We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”
Review of The Toren

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Toren
Ranked #2 of 366 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This is an amazing hotel and I wouldn't stay anywhere else when in Amsterdam. The location is ideal and it is by far the nicest in Amsterdam.
We stayed in a small double which I was slightly worried about after reading reviews about the lack of space. However we didn't find this an issue.
The rooms were spotlessly clean and decorated to a high standard.
The breakfast each morning was yummy and the food was of the highest quality. However, unless breakfast is included in the price I would not pay the 14 euros each. There are so many lovely places to eat around the hotel for a more reasonable price.
Thank you for an amazing stay to all at The Toren!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou3303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,102
    360
    34
    13
    3
See reviews for
252
1,555
168
152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (575)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2011

For business, the Pulitzer. For romance, the Toren. Great rooms, five star breakfast, staff so helpful you never want to leave.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTMusings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 24, 2011

This hotel, situated on one of the loveliest canal streets in Amsterdam is just one block away from the Anne Frank House.
The location is phenomenal...just a five minute walk to the city center (Dam Square) without the noise and two minutes from the quaint Nine Streets district.
The enthusiastic staff at the Toren always go well above and beyond the call of duty to ensure happy guests. After I flew home, a friend sent a card addressed to me to the hotel. The staff got in touch to let me know, offered to scan the card and to send it to me overseas! They always take great care of us, scheduling tours, booking restaurants and offering their best rooms.
The Toren's historic townhouses allow tourists to live like locals.
Some of the rooms are very spacious, clean and all gorgeously Gothic, swathed in burgundy and black velvet. Make sure to ask for a canal view which is well worth the extra charges. You can sit by their lobby fireplace, sip champagne and enjoy tasty strawberries.
My work allows me the option to stay at another well-known five star hotel just down the street, however, I will always choose the five star service at the Toren instead.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wachoutworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 23, 2011

we stayed in november for 3 nights. occupied deluxe room, overlooking keizersgracht.
prior to our arrival i had a number of details to be sorted by the concierge of the htl. when contacting the hotel i found out that they dont have a concierge. my initial reaction was of slight disapointment......and was i wrong! the ladies' at the reception are very swift and highly professional on following up on all sorts of requests made, better then plenty of consierge's in other high end establishments.
the staff in the breakfast room and bar in particular are not just friendly, they made our day/s in being extremely kind, offering all sort of help and advise. a salute to the HR department having involved such excellent staff in the toren hotel and congratulations to the staff on being so greatly involved with their guests
the room, whilst not the biggest ever occupied by us, was very comfortable. the colour scheme choosen throughout the hotel is lively, fun and bit funky.
whilst they list themselves as a 4 star, we thought that they were exceeding many hotels who have claimed the 5th star or being in the high end luxury segment.
as for the location we find this particular location probably the most charming. whilst the dylan and pulitzer are just further down the street (where i stayed when the dylan was still the blakes some years ago) we do now prefer The Toren address for its charm and slightly more calm location versus other hotel.
thanks to the staff and the management for making our stay so memorable

Room Tip: we stayed room 119, one floor up, deluxe with 2 large windows overlooking keizersgracht
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlange113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2011

Where should i start! Well, prior to arrival i had contact with the hotel and numerous members of staff on many occasions and they couldn't have helped me more!! I could have seemed a little demanding as i was constanly asking questions and for details regarding different rooms however nothing phased the staff, they responded in a timely manner and couldn't have been more helpfull in anyway, i would again like to thank them all!! Upon arrival we did arrive a little early, but the staff took it in there stride and used there knowledge of the area and spent a few minutes while the room was being prepared, suggesting various areas of Amsterdam we may like to visit, this was very helpfull and very professional! Once the room was ready we was escourted to the room where we was shown around and shown how to use all the anmities the room had to offer a very personal touch. The room we had was excellent it was the special room with jacuzzi whirlpool!! This room is perfect couples! The jacuzzi lit up and changed colours which helps set the mood. Also the whole lighting of the room was great many spotlights that are able to be dimmed it just adds to the ambience but a nice touch. The bed was very large and very comfy along with the pillows and quilt. The room was very clean and no noise could be heard. Room service was available which was excellent, along with breakfast that was delievered to our room in the morning. This hotel is perfect for couples especially if you opt for the special rooms. The only problem is, you just don't want to leave once you are there!!!!! Thanks again to everyone who made this stay very special!! Kind regards Paul F

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

Just had two delightful nights at Toren, travelling with my son the giant 6'6 guy who is usually uncomfortable in teeny tiny Euro-style hotel rooms. He was comfortable at the Toren, with the decent-sized room & the bed was firm and (long enough)! The bathrooms were modern, granite & glass beauties, sparkly and scrupulously clean. The public rooms, bar and lobby were stylish and extravagantly decorated--but seemed a good match for the stylish & charming staff. Location superb, short-ish jaunt to train station, right around the corner from Anne Frank Huis and walking distance to all museums & palace.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KDuke7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2011

My wife and I stayed four nights in the Toren in October 2011. We had never been to Amsterdam and chose the Toren based on other TA reviews. Yet again, we were thankful we did. The hotel was beautiful. The location is superb (a ten min walk from Centraal Station), and we had a beautiful view of the street & canal. The staff were most professional. The breakfast area and bar of the Toren are a real feature. I just wish we could have stayed longer! I am happy to recommend the Toren to fellow TA travelers.

Room Tip: Canal view was brilliant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darren1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Ambassade Hotel
Ambassade Hotel
#4 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,209 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Pulitzer Amsterdam
Pulitzer Amsterdam
#9 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Sebastian's
Hotel Sebastian's
#5 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,356 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#15 of 366 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,007 reviews
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Mauro Mansion
Mauro Mansion
#3 of 366 in Amsterdam
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Toren? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Toren

Property: The Toren
Address: Keizersgracht 164, 1015 CZ Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Location: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
#2 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#3 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#4 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Toren 4*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Allow the award-winning hotel The Toren to charm you with an unforgettable, unique and memorable experience in Amsterdam. The Toren offers an elegantly designed interior and a warm welcome; this combined with the beautiful surroundings of Amsterdam's central canal area creates a special atmosphere and a safe haven for guests to completely relax. The hotel has been designed with your pleasure in mind! Worldwide tourists and business travelers familiar with the hotel will discover it afresh. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your The Toren reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Toren - Hampshire Classic Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Hotel Amsterdam
Toren Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing