient location and we could easily walk to dam square and Amsterdam central station. We were welcomed warmly by the staff who led us to our room and gave us a mini tour of the room. The hotel prepared a little surprise as we stated in our booking that we were on our honeymoon. Our room had a coffee machine and the capsules were complimentary. No wonder the Toren was listed as the top five hotels in the book, "a guide to Amsterdam" that we borrowed prior to the trip. We stayed for four days and it was hard to leave on the last day!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 8vita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The besr experience ever. Great location, excellent service and pleasant room. Museums and great restaurants nearby. Warm and welcoming athmosfere

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rydkvist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

This hotel made our four days in Amsterdam quite a special memory. The trip was a surprise present for my husband, he had no idea what to expect (neither did I really) so I was very happy and excited when we finally arrived. It is a very beautiful building, inside and out, and the unique decor was refreshing and kind of inspiring actually.
Websites can sometimes give false impressions of their hotel, but not this one. You really have to be there to feel the quality too, the deep mattress and heavy curtains and all the small details that large hotel chains seem to forget about.
The room was decedent and we loved it straight away. The staff were very cool, so cool that you'd want to hang out with them and it's in the perfect location with two VERY good restaurants a few minutes walk away.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lorrainebooth75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

The hotel was great and in a wonderful location! The staff were the best and very helpful!! Whenever I come back I'll stay here again!!!

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charlesington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

This hotel is in a very good neighborhood and close to everything you'd like to see in Amsterdam. Very cute yet small rooms but oh so decorated.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David1101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,325 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,099 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#7 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Banks Mansion
Banks Mansion
#9 of 371 in Amsterdam
2,748 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#12 of 371 in Amsterdam
749 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Estherea
Hotel Estherea
#17 of 371 in Amsterdam
3,953 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: $244 - $568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing